Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Vegan?

Mott’s is an American company known for producing apple-based products, more specifically juices and sauces. That said, in this blog post, we’re covering another popular fruit-based delicacy by Mott’s – the fruit-flavored snacks.

According to Mott’s, the fruit snacks combine real fruit and vegetable juice with delicious fruit flavors. You can find them in online platforms like Target or Amazon, but also in places like Walmart or Office Depot. Mott’s Fruit Snacks come available in five different variations:

  • Assorted Fruit
  • Assorted Fruit Plus Fiber
  • Berry
  • Tropical
  • Fruity Rolls

Despite containing controversial ingredients such as sugar and natural flavors, every variation of Mott’s Fruit Snacks can be technically considered vegan.

Mott’s Fruit Snacks: Ingredients

Here is an example of the ingredients present in the Assorted Fruit variety:

Ingredients: Corn Syrup, Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Pear Juice Concentrate, Apple Juice Concentrate, Strawberry Puree, Carrot Juice Concentrate, Citric Acid, Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid), Fruit Pectin, Sodium Citrate, Malic Acid, Dextrose, Sunflower Oil, Color (Vegetable Juice, Fruit Juice, And Annatto Extract), Natural Flavor, and Carnauba Wax.

The list of ingredients is similar among the different flavors and variants. The ingredients are fully plant-based, including the colors (which are typically man-made). In this instance, Mott uses a blend of natural sources (vegetable juice, fruit juice, and natural extract) to create food coloring.

This is great because it excludes the need to include ingredients that were (and are) tested on animals, which is what artificial colors are.

Controversial Ingredients

We also have to touch on ingredients like refined sugar and natural flavors.

These ingredients are considered “controversial” in the vegan community because there is a chance they might not be vegan based on their origin and refinement process.

This being said…

In this particular case, natural flavors are the least worrying because we’re addressing fruit-based snacks, so the likelihood that Mott uses animal-based ingredients to craft “natural flavors” is actually low.

On the other hand, there is a chance the sugar may not be vegan given that Mott is a company based in America,  a place where using bone char is still a common thing.

What is bone char?

Bone char, also known as natural carbon, is a decolorizing and deashing agent used by sugar companies to remove inorganic impurities present in sugar.

This agent is obtained by heating the bones of cattle at high temperatures. The end product is a porous, black material that highly resembles charcoal. One thing to keep in mind is that bone char is only used on cane sugar, so if a company uses sugar derived from beets (i.e: Redbull), we can assume that the sugar on their product is vegan.

Screenshot is taken from Red Bull’s website

Not all companies use bone char

Another thing to keep in mind is that not all companies use bone char to refine cane sugar.

Alternatives like activated carbon or ion-exchange resins can also be used to achieve the same result. However, it’s hard to figure that out just by looking at labels. Unfortunately, product labels are not explicit enough about each ingredient, so vegan consumers typically have to dive a bit deeper. This is especially true for ingredients such as sugar and natural flavors. 

So, given this, what do you have to do?

Well, if you want to know whether or not the sugar used by Mott’s is vegan-friendly, you have to contact the company via phone or email.

However, let me also say this, if Mott’s is anything like Oreos or Ghirardelli, then you will find that the sugar is actually sourced from multiple suppliers, including ones that use bone char.

If you’re keen on knowing what type of sugar Mott’s uses, feel free to contact them for more information. 

Summary: Mott’s Fruit Snacks Are Vegan

For most vegans, Mott’s Fruit Snacks are undoubtedly vegan.

Even though they contain controversial ingredients like sugar and natural flavors, we’re still referring to snacks with a solid fruit base. It wouldn’t make sense for a company to use natural flavors crafted from animal ingredients on a product that is primarily made from fruits.

That said, if you’re a more stringent vegan, you may want to dive a bit deeper into sugar, and figure out whether or not Mott’s relies on sugar suppliers that use bone char to refine sugar.

For most vegans, that may not be an issue, but for stricter vegans, knowing that the sugar on their product was refined with the bones of cattle is highly disturbing, as it should be.


Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Gluten-Free?

Yes, Mott’s Fruit Snacks are generally gluten-free as they do not contain ingredients such as wheat, barley, or rye, which are cereals/grains that contain gluten. 

Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Halal?

Yes, Mott’s Fruit Snacks are halal as they do not contain added alcohol or any other ingredients that may be incompatible with the Muslim criteria for how food should be produced. 

It is not always, but generally, products that are vegan-friendly tend to be halal as well. 

Are Mott’s Fruit Snacks Peanut-Free?

Yes, Mott’s Fruit Snacks do not contain any nuts, therefore, if you have a nut allergy, you should not have any issues eating them. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Nature Valley Bars Vegan? [Ingredient + Flavor Analysis]
Previous Post Are Nature Valley Bars Vegan? [Ingredient + Flavor Analysis]
Are Nutter Butters Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!
Next Post Are Nutter Butters Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!