Are Oreos Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know

Ever since I’ve turned to a vegan diet I’ve never looked back. That won’t change. Even if my favorite cookies happen to NOT be vegan.

Even in Portugal, a small and super traditional country, it’s becoming easier to find alternatives to meat and dairy, and we’re even seeing older people more open and receptive to the idea of a vegan diet.

Let’s take a closer look at Oreos, and determine whether or not they’re truly vegan.

So… Are Oreos Vegan?

There are two different stances.

On one hand we some vegans, and organizations like PETA completely owning it and presenting Oreos as a vegan delicacy… which by the way, it’s enough for most people to jump on the bandwagon and drive Oreo’s sales up…

tweet from PETA calling oreos vegan

But on the other hand, you have the folks at Oreos admitting that “no, Oreos ain’t vegan bro”. As you can imagine, this struck me like a dagger to the heart.

But unlike PETA, I believe the people at Oreos have a stronger argument. Which is natural, considering they’re the ones making the goddamn cookies.

I seriously wanted to believe otherwise… and I even re-checked the list of ingredients:

Unbleached enriched flour, sugar, palm, and/or canola oil, cocoa, high fructose corn syrup, leavening, corn starch, salt, soy lecithin, vanillin, and unsweetened chocolate.

As you can see, there’s no mention of milk, eggs, butter or any other animal products. Palm oil, yes, “I’m against it”, but it doesn’t directly affect animals… but if you’re also a vegan for sustainable reasons, then this is an ingredient that would make you flinch I’m sure.

So, why would Oreos not be vegan?

Anyway, the first argument is…


Ufff… that hurt. When you have Oreos themselves coming out of the closet and making such a statement… that has to tell you something.

oreo themselves confirming that oreos are not suitable for vegans

Some vegans don’t consider cross-contact to be a strong enough reason to NOT consider a once vegan product… non-vegan. ​


But hey, it’s not like they’re saying it “may” have cross-contact… this more of an unwavering affirmation where cross-contact is a definite answer.

Now, this might come as a shock to you — but there’s a strong argument against WHITE SUGAR not being vegan…

And the guys at Oreo have even mentioned this in an email that was shared online.

Wait! Sugar Ain’t Vegan?

Whenever sugar pops up on the label, it’s not a good sign.

A great portion of white sugar is not vegan because it’s processed with bone char (bones from cattle). HOWEVER! If you’re in Europe, you might be safe because this mainly applies to the folk in the United States.

And also per what the guys at Oreo say, it depends on the supplier.

I believe this is one of those scenarios where one just has to scream “ridiculous” at the animal industry and everyone involved in it…

You look at the refined “sugar” on the label… and you have no idea of knowing about this information unless you dig deep and ask the companies relying on the “sugar”.

Here’s what one of the customer support guys at Oreo said:

So… will most people go through the trouble of asking a company what kind of sugar suppliers they’re using?

I don’t think so. Most people waver… and when you’re on a sugar rush (and famished) on the way to the supermarket… you just don’t give a damn. Or do you?

Anyway. I’m more inclined to believe Oreos are not vegan because there’s cross-contact.

Yes, they might be small “traces” of milk, but it’s really a matter of how deep into veganism you are… that even “traces” will make you lose your mind.

You Can Always Make Oreos At Home.

That’s right.

There’s a quick way to make Oreos at home… and all it takes is 5 ingredients.

  • Brown rice flour
  • Maple syrup
  • Cacao Powder
  • Coconut Milk
  • Powdered Sugar

This is perfect if you also want to avoid a lot of the processed ingredients that come with your Oreos. In other words, it won’t contain palm oil and a truckload of high-fructose syrup… which is very damaging to your health.

See how Oreo cookies are made with just 5 ingredients: Visit the recipe here. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Red Bull Suitable For Vegans? (3 Reasons Why It May Not Be)
Previous Post Is Red Bull Suitable For Vegans? (3 Reasons Why It May Not Be)
Do Vegans Have Rules They Can’t Cross?
Next Post Do Vegans Have Rules They Can’t Cross?