Is White Claw Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)

Is White Claw Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)

White Claw is a beverage made from a blend of seltzer water, a gluten-free alcohol base, and fruit flavor. It has about 9 different varieties, including black cherry, ruby grapefruit, lime, raspberry, mango, lemon, tangerine, watermelon, and the original unflavored (“Pure Hard Seltzer”) variety.

It is the top-selling hard seltzer in the United States, and it dominates 60% of the market, which means that there will certainly be vegans wondering if this drink is safe to consume.

White Claw is suitable for vegans because none of the flavors contain animal ingredients. Though, it’s important to mention that White Claw contains cane sugar, a controversial ingredient within the vegan community.

Plus, given that the beverage is lightly pasteurized, it’s not something that vegans following a raw vegan diet can consume.

White Claw is suitable for vegans

Technically, White Claw is vegan because it doesn’t contain animal ingredients.

If you look at the components in each White Claw flavor, you’ll be able to note that this beverage is basically a combination of purified carbonated water, alcohol, refined sugar, and natural flavors.

Still, as we’ve mentioned in the introduction, there’s an issue with refined sugar, especially for products manufactured in the United States.

Related: Are Natural Flavors Actually Vegan?

Why is sugar a controversial ingredient?

Two types of sugar are commonly included in all sorts of products sold worldwide: sugar derived from sugar cane and sugar derived from beets. 

They both have a similar taste and texture, but they’re processed very differently.

Beet sugar is processed through a diffuser and mixed with additives to crystallize, but cane sugar, in a lot of cases, is processed, filtered, and bleached with a property called bone char.

What is bone char?

Bone char is basically what you obtain from heating the bones of cattle at really high temperatures until they disintegrate and a black powder is left. This black powder acts as a decolorizing agent that removes a lot of the inorganic impurities naturally present in sugar.

This being said, bone char is not used by every supplier, since there are a lot of them that use cruelty-free alternatives such as ion-exchange resins and activated charcoal.

According to the research we have done, there’s no evidence suggesting that White Claw’s pool of sugar suppliers use bone char in their filtering processes. For that reason, White Claw is vegan.

This was also affirmed by Barnivore, a trustworthy directory of vegan beverages that directly contacts brands like White Claw to obtain all the information.

Related: Is Sugar Really Vegan?

Related Questions

Is White Claw gluten-free?

For those with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, or for those who just prefer to avoid gluten because they feel better without it, all White Claw drinks are 100% gluten-free. The alcohol in White Claw (and other hard seltzers) comes from fermented sugar, which means it’s okay for those with gluten sensitivity to consume.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Tia Maria Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)
Previous Post Is Tia Maria Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)
How to Order Vegan at Pei Wei (Updated in 2021)
Next Post How to Order Vegan at Pei Wei (Updated in 2021)