Is Zotz Candy Suitable for Vegans?

One of the first things brand-new vegans do is quickly find out whether their favorite foods are vegan. In some cases, you immediately know, but for the most part, you have to check the product label.

Naturally, instead of heading off to the grocery store, you might as well ask uncle Google instead.

This being said, if you check the new franchise around the corner, you’re bound to find a lot of non-mainstream products that are vegan. Zotz is one of those products.

Not the most popular product, but it’s one of those marbles that you won’t buy unless you can taste first.

Zotz has a mild sour flavor after you get through the initial explosive fizzing. This is a technically vegan product, but just like any other product, it might have entry barriers for some people.

Introducing: Zotz Candies

Zotz contains a mixture of malic and tartaric acid combined with sodium bicarbonate. On the first bite, the mixture dissolves and a fizzing sensation takes over your taste buds.

I’m not sure if the recipe has changed, but recent reviews suggest the original product took longer to dissolve, which was more satisfying and made the Zotz unique.

Naturally, it all comes down to personal taste, but something appears to have changed over time.

Here’s an interesting video on how Zotz Candies are made:

Zotz flavors include cherry, blue raspberry, grape, apple, watermelon, & orange. All have the same ingredient structure, but the artificial flavors and colorants change depending on the flavor.

Looking at the Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Malic Acid, Sodium Bicarbonate, Tartaric Acid, Artificial Flavors, Artificial Colors, Maltose Carbonate.

Technically, Zotz is vegan.

However, it may be different if you’re against artificial colors.

READ NEXT: Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? (Here’s Why They’re Not)

Why Are Some Vegans Against Artificial Colors?

animal testing
Rabbit in Research for Animal Testing, license CC BY 2.0, via Flickr

At some point, artificial colors used to be tested on animals.

From what I understood, artificial colors are not tested regularly, but they were perfected through animal testing. Still, it was a long process that involved the death (and suffering) of many animals until the winning formula was found.

However, some vegans can’t conform to that idea and feel like artificial colors are rooted in evil. As a result, many are against artificial colors. But let’s also not forget that some colors ARE NOT VEGAN. 

Carmine is a pigment of a bright-red color that is produced by using the scales of bugs. This artificial color is used in foods (like candies), and many other industries such as the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries.

Unfortunately, the Zotz website doesn’t disclose information specific to each flavor, so I don’t know for sure if they use carmine. In any case, I believe this is one of those cases where I can still consider a product vegan.

READ NEXT: Are Sour Punch Straws Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know

Where Can I Find Zotz Candies?

I believe you can find Zotz in most supermarkets (and new franchises).

The most hands-off way of getting Zotz is by buying it in bulk through Amazon, which makes it potentially less expensive. One interesting aspect of getting Zotz through Amazon is that you don’t have to leave your house.

But note that buying “food” from Amazon means you might not get it fresh. Although for the Zotz, the + 600 reviews are pretty much positive, so you don’t have much to worry about.

Let me remind you however that Amazon only allows free shipping for people who order $25 or more.

So it’s only a good idea to order Zotz if you’re ordering something else at the same time.

Of course, if you wanna be a bit crazy and order LOTS of Zotz, you’re free to do so.

READ NEXT: Are Pixy Stix Suitable For Vegans?

Are There Any Alternatives to Zotz?

You can find candies with similar flavors, but I don’t know if the sensations are the same. But I believe the list of candies that explode in your mouth is still considerable.

Some dissolve and disappear, and others pop and are gum-like.

Here’s a list of brands you can look at (in case you find Zotz in your nearest supermarket):

  • Razzles (May or may not be vegan)
  • Wack-o-Wax Lips
  • Pop Rocks (contain lactose)

The list could be longer, but I’m not sure if some are still commercially available. In any case, Zotz is the only fizzy candies I know for sure are vegan.

READ NEXT: Are Atomic Fireballs Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know

In Conclusion

Zotz are vegan but they contain artificial colors; which some vegans are heavily against due to animal testing.

Fortunately, If I’m correct, animal testing is no longer conducted for that purpose, so animals are no longer suffering.

However, I respect those who don’t want to consume artificial colors, because they were ultimately perfect through animal suffering. In any case, Zotz can be technically considered vegan, even though colorants are a byproduct of animal cruelty.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Rice Krispies Actually Vegan? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)
Previous Post Are Rice Krispies Actually Vegan? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)
A Comprehensive Guide To A Conscious Vegan Lifestyle
Next Post A Comprehensive Guide To A Conscious Vegan Lifestyle