Is Just Egg Vegan? Here’s The Full Story

Vegan meat options like Beyond Meat and Impossible Burger are becoming more and more common, in fact, in 2020, the market value of plant based-meat worldwide was estimated to be worth 6.67 billion U.S. dollars, a figure that is estimated to increase over the next few years and reach roughly 16.7 billion in 2026.

However, alternatives don’t stop with meat, as there are also alternatives to cheese and eggs, which I’ve realized, from speaking to several vegetarians, that these two foods are the hardest to abandon. 

Just Egg is a plant-based egg substitute made entirely from plants, therefore it’s technically vegan. However, the company hasn’t labeled their product as being vegan, despite not containing animal ingredients.  

In this article, we’ll dive a bit further into why that is the case, and determine whether Just Egg is really a vegan product. 

What Is Just Egg?

Just Egg is an egg replacement, and it has been created to resemble real eggs, using turmeric and mung bean protein to create an egg-like texture and flavor. 

just egg

If you’re someone that has always loved eggs and have missed the taste of scrambled eggs, Just Egg was created to scramble just like a real egg does. 

Just Egg’s complete list of ingredients includes:

  • Water
  • Mung bean protein isolate
  • Expeller-pressed canola oil
  • Corn starch
  • Baking powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate)
  • Dehydrated garlic
  • Dehydrated onion
  • Natural carrot extractives (color)
  • Natural turmeric extractives (color)
  • Salt
  • And Transglutaminase.

There are absolutely no animal ingredients, but despite that, the company/brand has refrained from labeling its product as a vegan product. 

Just Egg was created to be an alternative to real eggs, so it would only make sense for it to be a vegan alternative, so why would the company refer to their product as being plant-based, rather than vegan?

Just Egg Do Not Call Themselves Vegan

To understand why Just Egg refers to its product as plant-based and not vegan, we had to dive a bit deeper, because this is not something that is flat out stated on their website.

We came across an interesting thread on Reddit, and people were discussing this exact topic, and one of the members happened to have contacted the company to inquire about this particular detail.

This is the email he received as a response to his inquiry:

“Thanks for reaching out! While our products are made with plant-based ingredients and suitable for a plant-based diet, they are not certified vegan. Our mission is to bring better-for-you, more sustainable foods to as many people as possible. We feel that by not labeling the product as “vegan,” we have a better chance of accomplishing our goal. 

Additionally, we’re including some information below about the test we conducted for our mung bean protein.

Mung bean, the primary ingredient in our JUST Egg, has been in the food system and digested safely by human beings and other species for thousands of years. After ensuring the non-toxic nature of this ingredient, rats were fed mung bean protein and their excrement was analyzed for undigested proteins. No rats were killed to assess digestibility. This test was important in our successful GRAS assessment to use mung bean protein in JUST Egg and other plant-based products.

For more info on mung bean protein and its potential uses, please take a look at this Food Dive article, Mung bean protein isolate developed by [JUST] gets GRAS status: http://ju.st/fdagras

We also encourage you to take a look at this blog post from the Good Food Institute which digs into the FDA’s testing standards and goals for driving the food system forward: http://www.gfi.org/animal-testing-new-proteins-time-for-fda

Please let us know if you have any further questions or need anything else at all.”

In other words, they avoid the word “vegan” because they tested their products on animals, and mung bean is not the first ingredient they’ve tested.

They were the first company to test pea protein isolate to gain certification, and if they hadn’t done so, other companies like Beyond would have had to test on animals for Beyond Burger to enter the market. 

So, while it’s true that they’ve tested on animals, Just Egg, in my opinion, is still a vegan product, because they couldn’t market their innovative product without conducting testing that was per the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) rules. 

There’s no way around it, and it’s going to be a recurring theme as more meat and dairy alternatives flood the market, as there’s no way around the FDA at the moment. 

Verdict

I’ve concluded that Just Egg is technically a vegan product, particularly because it does not contain animal ingredients, not even controversial ingredients. 

Even though Just Egg had to test their mung bean on animals for it to be approved, this should not make the product non-vegan, as that would stifle innovation in the vegan industry, particularly because they need to abide by FDA rules (which require animal testing). Besides, according to Just Egg, no animals were harmed during or after the experiment (as you’re able to read above). 

If you’d like to see (with your own eyes) how Just Egg works, there’s this really good video Sauce Stash making scrambled eggs:

FAQs

Is Just Egg Gluten-Free?

Yes, Just Egg is completely gluten-free, as it doesn’t contain any ingredients derived from wheat, barley, or rye, not any other ingredients that may have come into contact with gluten-containing cereals/grains. 

Is Just Egg Soy-Free?

No, Just Egg’s primary ingredient is mung bean protein isolate, which is derived from soy. 

Is Just Egg Available In The UK?

No, unfortunately, Just Egg is not yet available in the UK, however, it should not take that long to reach the European market, as it’s a highly popular product with tons of funding. 

Is Just Egg Available In Australia?

No, Just Egg is not yet widely distributed in Australia, although it shouldn’t be impossible to find as some hard-to-find niche stores might have it available. However, you won’t be able to find it in a regular hypermarket/supermarket. 

Is Just Egg Available In Canada?

Yes, Just Egg should be available in Canada in retail stores such as Loblaws, Walmart, Metro, Save-On-Foods, Whole Foods Market, Real Canadian Superstore, Federated Co-op, Provigo, Zehrs, and No Frills, as well as several independent grocers.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Lotus Biscuits Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Previous Post Are Lotus Biscuits Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Celery vs Celery Hearts — What Is The Difference?
Next Post Celery vs Celery Hearts — What Is The Difference?