Is Ferrero Rocher Vegan? Or Does It Have Milk?

Ferrero Rocher, at least in my home country, is the best chocolate offering for Christmas.

If you turn the TV on before Christmas, you’ll see fancy ads promoting Ferrero Rocher. For some reason, Ferrero Rocher and the close relative Mon Chéri have withstood the test of time, and each Christmas, their sales peak.  

I don’t know why these chocolates only peak during Wintertime; as they’re incredible. But it’s true, Ferrero Rocher is a seasonal product as you can see here:

ferrero rocher on google trends
Ferrero Rocher on Google Trends.

I’m pretty sure the same info pops up for other countries as well.

Is Ferrero Rocher vegan? Unfortunately, Ferrero Rocher is not suitable for vegans because, unlike its cousin Mon Chéri, it contains milk derivatives that vegans do not eat. 

In this article, we talk more about Ferrero Rocher, as well as vegan alternatives you can find online. 

Why Ferrero Rocher is Not Vegan

Sadly, if we look at the ingredients, we’ll see a whole bunch of stuff we can’t eat. From milk chocolate, to skim milk powder and even plain old butter.

Think about it, this product was created in the late forties. And despite the strict quality policies that only allow Ferrero Rocher to be commercialized during Winter, the product is still very popular. I have been a vegan for several years, and even nowadays I’m still getting offered Ferrero Rocher for Christmas. 

It’s an affordable gift you can offer someone, despite being somewhat expensive for a box of chocolates, but the golden wrapping gives it a chic feel, which combined with the taste, is the perfect $5 gift. 

With that being said, I’m glad this product only thrives during the Winter because it’s not a vegan product. Let’s also not forget the fact Ferrero Rocher is owned by Ferrero Group, which is behind other highly popular products like Nutella and Kinder; also filled with animal products. 

READ NEXT: Is Dark Chocolate Vegan? Here’s All You Need To Know

What Are The Alternatives?

This is a really tough question. If you want vegan chocolate that stands on equal footing with Ferrero Rocher, I’m not sure you’ll be able to find one. The taste and texture of the Ferrero Rocher are unlike anything I’ve ever tasted.

But isn’t that the same with Milka, Hershey’s, and other chocolates?

Ferrero Rocher is a nasty ball of sugar, filled with low-grade nuts and a cheap chocolate filling, and yet I’m still waiting on that vegan version (sarcasm). The same goes for other chocolates.

Now and then we need chocolate and the best alternatives I can think of are a tad bit expensive:

Vegolino Nougat Pralines – Organic Fairtrade

vegolino

The closest thing you will get to the delicious bite-sized chocolate (Ferrero Rocher) is the Vegolino. Very smooth, creamy, and it contains the crunchiness from the nuts — so there’s a slight resemblance in texture.

Nonetheless, I’m sure a vegan friend would appreciate the offering. Plus, it’s Fairtrade, so every single ingredient is responsibly sourced and done so with the utmost quality.

Feel free to check it out here on Amazon.

READ NEXT: Is Lindt Dark Chocolate Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know

Vego Hazelnut Chocolate Bar – Organic Fairtrade

vego bar

The Vego Hazelnut Chocolate Bar is quite similar to the Vegolino. It comes packed with whole hazelnuts, which makes for a very crunchy texture. Although not similar to the Ferrero Rocher, neither in taste or texture, it can help you forget about it!

Additionally, its organic and sustainably sourced ingredients will make your mouthful even more meaningful. Vego is also available here on Amazon.

Ombar Cocomylk Chocolate

The Ombar Cocomylk is creamy and contains a delightful coconut flavor. Despite its organic footprint, this chocolate is actually an affordable option for a Friday Night delicacy.

It’s not nutty, but the creamy texture makes up for the lack of crunchiness.

Ombar is also sold on Amazon, particularly in the United States.

Booja Booja

beejo beejo

This chocolate truffle is a bite-size delicacy meant to satisfy.

This 100% Ecuadorian chocolate comes in different flavors, which include raspberry truffle and hazelnut crunch truffle. The latter is probably the closest to Ferrero Rocher’s nutty flavor, even though the formula is vastly different from the Ferrero.

I’m a sucker for truffles, so among this list, this is probably my favorite one.

You can easily get it on Amazon.

READ NEXT: Is Dove Dark Chocolate Suitable For Vegans? Or Does It Contain Milk?

The Bottom Line

Sadly, there’s no way around it — Ferrero Rocher is far from being vegan.

Yet look at the positive side. You only have to deal with cravings during Winter, when it’s being commercialized. This gives you enough time to acquire a different taste, and perhaps test different vegan chocolates.

While it’s hard to abundantly find delicious vegan chocolates, we must give it time.

While you can’t find something like Ferrero Rocher, you can give other chocolates like Mon Cherie a chance. Mon Cherie belongs to the same company, and it’s vegan. Just expect a completely different flavor! At the end of the day, we shouldn’t let our cravings get in the way.


Ferrero Rocher FAQs

Is Ferrero Rocher suitable for vegetarians?

Yes, Ferrero Rocher is suitable for vegetarians, or at least for Lacto-vegetarians who are willing to consume dairy products. Ferrero Rocher contains ingredients like skimmed milk powder and concentrated butter, which are milk derivatives, so while they are not suitable for vegans, vegetarians typically eat them. 

Are Ferrero Rocher halal?

According to the Ferrero Group, many of its products are halal-certified, including Ferrero Rocher. They also have plans of converting all of their factories into halal-certified factories. 

Are Ferrero Rocher gluten-free?

Unfortunately, the Ferrero Rocher contain wheat flour and are not gluten-free. Therefore, if you’re allergic to gluten or have a gluten intolerance, it’s not recommended that you eat Ferrero Rocher. 

Are Ferrero Rocher truffles?

The name “truffle” comes from the fact chocolate truffles resemble the mushroom-like fungi that go by the same name. However, chocolate truffles are also characterized by their buttery chocolate center and unique coating, which is usually cocoa powder or nuts. 

Even though Ferrero Rocher look like truffles, they don’t have a butter chocolate center. They have a hazelnut filling that is covered in milk chocolate and chopped hazelnuts, which is different from chocolate truffles that contain a chocolate ganache filling. 


This post contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a small commission, at no additional cost to you, if you purchase through these links. See my full disclosure here.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Fenty Beauty Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know
Previous Post Is Fenty Beauty Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know
10 Eco-Friendly Ideas To Help Reverse Climate Change.
Next Post 10 Eco-Friendly Ideas To Help Reverse Climate Change.