11 Vegan Options You Must Order at Red Robin

11 Vegan Options You Must Order at Red Robin

Red Robin is an American chain of casual dining restaurants that’s been around since 1969, and it’s another great spot for anyone to have a delicious burger, including vegans like you and me.

Fortunately, in April 2019, Red Robin launched two vegetarian burger options on their menu, which you can easily convert to vegan by making a few slight adjustments.

Here are 11 vegan options you should definitely try at Red Robin:

  • Veggie Burger (After a few changes)
  • Impossible Gourmet Burger (After a few changes)
  • Buns (6 varieties)
  • Toppings (18 varieties)
  • Sauces (8 varieties)
  • House Salad (After a few changes(
  • Guac, Salsa, and Chips
  • Fries (3 varieties)
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Apple Slices
  • Drinks (Selection varies by store)

In this short article, we’re going to look at each option individually, and we will also share with you tips that will help elevate your experience at Red Robin, more specifically, we will show you how you can convert some of the vegetarian options into vegan options.

11 Vegan Options at Red Robin

1 – Veggie Burger

veggie burger

The Veggie Burger includes the following ingredients: “a delicious ancient-grain-and-quinoa veggie patty topped with Swiss cheese, lightly fried, Parmesan-sprinkled mushrooms, tomato bruschetta salsa, fresh avocado slices, sun-dried tomato spread, and shredded romaine on a whole grain bun”.

It’s obviously not a vegan option but you can easily make it vegan by removing the Swiss and Parmesan cheeses, and the roasted garlic aioli, which contains eggs. Alternatively, you can replace those ingredients with different toppings like avocado or cilantro. (I’ll list every vegan topping in a second)

2 – Impossible Gourmet Burger

impossible burger

One of the greatest news in 2019 was the fact that Red Robin launched the Impossible Gourmet Burger, which is basically an Impossible patty with pickle relish, red onions, pickles, lettuce, tomatoes, mayo, and typically a cheese of your own choice.

Naturally, if you include the mayo and cheese, that won’t make the burger vegan.

However, you can easily replace those ingredients with different toppings and sauces, and not feel like the essential flavor of the burger is lost by the removal of those ingredients.

Another thing you have to consider is also replacing the buns for these vegan/vegetarian burgers. While the Veggie Burger’s bun is vegan, the Impossible Burger’s bun contains eggs, so you must replace it as well. 

Here’s a quick video of a Youtuber reviewing Red Robin’s Impossible Burger:

3 – Buns

Fortunately, at Red Robin, you can find a decent variety of buns to choose from, including:

  • Ciabatta Bun
  • Cross-Cut Bun
  • Lettuce Wrap
  • Multigrain Bun
  • Spinach Tortilla Wrap
  • Rustic Bread

Since the Impossible Burger’s bun is not vegan, you can choose one of these buns to replace it.

4 – Toppings

We’ve looked at the Veggie Burger and the Impossible Burger and we saw that they both contain animal ingredients that need to be replaced.

Here are 18 vegan toppings you can order to make your vegan burgers more delicious:

  • Arugula
  • Avocado
  • Basil
  • Bruschetta Salsa
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Cilantro
  • Cucumber
  • Garlic (Roasted)
  • Guacamole
  • Jalapeño
  • Lettuce
  • Onion
  • Parsley
  • Red Pepper
  • Pineapple
  • Shredded Romaine
  • Tomato

5 – Sauces

Both the Veggie and Impossible Burger contain non-vegan sauces (roasted garlic aioli & mayo), as such, you can replace them with the vegan-friendly sauces:

  • A-1 Steak Sauce
  • Ghost Chili Ketchup
  • Guacamole
  • Heinz 57 Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Oil & Vinegar Dressing
  • Soybean Salad Oil
  • Yellow Mustard

6 – House Salad

red robin house salad

The House Salad is an option that you will find in most non-vegan restaurants and Red Robin is not any different, but before you go ahead and order, make sure you remove the cheese and croutons.

Also, keep in mind that your choice of dressings is limited to Oil & Vinegar or the Soybean Salad Dressing.

