Which Walkers Crisps Are Vegan?

Which Walkers Crisps Are Vegan?

The Walkers crisps are among the most popular (if they aren’t the most popular) crisps in the United Kingdom, which naturally would lead a lot of vegans in the UK to question whether or not they can eat them.

While there is a lot of vegan-friendly Walkers, you’ll also find flavor profiles that are not. Some flavors, unfortunately, contain meat or milk-derivatives, which may not always be obvious at a first glance.

Here is a table to show you which flavors are vegan, and which ones aren’t:

Walkers Flavors: Status:
Ready Salted Vegan
Cheese & Onion Not Vegan
Salt & Vinegar Vegan
Prawn Cocktail Vegan
Beef & Onion Not Vegan
Marmite Vegan
Roast Chicken Vegan
Smoky Bacon Not Vegan
Worcester Sauce Vegan
Pickled Onion Vegan
Tomato Ketchup Not Vegan
BBQ Pulled Pork Not Vegan
Salt & Shake Vegan
Spicy Sriracha Not Vegan

In this article, I’ll list out the ingredients in each specific flavor, so that you can better identify why some Walkers are vegan, while others are not.

Vegan Walker Crisps

Walker Crisps Ready Salted

ready salted

The Ready Salted flavor by Walkers are incredibly crispy and 100% vegan.

The ingredients are the following:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • and Cheshire salt.

Since they are cooked with sunseed oil, they’re naturally lower in saturates; additionally, they’re free from artificial colors or preservatives, and MSG.

Walkers Salt & Vinegar Crisps

salt and vinegar walkers

A lot of salt & vinegar-flavored crisps are typically not vegan, but this formula by Walkers doesn’t have any animal ingredients.

The ingredients are the following:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Flavoring (vegan)
  • Dried Vinegar
  • Salt
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Yeast Extract.

Walkers Prawn Cocktail Crisps

prawn cocktail walkers

Usually, anything prawn-flavored would lead anyone to think that a small aquatic crustacean was used to create the flavoring, but not in this case. These prawn cocktail-flavored Walkers are vegan.

Here are the ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Flavoring (vegan)
  • Sugar
  • Glucose
  • Salt
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Dried Yeast
  • Dried Onion
  • Tomato Extract
  • Colour (Paprika Extract)
  • Sweetener (Sucralose).

Walkers Marmite Crisps

walkers marmite crisps

If you love Marmite, you’ll love these marmite-flavored Walkers.

This variety contains the following ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Flavoring (vegan)
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Rice Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Yeast Extract (contains Barley)
  • Vegetable Juice Concentrate
  • Thiamin
  • Riboflavin
  • Niacin
  • Vitamin B12
  • Folic acid
  • Natural Flavouring (contains Celery).

Walkers Roast Chicken Crisps

roast chicken crisps

Its ingredients are the following:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Glucose
  • Salt
  • Dried Yeast
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Onion
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Parsley
  • Flavoring (vegan)
  • Colour (Paprika Extract).

Walkers Worcester Sauce Crisps

Walkers worcester sauce

Worcester or Worcestershire sauce is a fermented liquid created in the city of Worcester, and it’s made from a base of vinegar with anchovies, molasses, tamarind, onion, garlic, and other seasonings. Needless to say, it’s not made with animal ingredients, and neither are these Walkers.

The Worcester sauce-flavored Walkers contain the following ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • WheatBreadcrumbs
  • Flavoring (vegan)
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Barley
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Dried Onion
  • Dried Garlic
  • Fructose
  • Cardamom
  • Ground Black Pepper
  • Ginger
  • Clove
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Colour (Paprika Extract).

Walkers Pickled Onion Crisps

walkers pickled onion crisps

Walkers pickled onion-flavored crips contain the following ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Flavoring (vegan)
  • Dried Vinegar
  • Dried Onion
  • Salt
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Dried Mustard

Apart from dijon and honey mustard, regular mustard is usually vegan, which is what the Walkers contain, which makes them suitable for vegans as well.

Walkers Salt & Shake Crisp

walkers salt and shake

These Walkers are unique as they come with a satchel of salt you can add to the crisps in the quantity you desire.

Its ingredients are the following:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Salt (in sachet)

A simple, vegan recipe that doesn’t provide room for misinterpretations.

Non-Vegan Walker Crisps

Walkers Cheese & Onion Crisps

walkers cheese & onion

The cheese and onion-flavored Walkers are not vegan, as they contain milk derivatives.

Here is a list of the ingredients used to make this product:

  • Potatoes
  • Vegetable Oils
  • Dried Onion
  • Salt
  • Dried Milk Whey
  • Lactose
  • Sugar
  • Flavoring (not vegan)
  • Cheese Powder
  • Dried Yeast
  • Dried Garlic
  • Acids (Citric acid, Malic acid)
  • Colors (Annatto, Paprika extract).

Normally, every cheese-flavored crisps or chips contain milk derivatives, so it’s nothing new.

Walkers Beef & Onion Crisps

beef & onion walkers

Needless to say, the beef & onion-flavored Walker are not vegan.

Its ingredients are the following:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Dried Milk Lactose
  • Flavorings (not vegan)
  • Salt
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Colour (Paprika Extract).

Walkers Smoky Bacon Crisps

walkers smoky bacon

While bacon-flavored, these Walkers do not contain any meat derivative.

Still, this variety is only suitable for vegetarians, as it contains the following ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Dried Milk Lactose
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Flavoring
  • Hydrolysed SoyaProtein
  • Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid)
  • Smoke Flavoring
  • Colors (Paprika Extract, Sulphite Ammonia Caramel).

Walkers Tomato Ketchup Crisps

walkers tomato ketchup

While tomato ketchup-flavored crips and chips are typically vegan, surprisingly, with these Walkers that is not the case. Unfortunately, this recipe contains milk derivatives.

Here are its ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Sugar
  • Flavoring
  • Dried Milk Whey
  • Salt
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Colour (Paprika Extract)
  • Tomato Extract.

Walkers BBQ Pulled Pork Crisps

walkers bbq pulled pork

Unfortunately, this flavor contains meat derivatives, namely from pork.

These BBQ Pulled Pork-flavored Walkers contain the following ingredients:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Fructose
  • Flavorings
  • Spices
  • Pork Powder
  • Smoke Flavoring
  • Colour (Paprika extract).

Walkers Spicy Sriracha Crisps

walkers spicy sriracha

It’s unfortunate that the spicy sriracha-flavored Walkers are not vegan, since I love me some spicy crisps, but there are other alternatives out there, namely the sweet & spicy-flavored Doritos.

Here are the ingredients present in the spicy sriracha-flavored Walkers:

  • Potatoes
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Acid (Sodium Diacetate, Citric Acid)
  • Garlic Powder
  • Rice Flour
  • Flavorings
  • Sour Cream Powder
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Hydrolysed SoyaProtein
  • Colour (Paprika extract)
  • Paprika
  • Hot Sauce powder

Summary

Fortunately, among the 14 different Walkers crisps, we have 8 vegan flavors and 6 non-vegan flavors.

If you want to find more about different chips or crisps, feel free to read these blog posts I’ve written about Ruffles, Doritos, or Lays.

If you feel like this blog post was helpful, please share it with friends or family that may also find some value by reading it.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Here Is Why Cool Whip Is Not Vegan (Plus 3 Vegan Alternatives)
Previous Post Here Is Why Cool Whip Is Not Vegan (Plus 3 Vegan Alternatives)
Which Candy Kittens Are Vegan? – Full Flavor Breakdown
Next Post Which Candy Kittens Are Vegan? – Full Flavor Breakdown