Are Bottle Caps Vegan? (A Quick View At The Ingredients)

Want to have Bottle Caps but don’t know if they’re vegan?

Bottle Caps don’t contain any animal ingredients so they’re technically suitable for vegans. However, they do contain artificial colors, which some vegans are against for ethical reasons. 

In this article, I’ll tell you everything you need to know about Bottle Caps.

What Are Bottle Caps? 

Bottle Caps are sweet tablet candies that look like metal soda caps. 

They are available in a variety of flavors, including orange, root beer, cola, cherry, and grape. They were originally produced by Breaker Confections in 1972, but they’re now sold by the Ferrara Candy Company, the same company behind candies like Nerds and Sweet Tarts. 

bottle caps
Kc60657, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Bottle Caps contain the following ingredients: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, and less than 2% of Calcium Stearate, Malic Acid, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavors, Caramel Color, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, and Yellow 6 Lake.

Seeing as they do not contain ingredients such as gelatin, carmine, or confectioner’s glaze (shellac)— ingredients one can typically find in candies of this kind— they’re certainly vegan-friendly. 

The issue for some vegans, however, comes from the fact that Bottle Caps contain artificial colors.

Why Are Artificial Colors Controversial?

Artificial colors are tested on animals. 

This is quite a controversial issue because, on one side of the aisle, you’ll find people arguing that animal testing is a necessary evil and it exists to protect humans from potential diseases.

And on the other end, you have people suggesting that it’s no longer necessary because it’s a cruel practice, and with newly, arising technologies, using animals for testing is no longer acceptable. 

So that begs the question, is animal testing necessary? The video below expands on that issue, but to give you the quick answer— while it might be required now, it won’t be for much longer due to technological innovation.

One thing to keep in mind is that artificial colors are periodically tested, which means they’re tested on animals regularly, as you can see in these papers from 2017 and 2018.

Therefore, if you’re vegan and want to avoid artificial colors, the best way to do that is by not consuming products with artificial colors. 

Alternatives to Bottle Caps

If you’re someone that wishes to avoid artificial colors but still want to find a candy/sweet that is akin to Bottle Caps, I’m afraid there isn’t an identical alternative. 

However, let me point out that YumEarth, a brand of vegan candies, sells a variety of products that are vegan versions of old, popular candies.

If you want a chewy candy (something that might remind you of Bottle Caps), YumEarth’s Organic Giggles are a good potential alternative. 

yumearth giggles

The ingredients present in YumEarth’s Giggles are— Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Rice Syrup, Organic Palm Oil, Organic Natural Flavors, Citric Acid, Sodium Citric, Turmeric (color), Organic Sunflower Lecithin, Malic Acid, (Radish, Carrot, Sweet Potato, Blackcurrant) For Color, Organic Carnauba Spirulina Concentrate (Color), and Pectin, which is generally used as a substitute for gelatin. 

On top of not containing animal ingredients, it also doesn’t contain controversial ingredients such as artificial colors. 

Are Bottle Caps Gluten-Free?

Bottle Caps do not contain any ingredients derived from wheat, barley, or rye, nor they’re produced in a facility that handles glutenous ingredients. Therefore, Bottle Caps are gluten-free. 

Quick Recap

As we’ve seen in this blog post, Bottle Caps do not contain animal ingredients, so technically they’re suitable for people who follow a vegan diet. 

However, that might not necessarily be the case for some vegans, particularly because Bottle Caps still contain artificial colors, which are a byproduct of animal testing. 

Therefore, depending on your position in regards to artificial colors, Bottle Caps may or not be vegan. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Mambas Vegan? (A Quick Glance At The Ingredients)
Previous Post Are Mambas Vegan? (A Quick Glance At The Ingredients)
Do Worms Have Brains? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Next Post Do Worms Have Brains? Here’s Everything You Need To Know