Is There Milk In Yoohoo? Here’s Everything You Need To Know

Yoohoo has been around for a while, and whilst many believe that Yoohoo is a milk-chocolate drink, that was never really the case, as it was mostly made with water, not milk. However, things seem to have changed. 

Yoohoo now contains several milk derivatives, including whey, nonfat dry milk, and sodium caseinate, a compound derived from casein, a protein present in the milk of mammals. So, yes, Yoohoo contains milk. 

In this article, we’ll tell you pretty much all you need to know about Yoohoo. 

What Is Yoohoo?

yoohoo
Jason Gaudet, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Yoo-hoo is a chocolate-flavored beverage invented by Natale Olivieri in Garfield, New Jersey in 1928 and manufactured by Keurig Dr. Pepper. 

In 1995, Yoo-hoo began adding new flavors to its lineup, including chocolate-coconut, chocolate-mint, chocolate-banana, and chocolate-strawberry. Vanilla, strawberry, cookies & cream, chocolate peanut butter, and chocolate caramel are among Yoohoo’s other flavors. The flavors Double Fudge, Banana, and Island Coconut were discontinued.

As of early February 2019, Yoo-hoo is made from water, high fructose corn syrup, whey, and less than 2% of the following: cocoa (alkali process), nonfat dry milk, natural and artificial flavors, sodium caseinate, corn syrup solids, calcium phosphate, dipotassium phosphate, palm oil, guar gum, xanthan gum, mono and diglycerides, salt, spice, and soy lecithin. 

Is There Milk In Yoohoo?

Unfortunately, if you’re someone with a milk allergy or lactose intolerance, you wouldn’t want to consume Yoohoo because it contains ingredients such as whey, nonfat dry milk, and sodium caseinate, which are derived from milk. 

Given that it’s an old chocolate-flavored beverage, it’s usually expected to find milk or any other ingredient derived from milk, as other alternatives weren’t as relevant back in the day. 

With that being said, Yoohoo doesn’t appear to be planning to launch a dairy-free alternative, so if you want a proper alternative, I would recommend looking at brands such as Ripple, Owyn, and Evolve, which devise chocolate beverages with plant-based alternatives.

Is Yoohoo Vegan?

No, since it contains dairy ingredients such as whey, nonfat dry milk, and sodium caseinate, Yoohoo is not suitable for vegans.

However, if you’re less strict with your diet and consider yourself a vegetarian, then you can probably consume the Yoohoo chocolate beverage as most vegetarians consume dairy unless there’s some sort of allergy or intolerance. 

Is Yoohoo Gluten-Free?

Yes, Yoohoo is gluten-free as it doesn’t contain any ingredients derived from wheat, rye, spelt, barley, oats, and other gluten-containing cereals. 

Additionally, there’s no warning on the label suggesting that Yoohoo and its respective ingredients are processed in a facility that handles gluten, which means it should be safe for people with a gluten allergy. 

How Long Does Yoohoo Last? Can It Go Bad?

Based on a picture we’ve found online, their cardboard drinks come with a “best by date”, which means that optimally you should have to drink it before the specified date.  

According to reports we’ve found online, this “best by date” usually lasts one year from the time of purchase. 

However, we’ve also noticed online some people claiming that Yoohoo did not have a “best by date” or “expiration date” in the past, and that was apparently because the drink was pasteurized in containers and wouldn’t spoil as long as the container wasn’t opened. 

Additionally, it wasn’t until recently that Yoohoo changed their recipe and started including whey in their product, so that may have led to them adding a “best by date” to their product. 

Is Yoohoo Bad For You?

Even though Yoohoo does advertise its drinks as a “good source of vitamins and minerals”, that doesn’t mean the drinks they sell are healthy. 

In fact, Yoohoo is not healthy by any stretch of the imagination as it contains unhealthy amounts of sugar, so it’s not something that you should be consuming on a frequent basis.

The effects of added sugar intake (which is the type of sugar you’ll find in such drinks) can include higher blood pressure, inflammation, weight gain, diabetes, and fatty liver disease— which are all linked to an increased risk for heart attack and stroke. 

Additionally, most of the sugar in Yoohoo comes from high fructose corn syrup, which is quite common in sodas and fruit-flavored drinks. While it’s still conjectured at this point, it seems that since the use of high fructose corn syrup has increased, levels of obesity and related health problems have also increased. 

Therefore, if you can avoid it, try not to consume too much Yoohoo, as it contains unhealthy amounts of sugar.

Is Yoohoo Carbonated?

Yoo-hoo is not a fizzy drink. It is available in the form of a bottle, can, or drink box. There is no carbonation or fizz that takes place when you open one of these containers.

However, we can understand why people would be confused as it’s not common to see a non-fizzy drink being supplied in a can, as that’s more typical with fizzy drinks such as Coke, 7up, Fanta, etc.

Conclusion

Yoohoo is a milky drink as it contains dairy ingredients such as whey, nonfat dry milk, and sodium caseinate, so if you have lactose intolerance or you’re allergic to dairy, it’s not a drink you should be drinking.

According to Yoohoo’s Wikipedia page, they have changed their recipe in 2019 to include whey, which means that milk is now one of the main ingredients in Yoohoo, unlike before, when it was less than 2% of the drink. 

If you want dairy-free alternatives to Yoohoo, you should look at brands such as Ripple, Owyn, and Evolve, as those are known for creating chocolate-flavored drinks with plant-based beverages. You should be able to find Ripple in places such as Target or Walmart, and you can for sure find it online at Amazon. 

These brands will also typically contain less sugar than dairy-based drinks, as they make an effort to market themselves as healthier brands by cutting back on added sugars and weird fillers. 

With that being said, they’re still not 100% healthy, as sugar is still an important component in these drinks because it’s the flavor that tends to attract consumers to these brands. 

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for over five years! I've set up this blog because I'm passionate about veganism and living a more spiritually fulfilling life where I'm more in tune with nature. Hopefully, I can use Vegan Foundry as a channel to help you out on your own journey!