Every Vegan Option At Five Guys (Updated: 2020)

Every Vegan Option At Five Guys (Updated: 2020)

Five Guys is an American fast-casual restaurant chain that specializes in hamburgers, hot dogs, and french fries. It’s mostly popular in the United States, but you can also see it in the UK.

Their menu revolves around hamburgers served with cheese or bacon, kosher style hot dogs, as well as grilled cheese and vegetable sandwiches. Both the hamburgers and hot dogs have no vegetarian or vegan variations, but the sandwiches have a variation called the veggie sandwich.

However. according to the information I’ve collected from their Allergen and Ingredient List Info — their bread is a proprietary recipe that contains ingredients like milk and eggs.

So, Which Options Are Actually Vegan?

Among the numerous fast-food restaurants I’ve reviewed, Five Guys is among the very few in which the bread is made with animal ingredients.

So, for a restaurant that is centered around bread-based foods, you would have to be a vegetarian to find a suitable option. Although, if you’re willing enough, you’re free to bring your own bread and stuff it with some of the vegan topics they have available.

Here’s a quick list of toppings you can add:

  • Lettuce
  • Pickles
  • Tomatoes
  • Grilled Onions
  • Grilled Mushrooms
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Relish
  • Onions
  • Jalapeño Peppers
  • Green Peppers
  • Bar-B-Que Sauce
  • Hot Sauce
  • A1 Sauce or Steak Sauce (Despite the name, it’s usually made with tomatoes, vinegar, spices, and raisins, so it should be vegan.)

Naturally, if you just want to grab a quick snack, you can always opt for one of the two sides Five Guys has on their menu:

  • Fries “Five Guys” Style
  • And Fries “Cajun” Style.

These are made with regular potatoes fried in 100% peanut oil.

What Else Can You Get At Five Guys?

As you know, if a place is rather short of options to eat, you can always ask for some drinks.

Five Guys is also known for selling milkshakes (including fruit-based ones), but they usually don’t have an alternative to dairy milk. 

Therefore, your only option is to pour yourself a soft drink through the Coca Cola Freestyle Soda Fountain Machine. You can usually find options such as:

  • Coke
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Fanta
  • Fanta Zero
  • Schweppes
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Dr. Pepper Zero
  • Powerade
  • Powerade Zero

However, keep in mind, that you may find different flavors and variations at the time you read this blog post. At this time, these are the drinks and variations I found available on the machine.

Summary

Sadly, Five Guys is still far from having any REAL vegan options.

Even if you wished to create your own sandwich, it’s super difficult because their bread is made using milk and eggs. In addition, the number of toppings or condiments is very limited, so it’s hard to even consider spending your time and money to eat vegan food at Five Guys.

This being said, they still have some delicious fries sold in two different styles, and also a couple of soft drinks you can order through a Coca Cola Freestyle Soda Machine.

If you liked this blog post and wish to learn more about how to eat out as a vegan, feel free to read this article where I share some tips on that topic.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Every Vegan Option At Jimmy Johns (Updated: 2020)
Previous Post Every Vegan Option At Jimmy Johns (Updated: 2020)
Every Vegan Option At PF Chang’s (Updated: 2020)
Next Post Every Vegan Option At PF Chang’s (Updated: 2020)