Is Vegemite Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know!

While I’ve never been too big on Vegemite, I’ve decided to write this blog post about it after seeing a piece of news on Insider suggesting that Tom Hanks’ Vegemite-spreading method wasn’t met with approval by his fellow Australians.

Tom Hanks Vegemite technique

However, to be absolutely fair, what actually made me write this blog post was the actual vegan-sounding name of this popular Australian spread— VEGEMITE.

A thick, dark-brown Australian food spread made from leftover brewers’ yeast extract and a number of vegetable and spice additives. It’s salty, a tad bitter, malty, and rich in glutamates.

Yet, more importantly… according to what we found, Vegemite is suitable for vegans.

Unless you’re a vegan who’s against artificial colors.

Vegemite: Ingredients

vegemite

The typical Vegemite spread has the following ingredients:

  • Yeast Extract
  • Salt
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Malt Extract (From Barley)
  • Colour (E150d)
  • Sulfur Dioxide (For preservation)
  • Vegetable Extract (Onions, Celery)
  • Niacin
  • Thiamine
  • Riboflavin
  • And Folic Acid.

A quick glance at the list of ingredients tells us that there are no animal ingredients or derivatives, which makes Vegemite a vegan-friendly product.

However, some vegans are heavily against the use of artificial colors.

Why Are Some Vegans Against Artificial Colors?

animal testing

Unfortunately, artificial colors are associated with cruel animal testing.

While most vegans are fine with consuming products that contain artificial colors, there are stricter vegans who are heavily against it.

Before and after being tested, animals are forced to live in cages, where they are denied freedom of movement and control over their lives. In addition, a lot of testing may lead to dramatic effects, where an animal may develop a condition and die.

Yes, testing involves force-feeding or injecting animals with harmful substances.

That is why a great number of vegans and animal activists are against it, as it’s simply too cruel.

In addition, I’ve always thought that testing artificial colors was a one and done deal until I’ve come across these experiments conducted in 2017 and 2018.

Since artificial colors may cause dire health problems, they need to be tested continuously.

However, this also means that these animals need to live in isolation, without having the ability to choose how they live.

Therefore, if you’re heavily against the use of artificial colors, then Vegemite may not be for you.

Additional Note on Vegemite

We believe it’s also worth mentioning that Vegemite has more than one variation.

In fact, if you visit the Vegemite website, there are 5 variations:

  • The Original Vegemite
  • Gluten-Free Vegemite
  • 40% Less Salt Vegemite
  • Reduced Salt Vegemite
  • And Vegemite Cheesybite.

The Vegemite Cheesybite is not vegan because it contains ingredients derived from dairy. 

Other than that, the other variations are all plant-based.

Summary: Vegemite Is Suitable For Vegans

Indeed, vegans should be free to eat Vegemite.

Vegemite does not contain any animal-based ingredients.

Though, as we’ve mentioned, some vegans may be against the consumption of artificial colors, and Vegemite contains E150d, one of the oldest and most widely used food colorings.

This being said, if you’re fine with consuming products with artificial colors, feel free to consume Vegemite, as it doesn’t have animal ingredients.

Thanks for reading!

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

The 8 Best Vegan Multivitamins In 2022 [Review + Guide]
Previous Post The 8 Best Vegan Multivitamins In 2022 [Review + Guide]
Is Elmer’s Glue Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!
Next Post Is Elmer’s Glue Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!