Are Capri Sun Suitable For Vegans?

Capri Sun is a brand of juice concentrated drinks owned by the Capri Sun Group Holding in Switzerland. This brand was first introduced to the European market in 1969 and has been distributed in the United States since 1981.

Capri Sun is distributed by Kraft Foods in North America, and by The Coca-Cola Company in countries such as Belgium, France, Ireland, Netherlands, and United Kingdom. It is also distributed by other licensed production partners in areas like Asia and South America.

According to the Capri Sun website, the products produced in Germany and the UK are vegan, which means that Capri Sun drinks in Western Europe are vegan. But since Capri Sun is not distributed by the same company to other parts of the world, production mechanisms can change.

So, Is Capri Sun vegan in North America? What about the rest of the world?

Let’s look at the ingredients of Capri Sun sold in North America.

Capri Sun: Ingredients

capri sun
Neitram, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

From what I can tell in websites like Capri Sun (US), and listings on Amazon, the list of ingredients is not any different from the Capri Sun drinks sold in Western Europe.

For instance, here are the ingredients for the Capri Sun Pacific Cooler Juice Drink: 

  • Filtered Water
  • Sugar
  • Apple Juice Concentrate
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavor

A rather simple ingredient list free from artificial colors or preservatives, with no flagrant animal ingredients to ruin its vegan-friendly status. However, as usual, we have to keep in mind that certain ingredients like sugar and “natural flavor” need further inquiring because they may not be vegan, especially in the United States. 

At the same time, it’s important to mention that Capri Sun also sells drinks that don’t contain added sugars since the sugars come naturally from the fruit.

These include Capri Sun drinks such as:

  • Capri Sun Organic
  • Capri Sun 100% Juice
  • Capri Sun Refreshers

Therefore, if you want to avoid questionable ingredients like sugar, opting for these sugar-free Capri Sun drinks might be the best course of action.

Why Should You Avoid Sugar?

Well, there is a chance that sugar in North America (more specifically, the United States) may not be vegan. It turns out some companies use bone char, a property obtained by heating the bones of cattle, which is then used to filter and bleach sugar, giving it its white, immaculate color.

Bone char also removes inorganic impurities such as sulfates, as well as ions of calcium and magnesium that are naturally present in natural sugar.

At the same time, it’s also worth mentioning that some companies also rely on alternatives such as activated charcoal or ion-exchange resins which help achieve the same result as bone char.

However, the issue is that product labels generally don’t disclose that information. So, if you’re heavily against bone char, you don’t have a hassle-free way of knowing whether or not a certain product contains sugar processed with bone char. The only way of having access to that information is by either checking the company’s website or by contacting the company directly.

Let’s hope not, but if Capri Sun is anything like Oreos, then it’s likely that they obtain their sugar from multiple suppliers, including ones that use bone char. That said… if you’re really keen to know that info, the best way is to contact the company by phone or email.

What About Natural Flavors?

Natural flavors are basically flavorings that can be derived from plants or animals.

They appear as “natural flavors” because companies are not required to reveal their source. In some cases, that may result in a company hiding animal ingredients under the “natural flavors” umbrella, which isn’t impossible.

However, I don’t believe Capri Sun beverages contain “natural flavors” derived from an animal source, especially because we’re referring to beverages made from fruits.

Summary: Capri Sun Is Suitable For Vegans

Yes, Capri Sun should be suitable for all vegans. 

Generally, Capri Sun beverages are made of filtered water, juice concentrate, sugar, citric acid, and flavoring. If you’re a stricter vegan and want to avoid refined sugar at all costs (especially if you live in the United States), then you can try other sugar-free variations like:

  • Capri Sun Organic
  • Capri Sun 100% Juice
  • and Capri Sun Refreshers

This being said, Capri Sun beverages are technically considered vegan because they do not contain any animal ingredients or related derivatives.

Thank you for reading, and I hope this blog post has served you well!

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Pop Rocks Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know
Previous Post Are Pop Rocks Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know
Are Nature Valley Bars Vegan? [Ingredient + Flavor Analysis]
Next Post Are Nature Valley Bars Vegan? [Ingredient + Flavor Analysis]