Is Naked Juice Vegan? Here’s What I Learned From My Research

Is Naked Juice Vegan? Here’s What I Learned From My Research

Naked Juice is an American brand that produces juices and smoothies, however, it’s owned by PepsiCo. and operates as its subsidiary.

The name “Naked Juice” comes from the fact their products don’t have artificial flavors, added sugar, and preservatives, which is not indicative of a vegan product, but it’s a good sign. 

Th Naked Juice product line comprises over 20 fresh drinks, including fruit juices, smoothies, protein smoothies, and other beverages like coconut water. I did some research and found out that most Naked Juice products are suitable for vegans, including the Indulgent Protein line, but other products such as the Naked Plus Protein, Tropical Mango Probiotics, and the Power D and Rainbow Machines contain animal ingredients. 

In this article, I provide you with information on why some of these products are not vegan, even though some of them don’t contain recognizable animal ingredients. 

Naked Juice: Non-Vegan Products

Here are the non-vegan products within the Naked Juice line:

Name:  Animal Ingredients: 
Vitamin D Machine Vitamin D3 (lanolin) 
Rainbow Machine Vitamin D3 (lanolin) 
Protein Tropical Milk
Protein Greens Milk
Protein Double Berry Milk
Probiotics Tropical Mango Bacteria derived from Milk

I got this information from Naked Juice’s official website and something I found relevant was that the nutritional data for each product got updated on March 12, 2021, so products that once contained animal ingredients are now suitable for vegans, with a good example being the Half Naked line. 

Another product that used to have animal ingredients was the Power-C Machine, but that’s no longer the case. 

Thus, at present, the only non-vegan Naked Juice products are the ones I’ve listed on the table above, but it’s still important to emphasize that recipes might change at a moment’s notice so you must always check the label. 

Recommended Read: Is Ocean Spray Cranberry Juice Vegan?

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D synthesis is a multi-stage process that starts with 7-dehydrocholesterol extracted from the lanolin found in greasy sheep’s wool. It gets irradiated with a high-intensity light to form vitamin D and then heated to form the final product that is vitamin D3.

lanolin

Most food products contain vitamin D3 extracted from lanolin, unless the manufacturer suggests differently, but vegan vitamin D3 (which derives from lichen) is difficult to come across, unless it’s in supplement form, so if you see vitamin D3 in a food product – always question it. 

Unfortunately, the vitamin D3 present in some Naked Juice products is not vegan, but only a few products have it.

Recommended Read: Can Vegans Drink Sprite? Here’s What You Need To Know! 

Milk

While the Naked Protein line is fruit-flavored, the manufacturer increased its protein quantity by adding soy protein isolate and whey protein concentrate, an ingredient extracted from milk.

With this combination, Naked Juice basically added 30 grams of protein to the product. 

The good news is that Naked Juice also has a Naked Plant Protein line with two flavors: blueberry banana and peach mango, and an Indulgent (sweet) Protein line also with two flavors: vanilla and chocolate. 

Even if you can’t drink the original Naked Protein like, the others are equally delicious and protein-packed.

Recommended Read: Are Monster Energy Drinks Suitable For Vegans?

Is The Tropical Mango Probiotic Smoothie Really Not Vegan?

According to the information shared by Naked Juice, the Tropical Mango Probiotic Smoothie is not vegan, which is not obvious at first because the product doesn’t have any recognizable animal ingredients. 

However, I suspect the issue is with bifidobacterium – gut-friendly bacteria that inhabit the gastrointestinal tract, vagina and mouth of mammals, including humans. 

Naked Juice may have isolated the bifidobacterium from a mammal, making the product not vegan. Still, I have been trying to contact Naked Juice about this issue and I’m still waiting for more information. 

Recommended Read: Top 9 Vegan Probiotics For Optimal Health

Vegan Naked Juice Products

As we’ve mentioned, most Naked Juice products are vegan, which is not surprising, considering that this company is known for creating juice blends and smoothies. 

The table below provides you with all the different vegan products you can choose from:

Product line: Vegan Flavors/Variety
Half Naked Watermelon with Passion Fruit, Lively Greens.
Machines Green, Blue, Red, Power C.
Fruit & Veggie Tropical Guava, Strawberry Banana, Mighty Mango, Pina Colada, Orange Mango, O-J, Berry Blast, Orange Carrot, Kale Blazer, Bright Beets, Berrie Veggie.
Naked Plus Orange Carrot Mango, Blueberry Banana, Peach Mango.
Coconut Water N/A

Summary

Most Naked Juice products are suitable for vegans, excluding Vitamin D and Rainbow Machine, Protein Tropical, Greens, and Double Berry, and finally the Tropical Mango Probiotics. 

Unfortunately, some of these products contain ingredients like vitamin D3 and milk. 

The good news is that you have plenty of Naked Juice products that are vegan, including ones that are packed with protein – assuming that’s a variety you might enjoy. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Jaffa Cakes Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)
Previous Post Are Jaffa Cakes Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)
Performance Lab Omega 3 Review – An Awesome Fish Oil Alternative?
Next Post Performance Lab Omega 3 Review – An Awesome Fish Oil Alternative?