Sonic is the operator of an American drive-in fast-food restaurant chain owned by Inspire Brands, the same company that owns Arby’s and Buffalo Wild Wings.
There are more than 3,500 Sonic restaurants located across different states in the U.S and the menu consists of food like hamburgers, french fries, onion rings, corn dogs, chili dogs, and breakfast toaster sandwiches. You can also find soft drinks, slushes, and milkshakes, as well as ice cream and sundaes for dessert.
Obviously, it’s not a haven for vegans.
Also, because Sonic only provides a drive-in service and you have to put your order through an intercom speaker system, it’s not that easy to ask for elaborate orders. As a result, instead of going for strategies like asking for a burger on the menu and removing its animal ingredients, it’s more doable to actually make your own burger with whatever ingredients they have available.
What Food Can Vegans Order At Sonic
Sonic is known for its hamburgers, so you’d expect to at least find one veggie burger option.
However, that is not the case. Plus, because Sonic is a drive-in restaurant, I do believe building your sandwich (or burger) from scratch or sticking to snacks is the best option.
Let’s start with the sides.
According to the menu displayed on Sonic’s website, these are the vegan-friendly sides:
- Onion Rings
- French Fries
- Tater Tots
- and Sweet Potato Tater Tots.
Other than these, the other foods available include some types of bread, as well as some condiments and sauces they typically use on burgers.
Vegan Bread, Condiment & Sauces
Here are some of the types of bread you can find at Sonic’s:
- Hamburger Bun
- Hot Dog Bun
- Philly Roll
Keep in mind that some of these options may not be available at all locations, and also may contain different ingredients.
Before ordering, be sure to ask which options they have and whether or not they’re vegan.
Some of the condiments available on Sonic’s menu are:
- Diced Onions
- Hatch Green Chilies
- Dill Pickle Spears
- Dill Pickle Chips
- Sport Peppers
- Sweet Pickle Relish
Again, these ingredients may not all be available at all locations, so ask them for a list of vegan-friendly condiments.
If you wish to add some additional flavor to your custom-made burger or snacks, feel free to order the following sauces:
- Grape Jelly
- Strawberry Jam
- Spicy Mustard
- Hickory BBQ Sauce
- Sweet and Sour Sauce
- Celery Salt
- Salsa de Sonic
- Marinara Sauce
- Salt/Pepper Blend
- Maple Flavored Syrup
Akin to the other ingredients, they may not be available at all locations.
Bottom line: Unfortunately, Sonic has limited options when it comes to building a full meal. While you can definitely find something to put in the bread, you’re still lacking an adequate source of protein. That said, you still can get some pretty good snacks like french fries or onion rings.
What Drinks Can Vegans Order At Sonic
When you can’t get food that suits your taste, you can always go for the drinks! Even if you can’t get a veggie burger, you can always find a refreshment to deal with the heat.
Below we’ll cover some of the drink options Sonic has on the menu.
Slushies are essentially a mixture of water and sugar that is brought down to a certain temperature to look like flavored ice. Therefore, at their base, slushies are vegan.
However, besides the actual base, some additional flavors can be used to confer the slush with different flavors. Fortunately, most of the flavors at Sonic’s are vegan, which include:
- French Vanilla
- Blue Coconut
- Blue Raspberry
- Diet Cherry
Because this drink contains refined sugar, some vegans may avoid it since not all refined sugar can be considered vegan, especially in the United States. This is not because its extraction harms animals but it’s due to a specific ingredient used when the sugar is being processed.
However, that is also applicable to any product that contains refined sugar. (Feel free to read more about it here.)
List of Soft Drinks
- Coca-Cola Zero Sugar
- Diet Coke
- Diet Dr. Pepper
- Dr. Pepper
- Sprite Zero
- Fanta Orange
- Green Tea (Diet)
- Green Tea (Sweet)
- Hi-C Fruit Punch
- Mello Yello
- Minute Maid Apple Juice Box
- Minute Maid Orange Juice
- Bottled Water
- Hot Coffee
If you don’t fancy slushies, feel free to try some of the beverages above.
But keep in mind that some of these drinks may contain ingredients such as refined sugar, as well as artificial flavors and colors that may not be 100% vegan.
Summary: Sonic Has Some Vegan Options
Like many other fast-food chains, Sonic also has limited food options for vegans. If you’re looking to have a full meal at Sonic, I wouldn’t advise it. However, if you want to grab a snack (like fries or onion rings), then Sonic may be worth the stop.
That being said, there are establishments that provide you with a way better service, as well as food options. If you’ve enjoyed this post, feel free to read this article with some useful tips on eating out as a vegan.
Two Final Recommendations For My Fellow Vegans
Allow me to make two quick recommendations that have helped me in my vegan journey by ensuring I’m always healthy and deficiency-free.
- The first recommendation is my favorite vegan multivitamin supplement. It was created with vegans in mind. It contains vitamins B12, D, and Omega 3. In other words, it contains nutrients that vegans are generally low in.
- The second recommendation is this amazing vegan starter kit that is actually a bundle with 9 e-books that will help you lead a healthy, vegan lifestyle without running into any dietary deficiencies. It has great advice, and it includes print-outs and checklists that will make the theory easy to implement. This is something I’ve included in my recommended products page as well.
Thank you for reading this blog post. Hopefully, it has served you well.