Can Vegans Eat Coco Pops? Or Does It Have Animal Ingredients?

Coco Pops is a cereal that can go by different names; some call it Choco Krispies, while others call it Choco Pops, but they’re best known as Coco Pops.

There are also Choco Pops bars, but in this article, I’m only covering the cereal as it’s the most relevant.

Coco Pops is available in several flavors, including Cocoa, White Chocolate, as well as Raspberry combined with White Chocolate; but none of them are vegan. Even though they have no flagrant animal ingredients, they still have vitamin D3, which is not vegan.

Additionally, Coco Pops also contain sugar, which is a gray-area ingredient that generates a lot of controversy in the vegan community.

Why Isn’t Vitamin D3 Vegan?

lanolin

Vitamin D3 is not vegan because of the reason you’re suspecting – it’s extracted from an animal. 

Animals like sheep have wool from which we can extract lanolin. 

Lanolin is similar to human sebum; it’s basically an oil taken from wool that we can convert to vitamin D3 through a scientific process.

Some people argue that it’s okay to consume vitamin D3 because it’s added to cereals in tiny amounts, so it wouldn’t make you any less vegan to consume it. 

I believe that vitamin D3 is not vegan. At the end of the day, you’re contributing to a cruel industry by consuming vitamin D3; the scale is just smaller. 

However, I don’t speak for every vegan, and I know others will have a different opinion from mine. 

Why is Sugar a Controversial Ingredient?

Sugar is a controversial ingredient because sugar refineries often filter it with bone char, a charcoal-like powder obtained by burning cattle bones. 

While it’s not a practice that is allowed in Europe — in North America using bone char (cattle bones) as a decolorizing agent is an accepted practice. 

Bone char is used to filter cane sugar, but it’s not used to filter sugar derived from beets. Therefore, sugar derived from beets is always vegan. 

However, I discovered that many companies in the US (Kelloggs included) source sugar from a mixed pool of suppliers, which means it’s impossible to trace the sugar back to its source.

I personally wouldn’t stop products containing sugar because of this issue, but my goal is not to influence you but to provide you with enough information to decide on your own. 

Summary

Coco Pops is not vegan because it contains vitamin D3. 

Even though this ingredient is only added to foods in tiny amounts, it doesn’t change the fact there’s a cruel industry built around it. 

I don’t want to contribute to an industry that enslaves animals for their wool, so I cannot consider Coco Pops a vegan product. 

Here Is Our #1 Recommendation For Vegans

Future Kind’s Essential Vitamins: This is our favorite vegan supplement. It’s not the typical multivitamin because it was formulated to specifically address potential shortcomings in the vegan diet. It contains the essential vitamin B12, vitamin D, and Omega-3 fatty acids (DHA & EPA) delivered in necessary doses so you don’t have to worry about potential deficiencies. If you wish to learn more about it, you can check out the review we did on it.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Fanta Vegan? Or Does It Still Contain Traces Of Fish Gelatin?
Previous Post Is Fanta Vegan? Or Does It Still Contain Traces Of Fish Gelatin?
Can Vegans Eat Hot Cheetos?
Next Post Can Vegans Eat Hot Cheetos?