Are Fortune Cookies Vegan?

Are Fortune Cookies Vegan?

Fortune cookies were first made in Kyoto, Japan, but are now served along with most dishes in Asian-based cuisine.

These crips and sugary cookies usually come with a piece of paper inside, also called a “fortune”, which essentially contains a vague prophecy. Interestingly, fortune cookies are highly popular in Chinese restaurants in the United States, but they’re not a custom in China.

Out of the 3 billion fortune cookies made each year around the world, the majority of them are used for consumption in the United States.

If you’re a brand-new vegan wondering whether or not you can eat fortune cookies, then I have good news for you.

Among the different brands of fortune cookies I’ve found, the majority of them are suitable for vegans. Though beware, as some manufacturers (and perhaps restaurants) may actually include eggs in the recipe (more specifically, egg whites).

This being said, even though most fortune cookies are technically vegan, there are a few potential ingredients that may push stricter vegans away.

Feel free to continue reading if you wish to know more. 

How Are Fortune Cookies Made?

fortune cookies

Most fortune cookies are made with plant-based ingredients.

Namely — sugar, flour, vanilla, and sesame seed oil. While not introduced in the dough, a piece of paper is later added with a proverb, insight, or vague prediction.

While still warm, the cookies are folded around small strips of paper with a “fortuned” printed on them. The cooling process then makes the fortune cookie hard, so the only way of taking out the paper is by actually cracking the cookie.

There is a science to manufacturing fortune cookies. In fact, here is a step-by-step video on how fortune cookies are made. Courtesy of Discovery UK:

Ingredients in Fortune Cookies

Out of all the fortune cookies sold online, most of them contained the following ingredients:

Ingredients: Wheat Flour, Water, Sugar, Less than 2% of Dextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Soybean Oil, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil and/or Cottonseed Oil, Corn Oil, Salt, Sodium Bicarbonate, FD&C Yellow #5 & #6.

I’ve taken the list of ingredients above from a listing on Amazon, and while there are no animal-based ingredients, there are a few questionable ingredients.

These ingredients are — refined sugar, natural & artificial flavors, and the colors yellow #5 and #6.

Questionable Ingredients in Fortune Cookies

There are strong ethical reasons that lead stricter vegans to avoid any of the questionable ingredients I’ve mentioned above.

While the ingredients are either plant-based or artificially-made, there’s a connection between them and animal suffering.

If you’re a brand-new vegan, this may come as a surprise, but there is a chance sugar may be refined with an animal-based decolorizer.

Sugar

white sugar

Typically, sugar comes from two plant-based sources: sugarcanes and beets.

They both taste the same, have a similar texture, and they’re used in equal amounts in the United States. However, their refining processes are different.

Beet sugar is extracted using a diffuser and mixed with vegan-friendly additives to crystallize. On the other hand, cane sugar is processed, filtered, and bleached with bone char.

What is bone char?

Bone char, also known as natural carbon, is used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which is what gives sugar its immaculate, white color.

Unfortunately, bone char is obtained by heating the bones of cattle at high-temperatures. When carbonized, the bones are reduced to a porous, black, granular material, which is quite similar to regular charcoal.

Not all companies use bone char

Yes, not all companies use bone char.

Some companies rely on other types of filters such as granular carbon or an ion-exchange system.

While that is true, there isn’t a distinction on labels that allow vegans to make a buying decision based on the type of sugar used on a product.

The only thing you can do right now is contact companies and ask them directly about it.

If most companies are like Oreos or Ghirardelli, they are pretty transparent about the type of sugar they use, but you will also feel disappointed by knowing that they source from sugar suppliers that follow different methods. So, yes, it’s hard to trace the sugar back to its refining process.

Natural & Artificial Flavors

natural flavors

On some of the labels in fortune cookies, I found the words “natural & artificial flavors”.

However, they’re different, so let’s make that distinction.

According to the FDA, here is the definition of “natural flavors”:

“The term natural flavor or natural flavoring means… which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.”

