Can Vegans Eat Guacamole? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)

Guacamole is hands-down the best culinary invention coming out of Mexico.

This original plant-based dip is traditionally made by mashing ripe avocados and sea salt with a molcajete and tejolote; two traditional Mexican tools used for grinding various foods.

Most guacamole recipes are vegan, including store-bought guacamole. However, certain recipes and brands of guacamole may contain milk or egg products. 

If you’re planning to do a homemade guacamole recipe, you will be glad to know that guacamole is an original vegan recipe, but always do your due diligence, particularly if you go for store-bought guacamole. 

Traditional Guacamole is Vegan

traditional guacamole is vegan

Fortunately, traditional guacamole recipes make use of plant-based ingredients, and that should be the same for traditional store-bought guacamoles.

As we’ve mentioned earlier, the ingredients used for guacamole are:

  • Avocados
  • Lime juice
  • Onion and garlic
  • Salt
  • Tomatoes
  • Cilantro
  • Oils
  • Distilled vinegar
  • Jalapenos

Recipe websites that claim to have authentic Mexican guacamole recipes seem to also rely on ingredients such as the ones above.

Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Guacamole

As mentioned, not all guacamole recipes are traditional.

In fact, culinary is an art, so you’re bound to see some innovation, even if that means using non-vegan ingredients to add more flavor.

Some non-traditional recipes often make us of a non-vegan ingredient called sour cream.

Sour Cream

sour cream

Sour cream is a dairy product obtained by fermenting cream with lactic acid bacteria. This fermenting process, or bacterial culture, sours and thickens the cream.

Based on the several recipes I found, the sour cream is used to keep the guacamole from turning brown over time. In addition, It also adds some consistency to the guacamole.

As far as commercially sold guacamoles go, I have not found one that uses sour cream, but various online recipes use it.

Whey Protein Concentrate

Whey Protein Concentrate

Another ingredient I have found in commercially-sold guacamole was whey protein concentrate.

This is the cheapest and most common form of whey protein and is a byproduct of cheese production. According to Science Direct, including whey protein concentrate in foods (like guacamole) contributes to important functional properties such as solubility, foaming, gelation, emulsification, elasticity, viscosity, and more.

In fact, most of the guacamoles I found to contain less than 2% of whey protein concentrate, which explains why it may be for functional purposes.

Questionable Ingredients in Guacamole

Some of the commercially sold guacamoles also contain ingredients that stricter vegans may not be willing to consume, despite being plant-based.

For example, a questionable ingredient present in store-bought guacamoles is refined sugar.

Why is refined sugar a questionable ingredient?

white sugar

Typically, sugar can be obtained from two sources: sugarcanes and beets.

They both taste the same, have a similar texture, and are used in similar amounts in the United States. Yet, their refining processes are very different.

While beet sugar is extracted with a diffuser and mixed with additives to crystallize, cane sugar is often processed, filtered, or bleached using bone char.

What is bone char?

Bone char, also known as natural carbon, is used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, proving cane sugar with its white, immaculate color.

However, bone char is obtained by heating the bones of cattle at high temperatures. When fully carbonized, the bones resemble regular charcoal, which is then converted into powder.

Keep in mind that not all companies use bone char

Indeed, not all companies rely on bone char to filter sugar.

In fact, some companies use what’s called granular carbon or sometimes an ion-exchange system. These filters also achieve the same result as bone char.

But while that is true, no distinction is made on product labels, so the only way of knowing which type of sugar is actually being used on a product is by contacting the company.

Though, to be honest, if most companies are like Oreos or Ghirardelli, then what you will find is that the sugar is sourced from different suppliers. This means that you have suppliers that use bone char, and others that do not.

Therefore, if you’re not making your guacamole at home, and you absolutely despise sugar refined with bone char, make sure you contact the company before purchasing.

Commercially Available Vegan Guacamole

Knowing that most traditional guacamole is vegan, allow us to share with you a few commercially available guacamole products that are vegan-friendly.

Yucatan Mild Guacamole

The Yucatan Guacamole contains the following ingredients:

  • Hass Avocado
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Ascorbic Acid (added to maintain freshness)
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Citric Acid (added to maintain freshness)

While it contains sugar (a questionable ingredient), the ingredients are all vegan-friendly, so Yucatan is a variety of guacamole you can eat.

You should be able to find this product in a Walmart near you.

Sabra Guacamole with Lime

The Sabra Guacamole with Lime contains the following ingredients:

  • Hass Avocado
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Jalapeno Pepper
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Lime Juice
  • Concentrate
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Cilantro
  • Ascorbic Acid (to maintain freshness)
  • Citric Acid
  • And Lime Oil.

