Vegan Options at Hardee’s in 2022 (Includes FAQs)

Hardee’s Restaurants LLC, is an American fast-food restaurant chain operated by CKE Restaurants Holdings, Inc, a company that paid $327 million to Imasco Limited for Hardee’s. That same company also owns Carl Jr’s, and with the acquisition of Hardee’s the company now owns a chain with thousands of locations. 

In December 2019, Hardee’s announced two plant-based options: the Beyond Burger and Beyond Sausage, which usually require some modifications because they’re served with cheese or mayonnaise in most restaurants.

However, Hardees discontinued both plant-based options because they couldn’t continue to stock products that are not selling well enough to justify their place on the menu, so at this point in time, Hardee’s doesn’t have a legitimate vegan option, other than the typical sides and condiments we find in similar restaurants.

With that being said, let’s look at what they have on the menu.

Vegan Options at Hardee’s

Red Burrito

  • Beans, Rice and Cheese Burrito: A dish comprised of refried beans, rice, cheese and salsa rolled up in a grilled flour tortilla. While the option is not vegan, you can make it vegan by removing the cheese.

This item is priced at $2.39. 

Salad

  • Side Salad: Hardee’s side salad is a bed of iceberg lettuce with red onion, tomato, and cheddar cheese. To make it vegan, you have to remove the cheese. You’re generally given two salad dressings to choose from: the Buttermilk Ranch and the Low Fat Italian Dressing, but only the latter is vegan-friendly.

This items costs $1.69.

Sides

  • Grits: The ingredients list states that grits contain milk and milk derivatives, however, if you look closely at the list you won’t find them. They only contain enriched white corn grits, which is a combination of corn grits, niacin, iron, thiamin, mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid, none of which are milk-derived. They cost $1.39.
  • Hash rounds: These are merely crispy potato rounds. According to the list of ingredients, they have no animal ingredients. They cost $1.39. 
  • Natural Cut French Fries: Everyone loves fries, and the ones Hardee’s make are particularly delicious. They cost between $1.79 and $2.19 depending on the size you order. 
  • Crispy Curls: The crispy curls cost between $1.79 and $2.19 based on the size you choose. These are like french fries, but with the skin on. 
  • Green Beans: When steamed and covered with a pinch of salt, green beans can be quite delicious. I didn’t find a price for green beans, but it shouldn’t cost more than $2-3.
  • Sourdough Bread: It’s not only at Hardee’s, but in most places, sourdough bread is suitable for vegans. It’s made using our, water, salt, and oftentimes commercial baker’s yeast. 
  • Hot Dog Bun: Hardee’s hot dog buns happen to be vegan, but that isn’t always the case in other restaurants, so keep that in mind when ordering elsewhere. 

Desserts

  • Peach Cobbler: If you don’t know what a peach cobbler is, it’s essentially a peach-flavored fruit filling poured into a large baking dish and covered with batter, biscuit, or dumpling. I didn’t find the price available. 

Condiments

  • Strawberry Jam
  • Grape Jelly
  • Ketchup
  • Lemon Juice
  • Mustard
  • BBQ Dipping Cup and Packet
  • Buffalo Dipping Cup
  • Picante Sauce Packet

Potential Cross-Contamination

One thing to keep in mind when visiting a non-vegan restaurant, is that cross-contamination occurs, particularly when using fryers. They might use to deep fry animal ingredients, and then not change the oil, and then go on to cook chips in the same fryer that contains traces of animal ingredients. If you’re someone that wants to avoid this issue at all costs, then I’m afraid that Hardee’s is not the restaurant for you. 


Vegan FAQs

Did Hardees Discontinue the Beyond Burger?

Yes, Hardee’s no longer sells the Beyond Burger and the Beyond Sausage. You can find this information across reddit threads where people have confirmed the information with their local restaurants.

Are Hardees fries vegan?

Yes, the fries themselves are suitable for vegans, but they may fry them in the same oil where other foods are cooked, including those from animal origin. 

Are Hardees onion rings vegan?

The onion rings at Hardee’s contain whey, which is a protein derived from milk. This is the norm for most non-vegan fast food restaurants, and if you want to find vegan onion rings, Sonic Drive-in is one restaurant that sells onion rings with no animal ingredients. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Do Elephants Have a Vegan Diet? Or Do They Sometimes Skip Plants?
Previous Post Do Elephants Have a Vegan Diet? Or Do They Sometimes Skip Plants?
The 14 Best Vegan Websites and Blogs On The Internet!
Next Post The 14 Best Vegan Websites and Blogs On The Internet!