Is Magnum Vegan? (Check Out These Vegan Flavors)

Magnum is a Belgian brand of ice cream that was originally developed and produced by Frisko, which was formerly part of the Unilever multinational. 

With that being said, the ice cream we know today as Magnum was developed in Sheffield (UK) in the 1980s by Neal Lawrence, the technical director of Frisko at the time. 

Nowadays, Magnum has a variety of flavors available, including almond, double chocolate, double caramel, white chocolate, double raspberry, and more. 

Is Magnum vegan? Magnum is not a vegan brand since most of its ice creams contain dairy ingredients, however, due to the impressive growth of the vegan movement, Magnum launched its first vegan ice cream in 2018. 

What Vegan Magnum Flavors Are There?

magnum ice creams

Currently, Magnum has three different vegan flavors: classic chocolate, almond, and sea salt caramel. 

Obviously, none of these flavors contain animal ingredients, but they may still contain milk due to cross-contamination, as it appears they are made in the same facilities as the non-vegan ice creams.

Therefore, for some stricter vegans, it’s possible that these Magnum ice creams are not vegan at all, even though they might have “vegan” stamped on the label. 

Anyway, let’s look at the ingredients in each vegan Magnum flavor. 

The classic vegan Magnum contains:

  • Water, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, glucose syrup, coconut oil, glucose-fructose syrup, pea protein, flavorings, emulsifiers (sunflower lecithin, E471), exhausted vanilla bean pieces, stabilizers (E412, E410, E407), salt, and color (E160a).

The almond vegan Magnum contains:

  • Water, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, glucose syrup, coconut oil, almonds, glucose-fructose syrup, pea protein, flavorings, emulsifiers (sunflower lecithin, E471), exhausted vanilla bean pieces, stabilizers (E412, E410, E407), salt, and color (E160a). 

The sea salt caramel vegan Magnum contains:

  • Water, sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, glucose syrup, coconut oil, glucose-fructose syrup, caramelized sugar syrup (4%), pea protein, emulsifiers (sunflower lecithins, E471), sea salt (0.25%), stabilizers (E412, E410), and flavoring.

Fortunately, there are no flagrant animal ingredients in these products, which means that any vegan can safely consume them without worrying about a potential act of cruelty. 

Should You Eat A Vegan Magnum Even Though It’s Owned By Unilever?

One question we sometimes get is whether or not vegans should purchase products from a company that is heavily involved in animal cruelty. 

This is because some vegans might feel as though buying food from such companies is the same as supporting them — because their profits will continue to be spent on animal products. 

With that being said, others might not view it the same. If we were to solely purchase products from “ethical” sellers, our options would be severely limited, particularly when you consider that products such as coffee, cocoa, and textiles are often attained at the expense of local communities being exploited by large companies for maximum profit.

Another way to look at it is that by buying vegan products from big companies, you’re incentivizing these companies to launch even more vegan products which will surely have a bigger impact on the planet and the animals themselves. 

Also, I think there’s a really wide spectrum of ethical definitions, for instance, you might find vegans that accept food prepared on the same grill or in the same oil as meat products. The reason for that being the principle of their veganism is to not harm animals. Therefore, unless they actually eat meat (by their own choice), they are not choosing to harm an animal, regardless of any arbitrary cross-contamination of their food.

So like the issue above, I also think that choosing from which companies to buy is a personal choice, and you should make that decision once you figure out what is more ethically or morally acceptable for you. 

How Many Calories In A Vegan Magnum?

Depending on the vegan flavor, you might be able to find a different number of calories.

For instance, one bar of classic vegan Magnum contains 234 calories, whilst one bar of almond vegan Magnum contains 248 calories.

Compared to the respective non-vegan flavors, the vegan flavors seem to contain a slightly higher number of calories. 

Does Vegan Magnum Contain Soya?

Fortunately, if you’re someone that wishes to avoid soya, none of the vegan Magnum flavors contains any soya. You’re able to find ingredients like pea protein, vanilla, or sunflower lecithin, but no soy-based ingredients. 

Summary

Whilst Magnum is not a vegan brand because most of its products contain dairy ingredients, they have launched three flavors of vegan ice creams.

This just goes to show how big the vegan movement is becoming as it’s influencing decision-making in powerful companies such as Unilever.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

What Is Sauerkraut And Is It Vegan?
Previous Post What Is Sauerkraut And Is It Vegan?
What Is Vegan At Hungry Jacks? (Updated Guide)
Next Post What Is Vegan At Hungry Jacks? (Updated Guide)