Are Sunbites Vegan? Which Flavors Are Vegan?

Are Sunbites Vegan? Which Flavors Are Vegan?

Made of whole cereals (oats, wheat, and corn), and with 30% less fat than the average crisp on the market, Sunbites are my hands down my favourite snack. 

Besides being healthier than most chips, they have a crunchy texture and a truly addictive flavour, so they’re the type of snack where you can easily lose yourself in unrestrained indulgence. 

Sunbites are available in 8 unique flavours, including lightly sea salted, sun ripened sweet chilli, sour cream and cracked black pepper, honey glazed barbecue, cheddar and caramelised onion, sundried tomato and mozzarella, roasted red pepper and chilli, and finally caramelised onion and balsamic vinegar. 

As you can see, many of the flavours are not suitable for vegans, but there are also vegan flavours, particularly the lightly sea salted flavour, which is the one I usually carry home. 

Still, in this article, we are going to look at which flavours are suitable for vegans, and what potentially non-vegan ingredients are compromising some flavours.

Sunbites: Non-Vegan Ingredients

Some flavours, including sour cream and cracked black pepper, honey glazed barbecue, cheddar and caramelised onion, sundried tomato and mozzarella, contain the following non-vegan ingredients:

  • Honey (and Honey Powder)
  • Whey Powder (Milk)
  • Sour Cream Powder (Milk)
  • Cheddar Cheese Powder (Milk)
  • Butter (Milk)
  • Mozzarella Cheese Powder (Milk)
  • Lactose Powder (Milk)
  • Buttermilk Powder

Except honey, the remaining ingredients are all derived from milk, which obviously means the aforementioned flavours are not suitable for vegans. They are, however, suitable for vegetarians. 

Related: Are Lays Vegan?

Which Sunbites Are Vegan? 

Out of the eight Sunbites – three are vegan, while the remaining five contain animal ingredients, which you can typically identify by looking at the name. 

Here are the vegan Sunbites you can indulge in:

  • Lightly Sea Salted

This flavour contains whole corn, whole wheat, whole oat flour, sunflower oil, rice flour, sugar, and sea salt flavour, making it the most simple recipe among the entire flavour catalogue.  

  • Sun Ripened Sweet Chili

This flavour contains whole corn, whole wheat, whole rice flour, whole oat flour, sunflower oil, sugar, sun ripened sweet chilli flavour (which includes salt, tomato powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, and citric acid), cayenne chilli pepper, ginger extract, star anise oil, fennel oil, soy sauce powder, paprika extract, and natural flavouring. 

  • Veggie Harvest Caramelised Onion and Balsamic Vinegar

This flavour contains pea flour, whole corn, sunflower oil, whole wheat, rice flour, sugar, a caramelised onion and balsamic vinegar seasoning, which includes sugar, flavouring, salt, potassium chloride, dried onion, spices, citric acid, parsley, dried tamarind, dried balsamic vinegar, and paprika extract. 

Bottom line: The Sunbites Lightly Sea Salted, Sun Ripened Sweet Chilli, and Veggie Harvest Caramelised Onion and Balsamic Vinegar are suitable for vegans as they do not contain any animal ingredients.

Related: Are Terra Chips Vegan? – Quick Product Breakdown

Are Sunbites Healthy?

While we cannot consider them a healthy food, they’re still better than regular crisps because they contain 67% whole cereals in the form of whole corn, whole oats, and whole wheat, which also means that Sunbites have more fibre than regular crisps.

They also have 30% less fat than regular crisps, which means a packet of Sunbites is slightly less caloric than a packet of Lays, for example. 

However, it’s important to point out that Sunbites contain about 1.8 grams of sugar per packet, which is significantly higher than most regular crisps. 

So, while Sunbites contain healthy whole cereals, they can’t be considered a healthy snack. 

Related: Are Ruffles Vegan?

Conclusion: Are Sunbites Vegan?

So, most Sunbites are not vegan, but there are three flavours that you can still enjoy as a vegan.

Those flavours are:

  • Lightly sea salted
  • Sun ripened sweet chilli
  • And Veggie Harvest caramelised onion and balsamic vinegar

They don’t contain animal ingredients, so you’re free to purchase them in your next grocery shopping spree.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Physician’s Choice Probiotic Review – Is It TRULY Worth It?
Previous Post Physician’s Choice Probiotic Review – Is It TRULY Worth It?
Physician’s Choice Ashwagandha Review – Is It REALLY Worth It?
Next Post Physician’s Choice Ashwagandha Review – Is It REALLY Worth It?