Is Kashi Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)

Is Kashi Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)

Have you recently gone vegan and are looking for plant-based meal for breakfast? Well, Kashi is a brand that combines plant-based, nutritious, and simple ingredients to make cereal, bars, waffle, and other plant-based products fit for breakfast.

Kashi is a vegan-friendly brand, since they have a wide selection of products that are suitable for vegans. In addition, many of their products are Non-GMO Certified, and some ingredients are organic.

However, you can find some exceptions, so even though Kashi is a vegan-friendly brand, they still have a few products that contain ingredients derived from animals.

In this article, we are going to pinpoint which products are vegan, and we will also figure out which products are not vegan and why that is the case. 

Which Kashi Products Are Vegan?

Kashi cinnamon crisp

The good news for vegans is that most Kashi products don’t have any animal ingredients, nor ingredients that are questionable because of their origin or how they’re processed. 

Kashi divides their products in three categories:

  • Kashi GO (includes cereals and waffles)
  • Kashi (includes cereals, bars, entrees, and waffles)
  • Kashi By Kids (Only includes cereals)

They have roughly 50 products across the aforementioned categories, and we will first identify the ones you can eat without feeling guilty. 

The following products don’t have animal ingredients:

  • Kashi GO Toasted Berry Crisp
  • Kashi GO Chocolate Crunch
  • Kashi GO Peanut Butter Crunch
  • Kashi GO Cinnamon Crisp
  • Kashi GO Coconut Almond Crunch
  • Kashi GO Dark Cocoa
  • Kashi GO Cinnamon Vanilla
  • Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Cinnamon Harvest
  • Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Island Vanilla
  • Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Berry Fruitful
  • Kashi Organic Blueberry Clusters Cereal
  • Kashi Cinnamon French Toast Cereal
  • Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Autumn Wheat
  • Kashi Organic Strawberry Fields Cereal
  • Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Dark Cocoa Karma
  • Kashi By Kids Berry Super Loops
  • Kashi By Kids Chocolate Super Loops
  • Kashi By Kids Cinnamon Super Loops
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Dark Mocha Almond
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Chocolate Almond Sea Salt
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Chocolate Chip Chia
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Cherry Dar Chocolate
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Peanut Butter
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Trail Mix
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Kashi Soft Baked Breakfast Bars, Chocolate
  • Kashi Creamy Cashew Noodle Bowl
  • Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake Plant-Powered Bowl
  • Kashi Sweet Potato Quinoa Bowl
  • Kashi Chimichurri Quinoa Bowl
  • Kashi Gluten-Free Waffles, Original
  • Kashi Gluten-Free Waffles, Cinammon
  • Kashi Waffles, Blueberry
  • Kashi Waffles, 7-Grain

Why Aren’t All Kashi Products Vegan?

Kashi GO Honey

Some Kashi products contain animal ingredients, including:

  • Honey
  • Eggs
  • and Milk (which includes Whey Protein)

They’re all ingredients that are by-products of animal exploitation, and according to the most up-to-date definition of veganism, they can’t be considered vegan. 

These are the products that contain the aforementioned animal ingredients:

  • Kashi GO Honey Almond Flax Crunch (Honey)
  • Kashi GO Crunch (Honey)
  • Kashi GO Original (Honey)
  • Kashi GO Protein Waffles, Wild Blueberry (Eggs)
  • Kashi GO Protein Waffles, Cinnamon Brown Sugar (Eggs)
  • Kashi GO Protein Waffles, Vanilla Buttermilk (Eggs)
  • Kashi Organic Warm Cinnamon Oat Cereal (Honey)
  • Kashi Organic Honey Toasted Oat Cereal (Honey)
  • Kashi Soft Baked Breakfast Bars, Mixed Berry (Honey)
  • Kashi Soft Baked Breakfast Bars, Ripe Strawberry (Honey)
  • Kashi Layered Granola Bars, Dark Chocolate Coconut (Honey & Organic Skim Milk)
  • Kashi Chewy Granola Bars, Honey Almond Flax (Honey)
  • Kashi Grain Free Granola Bars, Coconut Almond (Honey) 
  • Kashi Grain Free Granola Bars, Peanut Butter Chocolate (Honey)

Controversial Ingredients

Besides the flagrant animal ingredients (such as honey, milk, and eggs), Kashi products also contain questionable ingredients whose origin and handling is dubious. 

Many Kashi products contain cane sugar, which is an ingredient that is often processed using bone char, particularly in the United States.

While we can’t tell you for certain that Kashi’s sugar is absolutely processed with bone char, we know that companies often use a mixed pool of sugar suppliers, including ones that use bone char. 

If you wish to be on the safe side, you can opt for products (within Kashi’s catalogue) that use organic sugar, which is basically non-refined or non-processed sugar.

For example, Kashi products that contain organic sugar are the Whole Wheat Biscuits variety.

Where to Purchase Vegan Kashi Products

Kashi products are widely available at grocery stores through the United States and Canada, so you can look for them in places such as Target or Walmart, and other conventional and natural food stores.

You can also order them through Amazon.

Summary: Many Kashi Products Are Vegan

Indeed, many Kashi products are vegan. 

However, some of them also contain animal ingredients such as honey, eggs, and milk, so before you purchase, be sure to verify the ingredient label.

We have listed both the vegan and non-vegan products – so you can refer to them if you have any doubts. 

Top 2 Vegan Recommendations in 2021

  1. This is hands down our favorite vegan supplement. It’s not your typical multivitamin because it was created from vegans to vegans. It contains vitamin B12, vitamin D, and the Omega-3 fatty acids (DHA & EPA). These ingredients are delivered in the right doses, so that you never have to worry about a potential deficiency in the future. Feel free to read my review on the supplement as well.
  2. Our second recommendation is this amazing vegan starter kit. It is actually a bundle with 9 e-books that will help you lead a healthy, vegan lifestyle. It has great advice, and it includes print-outs and checklists that will allow you to easily put theory into practice, particularly if you’re new to the vegan lifestyle. This is a recommendation I’ve also included in my essential vegan products page as well.
Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Special K Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)
Previous Post Is Special K Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s all you need to know)
Performance Lab Prebiotic Review – Is It REALLY Worth It?
Next Post Performance Lab Prebiotic Review – Is It REALLY Worth It?