Also, their definition of “artificial flavors” is:

“The term artificial flavor or artificial flavoring means any substance, the function of which is to impart flavor, which is not derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof.”

In other words, while natural flavors may include both plant-based and animal-based derivatives, artificial flavors are synthetically made.

This means two things:

  1. It’s wrong to assume that every natural flavor is vegan. In fact, one ingredient that is seen often in natural flavors is castoreum, a substance extracted from beavers. This substance is often used to create vanilla flavorings.
  2. Because artificial flavors are synthetically made and some pose health-problems, they need to be regulated by the FDA, which usually means that animals are used in rigorous testing before a substance is deemed as being safe for consumption.

Therefore, yes, not all vegans are okay with consuming natural & artificial flavors, especially when they’re not as explicit as they should be.

Added Colors

natural food colors

If you saw the earlier video, you saw a sack of food coloring being dumped on the mixing machine. Well, as you know, one of the biggest issues with artificial colors is animal testing.

While most vegans don’t avoid artificial colors in foods, stricter vegans are heavily against, so foods that contain artificial colors are a no-go.

However, while I admit I’m not a stricter vegan, I also don’t agree with animal testing, even though it may be a necessary evil in order to ensure a lot of the things we buy are safe for consumption.

This being said, I wasn’t aware that artificial colors required periodic testing.

In fact, here are two recent examples of tests run on animals in 2017 and 2018.

This shows us that artificial colors have a negative health component that requires prolonged vigilance, which unfortunately requires animal testing.

So, yes, if you’re a stricter vegan, you may probably want to avoid fortune cookies.

Commercial Vegan Fortune Cookies

Now that we know what we can expect from fortune cookies, allow me to share with you some options I’ve found online. Feel free to check them out if you will.

Golden Bowl Fortune Cookies

The Golden Bowl fortune cookies are sold on Amazon, and according to the listing, these are 100% vegan, nut and dairy-free.

They come in a plastic bag with 100 individually-wrapped fortune cookies, which is a shame because that’s a lot of plastic, to be quite honest.

Twin Dragon Fortune Cookies

While these are not on Amazon.com, they’re available on Amazon.co.uk. Although it doesn’t come in a plastic sack, the fortune cookies are also individually wrapped in plastic.

Here is the list of ingredients: Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine, mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), sugar, water, canola oil, vanilla, flavor, salt, and baking soda.

Again, if you’re a stricter vegan, this one may not be one that you end up buying.

Silk Road Fortune Cookies

The ingredients in these fortune cookies include: Wheat flour, (calcium carbonate, iron, nicotinamide, thiamine), sugar, soya lecithin, dried glucose powder, raising agent: E500, color: riboflavin, vanilla flavoring, rapeseed oil, antioxidant: E304 and E306, emulsifier: E322, and sunflower oil.

In addition to sugar, you can also find vanilla flavoring, which may or may not be vegan. As we’ve mentioned earlier, there’s a chance vanilla flavoring may be created using a substance extracted from beavers, so always keep an eye for that.

Also, this one includes soya lecithin, so if you’re soy-intolerant, this is certainly not for you.

There are more options out there (especially in local supermarkets), but these are the only legitimate options I found online.

Summary: Most Fortune Cookies Are Vegan.

Yes, most of the fortune cookies are suitable for vegans.

However, if you’re a strict vegan and want to be clear of questionable ingredients such as refined sugar, natural & artificial flavorings, and added colors, the fortune cookies may not be for you.

Also, one thing you should keep in mind is… If you’re eating at a restaurant, always ask the waiter (or someone) to confirm the ingredients of the fortune cookies. Restaurants may use eggs in the recipe, or even other animal-based ingredients like milk.

If you’re buying fortune cookies at Walmart, then I’ believe the great majority of them don’t contain animal ingredients.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Refined Sugar: Why It May Not Be Vegan
Previous Post Refined Sugar: Why It May Not Be Vegan
Clif Bars: Which Flavors Are Actually Vegan?
Next Post Clif Bars: Which Flavors Are Actually Vegan?