Is Mon Chéri Suitable For Vegans?

Mon Chéri is a uniquely-wrapped chocolate containing a combination of cherry and liqueur. It is produced by the Ferrero company, the same company behind Ferrero Rocher. While I can’t speak for how the Ferrero company operates in the United States, here in Europe, these chocolates are advertised before (and during) Christmas.

mon chéri

According to this graph by Google Trends, we can see that there’s a huge spike in interest during Christmas time for Mon Chéri. However, the interest, although slightly lower, remains quite steady throughout the year before it spikes again at Christmas.

Unlike Ferrero Rocher, Mon Chéri is considered vegan. 

Fortunately, it does not contain animal ingredients, even though the Ferrero company mentions it may contain milk, but that’s due to the cross-contact in manufacturing facilities.

This being said, let’s dive a bit deeper and see if Mon Chéri is 100% safe for vegans.

Side note: Feel free to read this post where I’ve compiled a list with some of the best vegan chocolates out there.

Is Mon Chéri 100% Vegan?

mon chéri
Ingredients: Chocolate extra 48.5% (sugar, cocoa mass, cocoa butter, emulsifier: lecithin (soy), vanillin), sugar, cherry (18%), 13% liquor (glucose syrup, water, alcohol, sugar, flavoring), cocoa butter.

Looking at the ingredients there’s no obvious outlier suggesting this chocolate isn’t vegan. Other than the questionable nature of sugar, the potential ethical aspects of sourcing cocoa, and the fact this chocolate is made by a company selling non-vegan products, everything else indicates that Mon Chéri is technically suitable for vegans.

Some people suggest vanilla extract may not be vegan, due to the fact some vanilla flavoring may come from beavers. Specifically, the beaver’s castor sacs, located between the pelvis and base of the tail. Mon Chéri contains vanillin, but vanillin is an artificial version of vanilla extract, and it’s usually made from a process using wood pulp.

In other words, being artificially made, vanillin is technically vegan. However, you can easily argue that vanillin is tested on animals, and thus should not be categorized as being vegan. So in the end, it all comes down to each individual. If you’re against animal testing, you shouldn’t eat Mon Chéri or any other product containing artificial ingredients.

If for some reason you legitimately don’t care about animals and are following a vegan diet for an entirely different reason, then perhaps this is an ingredient you’re ‘okay’ with consuming.

Why Isn’t Sugar Always Vegan?

Sugar companies in some countries (including the United States), use a black powder named bone char in the refinement stage of cane sugar. If you don’t know, bone char is the result of heating the bones of cattle at high temperatures. It’s what sugar companies use to filter and bleach sugar so it obtains a pristine, white color.

However, it’s also important to mention that not every sugar company uses bone char. On one end, you have companies that use alternatives like granular activated charcoal which achieves the same result as bone char. And on the other end, there’s sugar extracted from beet sugar which does not need bone char to crystallize.

Interestingly, beet and cane sugar are used in equal amounts in the United States. 

The problem is that companies do not specify the type of sugar they use. Therefore, you do not know whether the sugar being used was bleached with bone char or not. In that case, all you can do is contact the company and see if they’re willing to be transparent about it. For instance, I respect Oreos for their transparent attitude on the use of bone char by some of their suppliers.

Supporting a Non-Vegan Company.

As I’ve mentioned, the Ferrero Group is responsible for creating various dairy-based chocolates like Ferrero Rocher, Kinder Bueno, Raffaello, and the most popular chocolate-hazelnut spread, Nutella. In other words, even though the Ferrero Group has a vegan product like Mon Chéri, it makes most of its profit from products containing milk.

For that reason, it’s not unusual to see some vegans boycott these companies and also completely stop consuming their “accidentally” vegan products. While I don’t know they’re fully correct in doing so, it’s a decision that makes sense.

However, some vegan advocates believe that if you consume vegan products from non-vegan companies, you’re essentially validating the demand for vegan products, which will enable you to change non-vegan companies from within.

Here’s Gary Yourofsky’s take on vegans buying vegan products from non-vegan companies:

What you’ll find are people with diverging opinions, and so what you should do is think for yourself, and trust in what you believe is the best solution for this dilemma.

Bottom Line

Technically, Mon Chéri is vegan chocolate. 

However, just like any other non-certified vegan chocolate, you can find questionable ingredients.

Ingredients like (some) sugar, vanillin (artificial flavor), and the fact Mon Chéri is made by the Ferrero Group are reasons that may lead some vegans to stop consuming Mon Chéri.

This being said, you have to keep in mind that you have to respect people’s decisions to consume Mon Chéri, even if you’re against some of the things I’ve mentioned above.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

5 Brands With The Best Vegan Crossbody Bags
Previous Post 5 Brands With The Best Vegan Crossbody Bags
Is Coffee Beneficial To A Vegan Diet?
Next Post Is Coffee Beneficial To A Vegan Diet?