Is Trident Gum Vegan? (Beware Of This Ingredient)

Trident revolutionized the gum industry by being the first patented sugarless gum with three enzymes to combat tartar formation on teeth, eventually becoming the number one chewing gum brand in the world. 

In 1964, they ran a powerfully persuasive campaign with the slogan “The Great Taste That’s Good For Your Teeth.”, which seemed to gain a lot of traction at the time.

Aside from Trident Vibes, Trident Splash, and Trident Layer, which contain gelatin, most Trident gum lines are vegan.

In this article, we’re going to break down each Trident product and its respective ingredients, giving you a more in-depth view of what products are actually vegan.

Breaking Down Each Trident Gum

According to their official website, Trident has different product lines, including Classic Trident, Trident Vibes, Trident Fresh, Trident White, Trident Layers, Trident Unwrapped, and Trident Splashed. 

Let’s have an in-depth look at the products in each product line and determine which ones are vegan and which ones contain animal ingredients. 

Trident Classic

trident classic

Trident Classic is the original line, and it’s also the one with the widest variety of flavors, including:

  • Spearmint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, natural and artificial flavor, glycerin, acesulfame potassium aspartame, BHT, blue 1 lake, mannitol, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Original Flavor

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor; acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Tropical Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, citric acid, glycerin, malic acid, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake, yellow 6 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Cinnamon

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor; acesulfame potassium, BHT, mannitol, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Watermelon Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavor, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, citric acid, glycerin, malic acid, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Passionfruit Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, Red 40, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide, sunset yellow FCF.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Dragon Fruit Lychee

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Bubblegum

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Perfect Peppermint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, mannitol, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Mint Bliss

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavors, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 2 lake, mannitol, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Minty Sweet Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1 lake, mannitol, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Wintergreen

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor; acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Pineapple Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavoring, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, soy lecithin, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Island Berry Lime

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide, yellow 6 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Black Raspberry Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 2 lake, red 40 lake, soy lecithin.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Strawberry Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, red 40 lake, soy lecithin.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Splashing Mint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural And artificial flavoring, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1 lake, pectin, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Wild Blueberry Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 2 lake, mannitol, red 40 lake, soy lecithin.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Passionberry Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, natural and artificial flavoring, glycerin, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, soy lecithin, yellow 5 lake, yellow 6 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Purely Trident Peppermint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, natural menthol flavor, natural mint flavor, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Purely Trident Spearmint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, natural menthol flavor, natural mint flavor, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

Every Trident Classic flavor is vegan, with no exceptions. 

Trident Vibes

trident vibes

Trident Vibes has a light crystal coating for extra pops of flavor as it’s being chewed. 

So far there are four different flavors, including:

  • Sour Berry Twist

Ingredients: xylitol, gum base, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavor, citric acid, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, blue 1, blue 1 lake, gelatin, malic acid, maltitol syrup, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, yellow 5.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Tropical Beat

Ingredients: xylitol, gum base, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavor, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, maltitol, red 40, gelatin, soy lecithin, yellow 6 lake.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Spearmint Rush

Ingredients: xylitol, gum base, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, blue 1, blue 1 lake, gelatin, maltitol, soy lecithin, yellow 5, yellow 5 lake.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Peppermint Wave

Ingredients: xylitol, gum base, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavor, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, blue 1, blue 1 lake, gelatin, maltitol, soy lecithin.

Status: not suitable for vegans

None of the Trident Vibes flavors are vegan, solely because they contain gelatin. 

Trident Fresh

trident fresh

Trident Fresh is a product line that is intended to provide a refreshing sensation while also assisting you in the elimination of bad breath.

Thus far, there are two flavors available:

  • Spearmint Cool with Cucumber Accents

Ingredients: maltitol, gum base, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavor, erythritol, maltitol syrup, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1, blue 1 lake, candelilla wax, gelatin, glycerin, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide, xylitol, yellow 5, yellow 5 lake.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Peppermint Infusion with Herbal Accents

Ingredients: maltitol, gum base, sorbitol, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavor, erythritol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1, blue 1 lake, candelilla wax, gelatin, glycerin, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide, xylitol, yellow 5, yellow 5 lake.

Status: not suitable for vegans

None of the available flavors are suitable for vegans due to the presence of gelatin. 

Trident White

trident white

Trident White was developed with one thing in mind: keeping your teeth white by preventing stains.

There are 6 flavors of Trident White, namely:

  • Peppermint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, maltitol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, glycerin, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, candelilla wax, sodium stearate, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Spearmint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, maltitol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, glycerin, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, candelilla wax, sodium stearate, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Minty Bubble

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, maltitol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, glycerin, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, candelilla wax, sodium stearate, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Microcrystals

Ingredients: isomalt, gum base, maltitol, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavoring, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, candelilla wax, glycerin, sodium stearate, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Wintergreen

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, maltitol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, candelilla wax, glycerin, sodium stearate, titanium dioxide.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Cool Rush

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, maltitol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavoring, acacia, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, candelilla wax, glycerin, sodium stearate, titanium dioxide.

Status: suitable for vegans

All of the flavors in the Trident Fresh product line are vegan. 

Trident Layers

trident layers

Trident Layers is a product line that typically has two different flavors per gum, as evidenced by the layers of different colors on the gum.

