Is Louisiana Hot Sauce Vegan? Here’s All You Have To Know

Louisiana hot sauce is a brand of hot sauce manufactured in New Iberia, Louisiana by The Original Louisiana Hot Sauce company, which is owned by Summit Hill Foods. 

Their hot sauces are typically prepared using aged cayenne peppers, which undergo an aging process for a minimum of one year before being combined with vinegar and salt, and left to ferment. 

Is Louisiana Hot Sauce Vegan? 

According to the official website of the ‘Louisiana brand, most of their products are suitable for vegans, except for the ones that contain added sugars. 

Lousiana hot sauce FAQ page

Unfortunately, it is a practice in the United States for sugar suppliers to use a property called “bone char” to bleach and purify their sugar, giving it a white, pristine color. 

According to PETA, bone char is made from the bones of cattle from countries like Afghanistan, Argentina, India, and Pakistan. The bones are sold to traders in Scotland, Egypt, and Brazil who then re-sell them to sugar companies in the United States.

bone char

Bone char is obtained by heating the bones of cattle at high temperatures until they eventually turn into a black charcoal-like powder, which is then used as a decolorizing and deashing agent. 

The good news is that it’s falling out of use, particularly in the United States and Europe, for economic reasons but also due to the concerns of vegetarians and vegans, as well as various religious groups.

With that being said, Lousiana doesn’t seem to use that much sugar in their products, in fact, I’ve only found a product in which they’ve used sugar. 

Which Lousiana Hot Sauces Are Vegan?

Fortunately, most Louisiana hot sauces are suitable for vegans, including:

  • The Original Louisiana Hot Sauce
  • Habanero
  • Chipotle
  • Red Chili
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Roaster Pepper
  • Jalapeno
  • Hotter Than Hot
  • and the Louisiana 1928 Bourbon Barrel.

The only non-vegan hot sauce is the sweet heat with honey, which clearly contains honey (a non-vegan ingredient) and refined sugar, which the brand has advised against. 

Other than this one product, all others are completely vegan, as they only contain plant-based ingredients.

Other Vegan Hot Sauces

There are some amazing hot sauces out there besides the ones from the Louisiana brand.

Some vegan brands include:

This popular brand has four different types of hot sauce, namely the red hot sauce, habanero hot sauce, super hot sauce, and spicy yellow hot sauce.

Also a rather popular brand, Cholula also offers a variety of hot sauces, including their Original hot sauce, chili garlic, chili lime, chipotle, green pepper, and sweet habanero.  

Yellowbird is also a brand that has several types of hot sauces, namely ghost pepper, blue agave sriracha, habanero, jalapeño, and serrano.

Heartbeat seems to offer four different flavors such as jalapeño, habanero, pineapple, and blueberry. 

Like Heartbeat, Siete also offers four flavors, including chipotle, habanero, jalapeño, and their traditional hot sauce flavor. 

Conclusion

Most hot sauces are generally vegan, as they typically get their characteristic flavor from peppers, which are then mixed with ingredients such as vinegar and salt.

Some hot sauces might have a more complex recipe, but they typically stick to plant-based ingredients, with a few exceptions here and there. 

Fortunately, the Louisiana hot sauces are mostly suitable for vegans, except for the Sweet Heat with Honey, which obviously contains honey, a non-vegan ingredient. Other than this particular flavor, there’s nothing else you should be worrying about. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

One Strange Reason Clementines May Have Brown Spots Inside
Previous Post One Strange Reason Clementines May Have Brown Spots Inside
Is Buffalo Sauce Vegan? Here’s All You Have To Know
Next Post Is Buffalo Sauce Vegan? Here’s All You Have To Know