Are Weetos Vegan? Ingredient Analysis

Weetos is a brand of chocolate-flavored breakfast cereal produced by the Weetabix Food Company, also responsible for creating the amazing Weetabix wheat cereal; one that I’ve always liked thanks to its complete nutritional profile. 

Unfortunately, despite having removed milk powder from its ingredients, Weetos is still not suitable for vegans. It doesn’t contain animal ingredients, but the Weetabix Food Company did not include it in its list of vegan-friendly products.

Read on to learn about its ingredients and potential vegan alternatives. 

Weetos Ingredients

Weetos contains the following ingredients:

  • Wholegrain Wheat (49%)
  • Wheat Flour, Sugar
  • Maltodextrin
  • Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder
  • Salt
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Flavoring
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Niacin
  • Iron
  • Riboflavin (B2)
  • Vitamin B6
  • Thiamin (B1)
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin B12.

As you can see, there are no obvious animal ingredients.

I initially assumed that the reason Weetos was not on the company’s list of vegan-friendly products was that it contained vitamin D3, but I was wrong. 

Most vitamin D in products is derived from an animal source called lanolin, which is basically an oil akin to human sebum that is extracted from sheep’s wool.

However, the Weetabix Food Company uses vitamin D2, which is derived from mushrooms and is purely vegan.

Why Isn’t Weetos Vegan-Friendly?

I went into Weetabix Food Company’s website because I wasn’t sure about which of the ingredients was of animal origin, and I found two ingredients: vitamin B12 and flavoring. 

I don’t need to tell you that vitamin B12 is one of the most important vitamins for vegans. And while it’s typically found in meat, dairy, and eggs, vitamin B12 is actually made by bacteria. The vitamin B12 you will find in fortified foods is called cyanocobalamin, a cyanide-based form of vitamin B12 that is lab-made and 100% vegan. 

The Weetabix Food Company considers Weetaflakes (one of their products that contain vitamin B12) to be vegan-friendly, which means the vitamin B12 in their products is also vegan. 

Weetos contains the following warning on the label: “For allergens, including cereals containing gluten, see ingredients in bold. Also, not suitable for milk allergy sufferers.” This suggests that Weetos may contain milk in the form of an added flavor, or it is sure to come into contact with dairy ingredients in production.

Vegan Products from Weetabix Food Company

weetabix food company

According to the Weetabix Food Company, these are their vegan cereals:

  • Oatibix
  • Weetabix
  • Weetabix Banana Flavour
  • Weetabix With Chocolate
  • Weetabix Organic
  • Weetaflakes
  • Malt Wheets
  • Branflakes

If you really want chocolate-flavored cereals, the Weetabix With Chocolate is a sound product, but it’s not anything like the Weetos. 

Therefore, here is yet another list, but this time it’s vegan chocolate cereals:

  • Coco Shreddies
  • Chocolate Weetabix
  • Forager Organic Chocolate O’s
  • Crunchy Nut Granola Pistachio & Dark Chocolate
  • Fuel Chunky Chocolate Granola.

Conclusion

According to the Weetabix Food Company, Weetos are not suitable for vegans. They’re not included in the company’s list of vegan-friendly products. 

However, you have several other products from the same brand that are vegan, and I’ve also shared with you a couple of chocolate-flavored cereals that are vegan. 


Weetos FAQs

Are Weetos Gluten-Free?

No, unfortunately, Weetos are not gluten-free because, like most products from the Weetabix Food Company, they contain wheat and wheat derivatives. 

Are Weetos High in Sugar?

Weetos contains 23.5 grams of sugar per 100 grams of product, which is a considerable amount. Unlike other products of the Weetabix Food Company, Weetos aren’t exactly a healthy choice. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Can Vegans Eat Hot Cheetos?
Previous Post Can Vegans Eat Hot Cheetos?
Aquafaba Substitutes: 4 Options You’re Likely To Have At Home
Next Post Aquafaba Substitutes: 4 Options You’re Likely To Have At Home