7 – Guacamole, Salsa, And Tortilla Chips

guac, salsa, and chips

The appetizer “Guacamole, Salsa, and Tortilla chips” are vegan.

If you check the allergen menu, you’ll notice that the tortilla chips are not considered vegan because they may be cross-contaminated due to the splashbacks and vapors that go from one fryer to another.

Here’s a reply from a Red Robin’s representative after the Vegetarian Resource Group inquired a bit more about the subject:

“They are cooked in a designated fryer which only cooks our steak fries, Yukon Chips, sweet potato fries, potato hashbrowns, and the corn tortilla chips. However, on our allergen menu due to cross-contact of allergens in the fryer area with splashback, vapors from one fryer to another we can’t guarantee no cross-contact of allergens so we claim all ingredients cooked in any fryer as containing shellfish, fish, wheat, eggs, milk, and soy.”

Frankly, I do not look at splashback and vapors as legitimate reasons for cross-contamination. If the tortilla chips were cooked with the same fryer and oil used to cook chicken, that would be a different story. However, that’s not the case, which is why we must consider the tortilla chips vegan-friendly.

With that being said, if you have some serious allergies to wheat, eggs, shellfish, milk, or soy, then it’s probably a good idea to avoid any fried foods at Red Robin.

8 – Steak Fries, Sweet Potato Fries, Yukon Chips

As I’ve mentioned above, fried items are not considered vegan by Red Robin’s standards. However, upon closer evaluation, we can conclude that their fries, in particular, are vegan as they don’t come directly into contact with other animal foods.

Since I don’t believe the cross-contamination is, in this case, is justified, the steak fries, sweet potato fries, or Yukon chips are all vegan-friendly.

9 – Steamed Broccoli

You can also choose to order broccoli on the side, especially if you prize your health and likely want to ensure you get some useful micronutrients in each meal.

The steamed broccoli should be vegan (normally), but I know of some restaurants that may include butter, so if you’re ordering, ensure that no butter is actually used.

10 – Apple Slices

Another healthy side you can order is Red Robin’s apple slices, which are not available on every location’s menu, but you should be able to order them anyway.

11 – Drinks

Much like every other restaurant, you can also find a wide variety of vegan-friendly drinks, including:

  • Soft Drinks (Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, etc)
  • Sparkling Berry Twist
  • Freckled Lemonade
  • Flavored Iced Tea
  • Very Berry Raspberry Limeade
  • Poppin’ Purple Lemonade
  • Flavored Lemonade
  • Fresh-Brewed Gold Peak Tea
  • Bottled Water

And you’re also able to find adult vegan drinks (or beverages) such as:

  • Beer
  • Wine
  • Canned Cocktails

Be especially careful about the cocktails because some may be made using liquors that contain animal ingredients such as milk and honey.  If you wish to know if a particular brand of alcoholic drink is vegan, be sure to visit Barnivore as they have a huge database with information on all types of beverages.

Related Questions

Are Red Robin Onion Rings Vegan?

No, Red Robin’s onion rings are not vegan because of the breading which is made using milk and eggs. If you’re interested in reading more about onion rings, feel free to read this blog post.

Are Red Robin Pretzel Bites Vegan?

Unfortunately, Red Robin’s Pretzel Bites are not vegan.

Summary

While Red Robin’s Veggie and Impossible Burgers are vegetarian, it’s pretty easy to make them vegan by either removing or replacing certain animal ingredients. You can also choose to make a burger from scratch by choosing the type of bun your prefer, the toppings, sauces, as well as one of the two vegan patties.

Once you order your burger, you can then opt for a side of fries or a healthy side of broccoli or apple slices.

Just because Red Robin is not catering specifically to vegans, you can still have a wonderful vegan meal by being creative and not settling for their “premade” menu options.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Every Vegan Option at Jack in The Box (2021 Update)
Previous Post Every Vegan Option at Jack in The Box (2021 Update)
Is Popcorn Vegan? (Here’s Why it Depends)
Next Post Is Popcorn Vegan? (Here’s Why it Depends)