Unlike the Yukatan Guacamole, this one does not contain sugar, so the likelihood of having anything refined with bone char is non-existent.

Also, you should be able to find this product in a Walmart near you.

Freshness Guaranteed Guacamole

The Freshness Guaranteed Guacamole contains the following ingredients:

  • Hass Avocado
  • Tomatillo
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Sea Salt
  • Jalapeno Pepper
  • Dehydrated Garlic
  • Garlic
  • Dehydrated Cilantro
  • Dehydrated Jalapeno Pepper
  • And Cilantro Essential Oil.

Again, this is a product that does not contain animal ingredients, nor any questionable ingredients, so it should be fine for you to purchase.

Like the previous products, this one can also be found in Walmart.

Sabra Classic Guacamole

The Sabra Classic Guacamole contains the following ingredients:

  • Hass Avocado
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Jalapeno Pepper
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Lime Juice Concentrate
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Cilantro
  • And Ascorbic Acid (to maintain freshness).

Good Foods Tableside Chunky Guacamole

The Good Foods Tableside Guacamole contains the following ingredients:

  • Hass Avocado
  • Tomatoes (tomatoes, tomato juice, salt)
  • Red Onions
  • Onions
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Cilantro
  • Lime Juice
  • Sea Salt
  • And Garlic.

This is yet another vegan-friendly guacamole you can find in a Walmart.

Wholly Guacamole

The Wholly Guacamole has the following ingredients:

  • Hass Avocados
  • Tomatillos
  • Water
  • Onions
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Cilantro
  • Garlic
  • And Salt.

This is a very clean guacamole recipe, but you can also expect it to last less because it doesn’t contain a lot of the ingredients that preserve freshness.

This being said, it’s another vegan-friendly product and is available in a local Walmart.

Homemade Vegan Guacamole Recipes

If you want to make a vegan, authentic, and delicious guacamole dip at home, many recipes will enable you to easily do that.

One of our favorite vegan guacamole recipes is this one:

The recipe is pretty easy, and it only requires 8 ingredients: avocados, onion, tomatoes, cilantro, jalapeno pepper, lime juice, garlic, and salt.

Make sure to check it out if you want to make your guacamole at home.

Summary: Guacamole Is Vegan.

Traditional guacamole recipes, as well as commercially available guacamole that follow a traditional formula, should be vegan-friendly.

However, there are non-traditional recipes, as well as store-bought guacamoles that steer off the traditional path and include different ingredients, including non-vegan ones.

In addition, some vegan-friendly guacamoles use ingredients such as refined sugar, which is regarded by stricter vegans as a controversial ingredient.

However, overall, we do believe most guacamoles are vegan!


Guacamole FAQs

Is Tesco Guacamole Vegan?

Tesco has its own guacamole and guacamole from Holy Moly, and both are suitable for vegans.

However, I would only recommend the Holy Moly guacamole, as it’s only made with avocado, tomato, red onion, and jalapeno chili. There are no stabilizers and it’s 100% natural. 

Is Subway Guacamole Vegan?

Yes, the guacamole at Subway is suitable for vegans. In fact, according to Subway’s official website, their guacamole is made with  Hass avocados, jalapeno puree (white vinegar, jalapeno peppers, salt), onion, garlic, and sea salt.

Unlike some places, they don’t include sour cream in their recipe. 

Is Chipotle Guacamole Vegan?

Chipotle’s guacamole is made with 6 ingredients, including avocados, lime juice, cilantro, red onion, jalapeño, and kosher salt. It’s 100% suitable for vegans. 

Is Guacamole Gluten-Free? 

Yes, most guacamole is gluten-free. In fact, most recipes and brands of guacamole clearly state that they’re gluten-free, so it’s unlikely that you’ll run into any that might contain gluten.

For example, Wholly Molly, a brand we’ve referenced in this article sells guacamole that is clearly labeled as being gluten-free. 

With that being said, it’s always important to do your own due diligence by always checking labels no matter where you go, since recipes may change across different countries, regions, etc. 

Our Recommendation For Vegans

Future Kind’s Essential Vitamins: This is our favorite multivitamin. It’s not the typical multivitamin because it was formulated to specifically address potential shortcomings in the vegan diet. It contains the essential vitamin B12, vitamin D, and Omega-3 fatty acids (DHA & EPA) delivered in necessary doses so you don’t have to worry about potential deficiencies. Want to learn more about it? Check out the review we did on it.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? 3 Reasons Vegans May Avoid Them
Previous Post Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? 3 Reasons Vegans May Avoid Them
Is Lebkuchen Suitable For Vegans?
Next Post Is Lebkuchen Suitable For Vegans?