Every Vegan Option at Velvet Taco (Updated: 2022)

Velvet Taco is a fairly recent and unique taco restaurant serving premium food in a novel & funky fast-casual setting. This is one of those restaurants where the quality isn’t seen in the numbers.

In a menu with 20 options, there are 5 vegetarian options:

  • Nashville Hot Tofu: crispy tofu, napa slaw, ranch crema, house brined pickles, and flour tortilla.
  • Fried Paneer: tomato chutney, tikka sauce, raita crema, Thai basil, and flour tortilla.
  • Falafel: tahini crema, arugula, tomato, pickled Fresnos, avocado, pickled red onion, pea ‘tendrila’, and lettuce wrap.
  • Queso Blanco: Velvet Taco heat sauce, salsa verde, charred tomato salsa, cilantro sprig, and blue chips.
  • ‘Elote’ Corn: queso listo, Valentina, crema, queso fresco, and lime.

Among these five vegetarian options, only one seems to be vegan-friendly— the Falafel wrap.

The other options, unfortunately, contain certain ingredients (namely, the sauces and toppings) that are created using sour cream, as well as other dairy-based ingredients.

Converting Vegetarian Options into Vegan Options

One thing you can do — especially when we consider the nature of tacos — is removing or swapping certain ingredients. With the Nashville Hot Tofu taco, you can swap the ranch crema with a different type of sauce like the tahini crema, for instance.

Naturally, the crema is oftentimes (if not always), the ingredient that makes a certain taco or dish unique, but as a vegan, we have to adapt, even if the final product is less appealing.

If you don’t want to go through the hassle of converting vegetarian dishes into vegan dishes, you can always opt for the only vegan option they have available which is the Falafel wrap.

In addition, every week, Velvet Taco launches a “WTF” Taco that is featured on their website and social media. At one point in time, they’ve launched a 100% vegan taco, so keep an eye on their social media pages for future updates.

Conclusion: Velvet Taco Has Very Few Vegan Options

As far as real vegan options go — the Velvet Taco only has a falafel wrap.

Other than that, you have 1 vegetarian option that can be converted into a vegan option by either removing or replacing some of the animal ingredients. We know it’s hard but in primarily non-vegan restaurants, you need to find a way to be creative and also improvise with some of the standalone ingredients they have.

Velvet Taco might have an array of vegetables that you can respectfully order to create a unique taco or wrap. In this blog post, we give you some tips on how to eat out as a vegan, which is especially useful on occasions where you have to go into non-vegan restaurants.

If you don’t feel like reading another blog post, feel free to watch this cool and informative video by Liv B on How to Eat in a Non-Vegan Restaurant:

Also, If you want a non-vegan restaurant with more vegan options, there are a few restaurants with some good options such as PF Chang’s or Chili’s.

Velvet Taco FAQs

Is Velvet Taco Dog Friendly?

Velvet Taco is dog-friendly, as the restaurants have quite spacious patios where you can just chill eating, while your best friend is right beside you. 

Does Velvet Taco Serve Alcohol?

Yes, Velvet Taco serves margaritas that change depending on the season, and these usually pack more punch than regular margaritas. 

Does Velvet Taco Have a Drive-Thru?

Yes, Velvet Taco has several drive-thrus and pick-up locations, however, it’s better that you check whether the location near you actually provides that type of service.

Is Velvet Taco a Franchise?

According to the company’s official website, Velvet Taco is not a franchise, at least for now. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Every Vegan Option at Village Inn (Updated: 2022)
Previous Post Every Vegan Option at Village Inn (Updated: 2022)
Every Vegan Option at On The Border (Updated: 2022)
Next Post Every Vegan Option at On The Border (Updated: 2022)