There are currently 4 flavors available, including:

  • Cherry + Lime

Ingredients: gum base, maltitol, maltitol syrup, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavoring, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, blue 1, gelatin, partially hydrogenated coconut oil, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, titanium dioxide, yellow 5.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Strawberry + Citrus

Ingredients: gum base, maltitol, maltitol syrup, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavoring, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, gelatin, partially hydrogenated coconut oil, red 40, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, and sucralose.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Grape + Lemonade

Ingredients: maltitol, gum base, maltitol syrup, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavor, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, gelatin, partially hydrogenated coconut oil, soy lecithin, sucralose, blue 2 lake, red 40 lake, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Watermelon + Tropical Fruit

Ingredients: maltitol, gum base, maltitol syrup, sorbitol, natural and artificial flavoring, mannitol, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, blue 1 lake, gelatin, partially hydrogenated coconut oil, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

Unfortunately, none of the flavors are vegan due to the presence of gelatin, which is an unmistakenly cruel ingredient. 

Trident Unwrapped

trident unwrapped

Trident Unwrapped is also a product line that focuses on freshening breath and protecting your teeth, containing 30% less sugar than regular Trident gums. 

This product line has 5 different flavors, including:

  • Original

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium aspartame, BHT, hydrogenated coconut oil, mannitol, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Spearmint

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1 lake, hydrogenated coconut oil, mannitol, soy lecithin, sucralose, yellow 5 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Tropical Twist

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavoring, acesulfame, potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, partially hydrogenated coconut oil, soy lecithin, yellow 5 lake, yellow 6 lake.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Cinnamon

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, BHT, mannitol, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

  • Bubblegum

Ingredients: sorbitol, gum base, xylitol, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, mannitol, red 40 lake, soy lecithin, sucralose.

Status: suitable for vegans

None of the products in the Trident Unwrapped product line contain animal ingredients, which means they’re all suitable for vegans. 

Trident Splashed

trident splash

Trident Splash is a sugar-free gum with a crunchy punch and an indulgent liquid-filled center that floods your mouth with flavor on the first bite.

There are only 2 flavors of Trident Splash, namely: 

  • Peppermint Swirl

Ingredients: maltitol, gum base, maltitol syrup, sorbitol, glycerin, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, BHT, blue 1, candelilla wax, gelatin, lecithin, natural and artificial flavoring, soy lecithin, titanium dioxide, xanthan gum.

Status: not suitable for vegans

  • Strawberry with Lime

Ingredients: maltitol, gum base, sorbitol, maltitol syrup, glycerin, natural and artificial flavoring, acesulfame potassium, aspartame, blue 1, candelilla wax, gelatin, soy lecithin, titanium dioxide, xanthan gum, yellow 5.

Status: not suitable for vegans

None of the flavors in the Trident Splash line are vegan because they contain gelatin. 

So, Is Trident Gum Vegan?

While many Trident products are vegan, some contain gelatin, specifically those from the Trident Vibes, Trident Fresh, Trident Layers, and Trident Splashed product lines.

Additionally, most Trident products contain artificial flavors and colors, which some vegans may regard as controversial ingredients due to their association with animal testing. 

Gelatin

Gelatin is not a vegan ingredient, and it is not even vegetarian because it is derived from pigs and cattle.

Though it may sound harsh, the process of making gelatin begins by boiling collagen-containing animal body parts such as connective tissues, ligaments, bones, and so on.

To replace gelatin, manufacturers might use pectin, which is a polysaccharide starch that occurs naturally in the cell walls of most fruits and vegetables.

Unfortunately, Trident still relies heavily on gelatin, so some of its products are not vegan. 

Are Artificial Colors Vegan?

Trident products contain a variety of artificial colors, such as red 40, yellow 5, blue 1, and so on. However, these ingredients are a source of contention in the vegan community.

Artificial colors are either made in commercial labs from isolated chemicals or derived from a byproduct of petroleum, which would lead anyone to think that they’re vegan. 

Having said that, there is a significant ethical issue because these artificially made colors appear to be routinely tested on animals, which contradicts veganism. They are not tested by the manufacturers, but by researchers to prove and monitor their safety regularly.

While each artificial ingredient used to have to be routinely tested, that is no longer the case because some are now evidently proven to be safe. Such is the case with aspartame, which is a sweetener that also happens to be present in Trident gums.

The difference between aspartame and artificial colors, on the other hand, is that artificial colors have been linked to one or more serious health side effects. Some are even prohibited in Europe. As such, they are routinely tested and it’s possible to find recent studies where they’ve conducted experiments using mice.  

As a result, some vegans are opposed to consuming artificial colors; however, this is a touchy subject, and not every vegan holds the same opinion.

Conclusion

Chewing gums generally have a bunch of different ingredients, and while you may find that most gums are suitable for vegans, some might contain ingredients such as gelatin and carmine (food color). Fortunately, a lot of Trident gums are vegan, but it still helps to check the ingredients list as formulations may change across different countries. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Cellulose Gum Vegan? Here’s Where It Comes From
Previous Post Is Cellulose Gum Vegan? Here’s Where It Comes From
Is Baileys Vegan? (Nope, But There Was An Exception)
Next Post Is Baileys Vegan? (Nope, But There Was An Exception)