Are Uncrustables Vegan? – Quick Flavor Breakdown

Are Uncrustables Vegan? – Quick Flavor Breakdown

Uncrustables are not your regular sandwiches. They are “sealed crustless sandwiches”, which consist in a filling sealed between two layers of bread by a crimped edge, without crust.

They are especially popular in the United States, particularly the peanut butter & grape jelly variety mass-produced by The J. M. Smucker Company.

Some Uncrustables are vegan-friendly, but others contain animal ingredients. The good news is that the popular peanut butter & grape jelly variety is vegan, but others like the chocolate & hazelnut flavor contain ingredients derived from milk (i.e. skim milk and whey)

In this article, we are going to breakdown each flavor (and its respective ingredients), and determine which flavors are, in fact, vegan-friendly. If you’re interested, keep on reading!

Vegan Uncrustables’ Flavors

Uncrustables Peanut Butter & Grape Jelly Sandwich

peanut butter and jelly

As we’ve mentioned earlier, the peanut butter & grape jelly flavor is vegan-friendly, which is excellent news, considering its nationwide popularity.

It contains the following ingredients:

Bread: Enriched Unbleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Unbleached Whole Wheat Flour, Sugar, Yeast, Soybean Oil, Contains 2% or Less of: Salt, Dough Conditioners (Distilled Mono-and Diglycerides, DATEM, Enzymes [with Wheat Starch, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Peroxide]).

Peanut Butter: Peanuts, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of: Molasses, Fully Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed and Soybean), Mono-and Diglycerides, Salt.

Grape Jelly: Sugar, Grape Juice, Contains 2% or Less of: Pectin, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative).

It’s important to mention that the ingredient ‘mono-and diglycerides’ has a controversial reputation, because it’s not always vegan.

Mono-and diglycerides are types of fat used as emulsifiers to improve texture in bread and keep moisture. They’re typically derived from soybean oil but can also come from animal fat.

Another controversial ingredient (also present across the entire range of Uncrustables) is sugar. While it’s clearly a plant-based ingredient, sugar suppliers in the United States may process it with animal ingredients.

Related: Why Isn’t Sugar Always Vegan?

Uncrustables Peanut Butter & Strawberry Jam Sandwich

uncrustables strawberry

Also incredibly delicious, the peanut butter & strawberry jam sandwich is vegan-friendly.

It contains the following ingredients:

Bread: Enriched Unbleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Unbleached Whole Wheat Flour, Sugar, Yeast, Soybean Oil, Contains 2% or Less of: Salt, Dough Conditioners (Distilled Mono-and Diglycerides, DATEM, Enzymes [with Wheat Starch, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Peroxide]).

Peanut Butter: Peanuts, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of: Molasses, Fully Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed and Soybean), Mono-and Diglycerides, Salt.

Strawberry Jam: Sugar, Strawberries, Contains 2% or Less of: Pectin, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative).

Like the peanut butter & grape jelly sandwich, it also the contains controversial ingredients mono-and diglycerides and sugar, which may or not be vegan depending on how they’re sourced or processed.

Uncrustables Peanut Butter Sandwich

uncrustables peanut butter

This variety contains the following ingredients:

Bread: Enriched Unbleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Unbleached Whole Wheat Flour, Sugar, Yeast, Soybean Oil, Contains 2% or Less of: Salt, Dough Conditioners (Distilled Mono-and Diglycerides, DATEM, Enzymes [with Wheat Starch, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Peroxide]).

Peanut Butter: Peanuts, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of: Molasses, Fully Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed and Soybean), Mono-and Diglycerides, Salt.

It also contains mono-and diglycerides and sugar, which may not be vegan.

Non-Vegan Uncrustables’ Flavors

Uncrustables Chocolate Flavored Hazelnut Spread Sandwich

chocolate sandwich

This variety contains the following ingredients:

Bread: Enriched Unbleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Unbleached Whole Wheat Flour, Sugar, Yeast, Soybean Oil, Contains 2% or Less of: Salt, Dough Conditioners (Distilled Mono-and Diglycerides, DATEM, Enzymes [with Wheat Starch, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Peroxide]).

Chocolate Flavored Hazelnut Spread: Sugar, Vegetable Oils (Palm and Canola), Hazelnuts, Cocoa Processed with Alkali and Cocoa, Skim Milk, Whey, Sunflower Lecithin, Vanillin (Artificial Flavor).

Unfortunately, it contains ingredients like skim milk and whey, which are not vegan.

Uncrustables Peanut Butter and Honey Sandwich

honey sandwich

This variety contains the following ingredients:

Bread: Unbleached Whole Wheat Flour, Enriched Unbleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Sugar, Yeast, Contains 2% or Less of: Wheat Gluten, Soybean Oil, Salt, Dough Conditioners (Distilled Mono-and Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, DATEM, Enzymes [with Wheat Starch, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Peroxide]).

Peanut Butter: Peanuts, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of: Molasses, Fully Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed and Soybean), Mono-and Diglycerides, Salt.

Honey Spread: Sugar, Water, Honey, Pectin, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Caramel Color, Calcium Chloride, Natural Flavor.

This product contains honey, which is an ingredient that is quite controversial in the vegan community.

While some vegans are okay with consuming honey (particularly if it’s from ethical beekeepers), others are against it because they believe an ingredient that is produced by a particular animal/insect cannot be considered vegan by definition.

Related: Can you Eat Honey and Call Yourself Vegan?

Summary: Not all Uncrustables Are Vegan

Indeed, not all Uncrustables are vegan.

Varieties like the chocolate and hazelnut flavor and the peanut butter and honey flavor contain ingredients like milk and honey, which are not considered vegan.

The vegan Uncrustables are the following:

  • Peanut butter and grape jelly sandwich
  • Peanut butter and strawberry jam sandwich
  • Peanut butter sandwich

These do not contain any flagrant animal ingredients but it’s possible to spot ingredients like mono-and diglycerides and sugar, which are somewhat controversial. Depending on how these ingredients are sourced or processed, they may or not be vegan.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Love Hearts Vegan? (Here’s all you need to know)
Previous Post Are Love Hearts Vegan? (Here’s all you need to know)
Are Kodiak Cakes Vegan? (Here’s all you need to know)
Next Post Are Kodiak Cakes Vegan? (Here’s all you need to know)