What Is Dole Whip And Is It Vegan? (Here’s All You Need To Know)

Dole Whip is a soft serve frozen dessert that looks a lot like regular ice cream, and for that reason, a lot of people write it off as something that is non-vegan.

However, Dole Whip is a dessert mostly comprised of fruit flavors, and often addressed as a dairy-free dessert. I did some research to figure out what Dole Whip is and how it’s made, and I managed to find out a couple of different things, including if it’s vegan.

After reading this brief article, you should have a pretty good idea whether Dole Whip is vegan, how it’s made, and why it’s different from regular ice cream. 

What is Dole Whip?

Several sources refer to Dole Whip as a pineapple-flavored ice cream, but Dole Whip is not an ice cream, and it has many flavors other than pineapple.

It was originally created by the company Dole, but it eventually became synonymous with Disneyland because that’s where it gained a massive cult-like following as people lined up to try Dole Whip.

While Dole Whip does have the same taste and consistency as regular ice cream, it’s not categorized as ice cream because it gets its texture from food thickeners. 

Dole Whip is available in many different flavors. The flavors include vanilla, chocolate, pineapple, watermelon, orange, pumpkin spice, salted caramel, pistachio, strawberry, raspberry, birthday cake, pink cotton candy, mango, cherry, lemon, and lime. 

Is Dole Whip Vegan?

Dole Whip has always been made with dairy, but ever since 2013, some of the recipes changed, and instead of using fruit juice, frozen fruit chunks and vanilla ice cream as the main ingredients, they started using non-dairy creamer, sugar, and natural flavors and colors. 

But even though that’s the case, it doesn’t mean every Dole Whip is suitable for vegans.

If you want to eat a vegan Dole Whip, you have to stick to the fruit-based flavors because other flavors like vanilla and chocolate contain sodium caseinate, a milk derivative. 

In fact, if we look at the list of ingredients available through Precision Foods official website, we can see the different range of flavors, and their respective ingredients. 

For example, the strawberry-flavored Dole Whip contains the following ingredients:

Sugar, Dextrose, Maltodextrin, Stabilizers (Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Locust Bean Gum, Guar Gum, Karaya Gum, Pectin, Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum), Coconut Oil, Contains 2% Or Less Of Each Of The Following: Citric Acid, Color (Dehydrated Blackcurrant, Caramel Color, Carrot Extract), Natural Flavor, Modified Food Starch, Mono & Diglycerides, and Silicon Dioxide (Anticaking).

While the vanilla-flavored Dole Whip contains these ingredients: 

Sugar, Corn Syrup Solids, Coconut Oil, Contains 2% Or Less Of Each Of The Following: Sodium Caseinate (A Milk Derivative), Salt, Guar Gum, Potassium & Sodium Phosphate, Mono & Diglycerides, Soy Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Artificial Flavor, and Artificial Color (Yellow 5 & 6).

So, if you want to eat vegan Dole Whip, stick to the fruit flavors, as those do not contain sodium caseinate, which is used in this instance as thickener and stabilizer.  

What About Mono & Diglycerides?

Even among the fruit-based Dole Whip, you can find an ingredient called “mono and diglycerides”, which is a common food additive that blends together different ingredients, like oil and water, which wouldn’t otherwise be able to blend well. 

Some vegans avoid mono and diglycerides because they believe it may come from animals, which they are right because it can be extracted from the fat of cows and hogs. However, it can also come from a vegetable source like soybean oil and it can also be made synthetically in a lab, which are both the most likely choices. 

Mono and diglycerides are not usually extracted from animals, and I sincerely believe that’s the case with Dole Whip because they also state whether or not a product is vegan when you check each flavor individually. For the fruit-based flavors, they clearly point out that they’re vegan.

Where To Find Dole Whip in Disney World

You can find Dole Whip in almost every Disney park with the exception of Hollywood Studios, and you’re also able to find it in a few resorts as well. 

Parks

Disney Springs

Disney Springs has a place called Market Place Snacks, which is a district with several shops that you can visit without a theme park ticket. They have classic Dole Whip available. 

EPCOT

EPCOT seems to have Dole Whip, but not as often. From what I’ve researched, they have it during festivals. If you happen to go there for a festival, head to Pineapple Promenade. 

Animal Kingdom

You can find the traditional pineapple Dole Whip at Tamu Tamu Refreshments, which is located in Disney’s Animal Kingdom at Harambe in Africa. 

Magic Kingdom

Check out Aloha Isle in the Magic Kingdom, which is located in Adventure Land between Country Bear Jamboree and the Enchanted Tiki Room. They have the classic pineapple and vanilla flavors, and it’s the place where the whole Dole Whip craze began. 

Resorts

Typhoon Lagoon

The Typhoon Lagoon waterpark in Orlando has a place called Typhoon Tilts, which is the only location where you can find classic Dole Whip available. 

Pop Century Resort

The Pop Century resort also has the classic Dole Whip. You can find it at the Everything Pop Food Court.

Polynesian Village Resort

At the Polynesian Resort, you can find Dole Whip at the Pineapple Lanai, and it seems there’s an option to add rum. If you’re not familiar with the place, this resort is a Disney Deluxe Resort hotel where you can find beaches, pools, and several venues. 

The Boardwalk

While I’m not sure whether they have soft servings of Dole Whip, they have Dole Whip Smoothies, which are available in Both alcoholic and non-alcoholic versions.

All Star Movies Resort

Like the Boardwalk, the All Star Movies resort also features the Dole Whip Smoothie with an option to add alcohol. Head to the Silver Screen Spirits Pool Bar if you’re interested. 

Conclusion

The Dole Whip started out as a dairy dessert but eventually the brand changed the recipe, and for some flavors they removed the milk-derivatives.

From what I’ve researched, only the fruit-based Dole Whip flavors are vegan, namely pineapple, watermelon, orange, strawberry, raspberry, mango, cherry, lemon, and lime. The other flavors, which include vanilla and chocolate, have sodium caseinate, which is a milk derivative. 

Keep in mind that recipes may change from time to time, so it’s always a good idea to ask the staff before ordering you Dole Whip. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Donuts Vegan? Here Is Everything You Need To Know
Previous Post Are Donuts Vegan? Here Is Everything You Need To Know
Is Country Crock Vegan? (Here’s All You Have To Know)
Next Post Is Country Crock Vegan? (Here’s All You Have To Know)