Is Weetabix Vegan? (Classic, Minis, Protein, Oatibix)

Weetabix is a brand of cereals that is quite popular in the UK.

In fact, it was throughout my short stay in the UK that I found Weetabix, which grew into one of my favorite cereals, not because of how it tastes, but because it’s particularly healthy. 

The Weetabix Food Company has different cereals and not all of them are vegan. However, the Original Weetabix cereal is suitable for vegans, as it doesn’t contain ingredients of animal origin. 

That being said, it still contains a few questionable ingredients that some vegans may choose to avoid. 

What Does It Mean To Be Vegan?

Vegans typically go vegan because of three different reasons:

  • Ethical reasons (because they want to protect sentient beings);
  • Environmental reasons (to prevent climate change, global warming, etc);
  • Health reasons (because of the positive link between plant foods and overall health).

Despite these reasons, the definition is always evolving and encompassing different causes, and while I’ve become vegan for ethical reasons, I’ve also extended that compassion to other causes, for example, I try not to purchase food or clothing from companies that often resort to slave-like labor. 

For most people, a vegan is someone that doesn’t eat:

  • meat (including poultry, fish, squid, or even insects) ;
  • dairy;
  • eggs;
  • honey;
  • or other ingredients that may derive from animals.

Vegans also typically avoid products that are tested on animals or that might negatively impact the environment, even though the ingredients themselves might derive from a plant. 

There isn’t a right or wrong way of being vegan, it’s just that among vegans you will find that each person has their own conviction, so their tolerance for the different aspects of veganism also varies.

So whether or not you consume Weetabix depends on your definition of veganism.

Is Weetabix Vegan?

Unfortunately, not every Weetabix product is suitable for vegans. 

You have several Weetabix products that are vegan, like the Original Weetabix, the Organic Weetabix, Banana Weetabix, and Chocolate Weetabix, but others like Weetabix Protein and Weetabix Crispy Minis are not vegan.

Unfortunately, they contain vitamin D3, which is typically derived from an animal source. 

Why Vitamin D3 Is Not Vegan

The vegan diet contains little to no Vitamin D without fortified foods or supplements.

And typically, there are two forms of vitamin D: ergocalciferol (D2) and cholecalciferol (D3). Vitamin D2 is vegan — obtained by exposing fungi to the sun.

However, Vitamin D3 usually comes from fish oil or sheep’s wool. Even though there is a vegan version made with lichen, in most cases, vitamin D3 is not vegan. 

Unfortunately, several Weetabix products are not vegan because they contain Vitamin D3.

weetabix protein

Read Next: The 7 Best Vegan Vitamin D Supplements in 2021 [Review + Guide]

Sugar May Not Always Be Vegan

Sometimes sugar is filtered and bleached with bone char so that it gains a pristine white color.

That only happens with sugar from sugarcane. Sugar from beet is different since it is extracted with a diffuser and mixed with additives that allow it to crystalize.

What is also worth noting is that not every supplier uses bone char to bleach cane sugar since granular powder can be used to achieve the same goal.

In addition, the use of bone char is banned in some European countries, as well as Australia and New Zealand.

Weetabix is originally from the United Kingdom, so unless the company sources sugar from a supplier outside these countries, I’d say their sugar is considered vegan.

What About Iron?

Iron, on the other hand, exists in two different forms: Non-heme iron and heme-iron.

Non-heme iron is predominantly found in plants, which isn’t absorbed as well as the heme iron found in meat.

The type of iron present in cereals like Weetabix is non-heme iron. It’s also a type of iron that is present in supplements and other fortified foods. This iron is extracted from plants.

Read Next: The 4 Best Vegan Iron Supplements in 2021 [Review + Guide]

What Weetabix Products are Vegan?

Product Is It Vegan? Why?
Weetabix Original Yes N/A
Weetabix Organic Yes N/A
Weetabix Banana Yes N/A
Weetabix Chocolate Yes N/A
Crispy Minis Chocolate Chip No Vitamin D3
Crispy Minis Fruit and Nut No Vitamin D3
Crispy Minis Banana No Vitamin D3
Oatibix Classic Yes N/A
Oatibix Flakes Yes N/A
Oatibix Flakes Red Berries Yes N/A
Weetabix Protein No Vitamin D3
Protein Crunch Original No Vitamin D3
Protein Crunch Chocolate No Vitamin D3
Weetabix Protein Chocolate Chip No Vitamin D3

Should You Even Buy From Weetabix Limited?

Weetabix Limited is known for creating products with plant-based ingredients.

However, there’s a range of products called Weetabix On The Go. These products are drinkable yogurts that contain ingredients such as skimmed milk, milk cream, and milk protein.

All of which are non-vegan ingredients.

This being said, most Weetabix products are suitable for vegans. By comparison, the impact Weetabix Limited has had on both animals and the environment comes nowhere close to companies like Hormel Foods and Unilever.

Whether you decide to stop consuming Weetabix’s products based on this information depends on your own definition of veganism.

Read Next: Are Weetos Vegan? Ingredient Analysis

Verdict: Most Weetabix Cereals Are Technically Vegan.

Most Weetabix cereals are vegan because they do not contain animal-based ingredients.

However, several variations contain Vitamin D3, a solution most likely extracted from fish oil or sheep’s wool.

Also, we don’t know if the sugar used is filtered and bleached with bone char. Since Weetabix Limited is a European company, I would like to believe that isn’t the case.

To get that information, the only solution is to contact the company for information. And although that could be meaningful for some vegans, I don’t think people would just suddenly stop eating Weetabix since sugar is present in many foods.


Weetabix FAQs

Does Weetabix Have Gluten?

Unfortunately, all Weetabix products contain gluten from either wheat, barley, or oats. 

Does Weetabix Make You Fart?

Weetabix doesn’t necessarily make you fart, however, flatulence can happen if add more fiber to your diet, and Weetabix contains fiber.

Can Dogs Eat Weetabix? 

You shouldn’t give your dog Weetabix because it contains sugar, which can lead to problems such as obesity, dental problems, or even diabetes. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Samosas Actually Vegan? (Here Is Everything You Need To Know)
Previous Post Are Samosas Actually Vegan? (Here Is Everything You Need To Know)
Is Cotton Candy Vegan? (Here’s Why It Depends)
Next Post Is Cotton Candy Vegan? (Here’s Why It Depends)