Are Razzles Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know

Did you come across Razzles somewhere but don’t know whether they’re suitable for vegans? 

Fortunately, Razzles doesn’t contain animal ingredients, and that is because their Gum Base is vegan-friendly, unlike other products of the same kind. 

In this article, we tell you everything you need to know about Razzles. 

Razzles Ingredients

razzles

 

Razzles contains the following ingredients: 

  • Sugar
  • Gum Base
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Citric Acid
  • Artificial Flavors 
  • Artificial Colors (FD&C Red 40 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake)
  • BHT (to maintain freshness)

Among the different ingredients, you will find Gum Base, which may or not be vegan, and you’ll also find controversial ingredients such as artificial flavors & colors. 

What Is Gum Base?

Gum Base is essentially what gives Razzles a chewy texture. It doesn’t have much or any nutrition, and it is not digestible. It’s merely there for flavor and texture. 

For Gum Base to be included as an ingredient, it can contain any of several ingredients.

That varies by country, but in the United States and according to the FDA, 46 ingredients are allowed to go into Gum Base, namely a mix of these:

  • Elastomers
  • Resins
  • Waxes
  • Fats
  • Fillers
  • Emulsifiers
  • Antioxidants.

Most of these ingredients are suitable for vegans, but some of them are not, namely:

  • Lanolin — derived from sheep’s wool
  • Several glycerol esters — glycerol can be made in a lab, but it’s usually derived from an animal product
  • Animal-derived resins.

The problem with Gum Base is that most companies have their own proprietary blend/formula, which means they can keep their ingredients a secret. 

Therefore, the only way to figure out whether or not a particular Gum Base is vegan is by contacting the manufacturer directly. 

Controversial Ingredients

Within the vegan community, there are ingredients vegans deem as being controversial, and that is because they might be directly or indirectly associated with animal cruelty. 

Razzles contain artificial colors, which some vegans find controversial.

Artificial colors are known for being tested on animals… thus not being cruelty-free. The same goes for artificial flavors, which are also lab-made, and might require testing.

Some people argue that animal testing is a necessary practice to protect us from potential diseases/collateral effects, which is why it is conducted. 

However, others argue that it’s no longer necessary given existing technology and different testing methods. 

I’m not an expert, so I’ve found a video that expands on that subject, but to give you the short answer— while animal testing might be a necessary practice today, it won’t be for much longer thanks to technological innovation. 

If you wish to avoid artificial flavors and colors, the best course of action is to opt for alternatives that rely on natural ingredients, or simply avoid products that might contain artificial ingredients. 

Alternatives to Razzles

If you feel like Razzles might not be an adequate product and you want one that is clearer in terms of actually being vegan or not, there are a few products we recommend, including:

Ingredients: Unrefined Cane Sugar, Organic Clarified Rice Syrup, Gum Base (Contains Natural Chicle), Citric Acid, Vegetable Glycerin, Natural Flavors, Cherry, Grape, Apple, Pineapple, and Natural Colors (Beet Root Juice, Black Carrot, Spirulina Extract, Turmeric Oleoresin). 

Ingredients: Xylitol, Gum Base, Gum Arabic, Natural Flavors, Glycerol, Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Carnauba Wax, and Tocopherols.

Ingredients: Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Rice Syrup, Organic Palm Oil, Citric Acid, Organic Flavors, Turmeric (Color), Sodium Citrate, Organic Sunflower Lecithin, Malic Acid, (Radish, Sweet Potato, Carrot, Blackcurrant) Color, Organic Carnauba Wax, Spirulina (Color), and Pectin.

Summary

Even though Razzles contain Gum Base, which is a proprietary base that contains a variety of ingredients, sometimes even animal-based ingredients, Razzles’ is vegan-friendly. 

However, it’s important to note that Razzles still contains controversial ingredients, namely artificial flavors and colors, which some vegans deliberately choose to avoid. 

If you’re someone that doesn’t consume artificial flavors/colors, we’ve included three alternatives (above) that might be more aligned with what you’re looking for. 


This post contains affiliate links, which means I may receive a small commission, at no additional cost to you, if you purchase through these links. See my full disclosure here.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Mary Ruth’s Probiotic Review — Is This Vegan Probiotic Legit?
Previous Post Mary Ruth’s Probiotic Review — Is This Vegan Probiotic Legit?
Mary Ruth’s Prenatal Review — Is It Legit? (2022 Update)
Next Post Mary Ruth’s Prenatal Review — Is It Legit? (2022 Update)