What Is Aioli and Is It Vegan?

Aioli is a sauce made from garlic and olive oil. It is a traditional sauce in Mediterranean cuisine. It is used as a dip or condiment, or as an ingredient in other dishes. Aioli can be made with either raw or cooked garlic.

The word may come from the Provençal noun “aigre” meaning “sour”. The name may also derive from the Catalan word “all i oli”, which means “garlic and oil”.

It is very similar to garlic mayonnaise. But it’s very different at the same time. It is made with olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, and no eggs. It can be used as a condiment or as an ingredient in recipes.

Aioli is a French sauce originally from Provence, France. It was traditionally made from mashed garlic and olive oil that were mixed in a mortar and pestle and then left to sit for at least ten minutes before being served cold, usually with fish and seafood in general.

The modern version of the sauce is found both with and without raw eggs and it can be served warm or cold depending on the recipe’s instructions. It is most commonly used as a condiment for seafood dishes such as fish or shrimp but it can also be used in other recipes such as pasta salad or potato salad, or to make a sandwich. 

Is Aioli Vegan?

aioli

Although most people believe that Aioli is vegan, it’s not always the case. Determining whether or not Aioli is vegan depends on if eggs are added or not. However, in the traditional Aioli recipes back in France, eggs were rarely added.

This means that traditional Aiolis is vegan. But you need to make sure your Aioli is not made with eggs before consuming it. This is especially important for people who are allergic to eggs. In addition to that, most restaurants now just market their garlic mayonnaise as Aioli sauce. And while there’s nothing wrong with garlic mayo, it is not the same as Aioli and it can be misleading to vegans and people who are allergic to eggs.

While you can easily make your egg-free vegan Aioli at home, make sure to double-check with restaurants or if you’re buying your Aioli sauce premade.

What is the Difference Between Aioli and Garlic Mayonnaise?

A very common misconception that has been going around recently is branding Aioli sauce and garlic mayonnaise as the same thing. And while they’re both quite similar in color and texture, there are some key differences.

While Aioli is a sauce made mainly from garlic and olive oil, garlic mayonnaise is a sauce made from vegetable oil, vinegar or lemon juice, egg yolks, or whole eggs.

Aioli sauce is made up of garlic, olive oil, egg yolk, and some other ingredients like lemon juice or white wine vinegar. Aioli sauce is thinner than mayonnaise and has a more creamy texture. 

Mayonnaise is a kind of emulsion that is made up of egg yolk, vegetable oil, and vinegar or lemon juice. The emulsion is stabilized by the lecithin in the egg yolk. It is thicker than aioli sauce and has a more yellowish color.

The original versions of aioli contain just garlic and olive oil. Some purists will say that it’s only aioli if it’s just garlic and olive oil.

More modern versions may contain other ingredients including eggs similar to mayonnaise. Another distinguishing factor is that aioli is usually made with olive oil and mayonnaise is usually made with neutral oils.

Is Aioli a Replacement for Mayonnaise for Vegans?

Vegans and vegetarians who avoid consuming eggs often use aioli as an egg-less replacement for mayonnaise. Aioli is traditionally a garlic-based condiment that is used in Mediterranean cuisine. It has a rich, creamy texture and is made of pureed garlic, olive oil, salt, and sometimes other ingredients, while mayonnaise is a thicker, creamier sauce that contains eggs, vinegar, salt, and sometimes mustard.

Mayonnaise is often used in sandwiches or as a dip for fried foods such as French fries. And while Aioli won’t give you the same flavor and texture as mayonnaise, it’s still one of the best alternatives to mayonnaise for people who can’t consume it (either vegans or people allergic to eggs).

Is Aioli Better for your Health Than Mayonnaise?

Because of its healthier ingredients, Aioli has more healthy fats than mayonnaise because it contains olive oil. Aioli also has less sugar than mayonnaise because it does not contain any sugar at all. So in terms of what is better for your health, Aioli is the superior option.

However, this doesn’t mean that aioli is a “healthy” sauce. It still contains a lot of calories from however much olive oil is in it. The extra ingredients contained in it also heavily affect this, as too much salt can cause some serious health problems to people with high blood pressure or heart diseases.

How Many Calories are in Aioli?

It’s not that simple to figure out how many calories are in Aioli, it varies greatly depending on the ingredients you use. But generally speaking, there are approximately 100 to 120 calories in a serving of aioli (1 tbsp).

The majority of those calories come from olive oil, so the amount of olive oil in your aioli dictates how many calories there are. Aioli also contains a considerable amount of fat (around 10g per tbsp) as well as some protein.

Benefits of Aioli

One of the most important health benefits of eating Aioli is thanks to the olive oil in it.

A study found that people who ate more than one tablespoon of olive oil per day (which is less than what is in a serving of Aioli) had a significantly lower risk of dying from heart disease than those who did not eat any at all.

Another study found that people who ate an average of 2 tablespoons per day of a good quality olive oil had a 41% lower risk of heart attack and a 46% lower risk of sudden cardiac death. The chemoprotective effect is thought to be due to the high content of monounsaturated fatty acids.

Conclusion

Aioli has been used in Mediterranean cuisine for centuries thanks to its many health benefits. It’s been on the rise in popularity in the United States as more and more people are turning away from unhealthy food and looking for healthier alternatives.

Aioli has been present in more vegan branded restaurants, and despite it veering off from its original simple recipe of garlic and olive oil, it’s still considered a healthy alternative for mayonnaise for vegans and people who want to cut back on their calories.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

What Is E471 And Is It Vegan?
Previous Post What Is E471 And Is It Vegan?
Is Coffee Creamer Vegan?
Next Post Is Coffee Creamer Vegan?