Are Mambas Vegan? (A Quick Glance At The Ingredients)

Looking to chew on some Mambas but don’t know whether they’re vegan?

Unfortunately, the Mambas are not suitable vegans. They contain gelatin, a protein obtained from boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones of cows and pigs. 

In this article, I’ll do a deep dive and tell you everything you need to know about the Mambas. 

What Are Mambas?

Mamba is a brand of fruit chews produced by August Storck KG, which is available in several flavors, including strawberry, orange, lemon, raspberry, and cherry. 

mamba fruit chews

They are sold in packages of 6, 18, or 24 soft chews and the flavors within each package are selected at random, although they’ve also released new recipes featuring specific flavor mixes.

Mamba has launched new recipes of  The Original, The Tropical Retreat, The Long-Lasting Sour, and The Fruity Magic varieties, but unfortunately, they’re still not vegan.

Why Are Mambas Not Vegan

The ingredients within Mamba fruit chews are generally the following:

  • Sugar
  • Glucose Syrup (From Wheat or Corn)
  • Palm Oil
  • Sorbitol (From Wheat or Corn)
  • Gelatin
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Black Carrot Juice Concentrate (Color)
  • And Turmeric Oleoresin (Color).

Unfortunately, they contain gelatin, which is basically derived from collagen, a protein obtained from boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones of cows and pigs.  

I’ve looked a the different varieties/recipes available on their official website, and there is not a single variety that doesn’t contain gelatin, so they’re definitely a no-no for vegans. 

Additionally, Mamba fruit chews also contain controversial ingredients like refined sugar and palm oil.

Controversial Ingredients

Unfortunately, even though some ingredients definitely derive from plant sources, they’re still controversial because oftentimes they’re still involved in animal cruelty.

In this particular scenario, refined sugar and palm oil are the two controversial ingredients.

Sugar

Sugar generally comes from two sources: sugarcane and beets.

They’re both identical in taste and texture, but their refining processes differ. Beet sugar is extracted using a diffuser and mixed with additives to crystallize, meaning, it does not involve animal ingredients. 

Cane sugar, on the other hand, is made by crushing sugarcane stalks to separate the pulp from the juice and then filtering the juice with bone char – which is an animal derivative. 

sugarcane

What Is Bone Char?

According to PETA, bone char is made from the bones of cattle from countries like Afghanistan, Argentina, India, and Pakistan. The bones are sold to traders in Scotland, Egypt, and Brazil who then re-sell them to sugar companies in the United States.

Bone char is used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which is what gives refined sugar its white, pristine color. Bone char is also added to other types of sugar. 

For example— brown sugar is created by adding molasses to refined sugar, so companies that use bone char in regular, refined sugar, also include bone char in brown sugar production.

For this reason, the more cautious vegans might avoid products that contain regularly refined sugar, especially if they know a company sources from suppliers that rely on bone char. 

With that being said, let me point out that companies are increasingly resorting to cruelty-free options such as ion-exchange resins and activated charcoal, as those achieve the same result. 

Palm Oil

Palm oil is derived from plants but many vegans take an issue with it because of deforestation and the consequence it has on animals living in surrounding environments. 

By destroying rainforests, we’re essentially eradicating biodiversity – which means beings like the Sumatran orangutans, tigers, elephants, and rhinoceros might cease to exist in the future. 

palm oil

However, it’s also true that swapping palm oil with a different plant oil is not a good solution— primarily because palm oil has a more efficient usage of resources.

Some organizations promote sustainable RSPO palm oil as the solution, but non-profit organizations like Greenpeace mention that it’s just a free ticket for further exploitation

So, for the reasons above, palm oil is considered a controversial ingredient and some vegans simply won’t buy it — and often look at existing alternatives (even though those might not be the best choice). 

Vegan Alternatives to Mambas

Even though the Mambas are not vegan, there are alternatives that do not contain gelatin and use ingredients like pectin—a popular vegan substitute. 

Here are a few of the alternatives available:

YumEarth Organic Fruit Chews

YumEarth

Ingredients: Organic Rice Syrup, Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Organic Sunflower Lecithin, Colors From Organic Concentrates (Carrot, Blackcurrant), Organic Turmeric (Color), and Pectin.

YumEarth is one of the most popular brands on the market when it comes to having vegan alternatives to fruit chews, lollipops, and gummy bears. 

However, let me point out that they’re not cheap, particularly because they use organic ingredients.

Torie & Howard Sour Fruit Chews

torie & howard fruit chews

Ingredients: Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Cane Syrup, Organic Palm Shortening, Citric Acid, Natural Flavors, Organic Rice Extract, Ascorbic Acid. Colored with: Beetroot Juice and Grape Color Extract.

Another brand that uses organic ingredients is Torie & Howard. 

However, unlike YumEarth, they’re much more affordable and are available in individual fruit flavors, including sour berry and sour cherry. 

Are Mambas Gluten-Free?

Unfortunately, Mambas are not gluten-free as they contain a few ingredients that derive from wheat, including glucose syrup and sorbitol (which are derived from wheat and sometimes corn). 

Additionally, they are manufactured in a facility that also handles ingredients that contain gluten, so they’re definitely not a gluten-free product. 

Let’s Recap: Mambas Are Not Vegan

Although there are candies such as Sour Patch Kids and Swedish Fish that are vegan-friendly, that is definitely not the case with the Mambas. 

Unfortunately, the Mambas contain gelatin, which is derived from pigs and cows. 

However, there are several vegan alternatives available, which means you won’t have to miss the Mambas as you can simply grab one of the alternatives on the market. 

Brands like YumEarth and Torie & Howard are some of the brands that have a delicious selection of vegan fruit chews available, so be sure to check them out.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Nike A Vegan Brand? Does It Sell Vegan Shoes?
Previous Post Is Nike A Vegan Brand? Does It Sell Vegan Shoes?
Are Bottle Caps Vegan? (A Quick View At The Ingredients)
Next Post Are Bottle Caps Vegan? (A Quick View At The Ingredients)