Are Tuc Crackers Vegan? Here’s All You Need To Know

TUC crackers are salted octagonal golden-yellow snacks with a taste and texture very similar to the Ritz crackers we’ve covered in an earlier blog post. The TUC brand originated in Belgium and is now associated with Nabisco, as well as Mondelez International.

They are known for their bright, yellow packaging, as well as a wide variety of flavors that include:

  • Original
  • Mini TUC – Original
  • TUC Cheese Sandwich
  • TUC Cheese (standard, not sandwich)
  • TUC Barbecue
  • TUC Craks Original
  • TUC Craks Sour Cream and Onion
  • TUC Bacon
  • TUC Garlic and Herbs
  • TUC Paprika
  • TUC Break
  • TUC Break Rosemary & Olive
  • TUC Salt & Pepper
  • TUC Sweet Chili
  • TUC Roasted Chicken
  • TUC Samphire
  • TUC Seeds & Chives
  • TUC Sour Cream & Onion
  • TUC Barbecue (World Tour)
  • TUC Pizza

However, despite the different varieties, there isn’t one that is suitable for vegans.

Unfortunately, even the Original Tuc Crackers contain eggs, an animal-based ingredient present in most (if not all) of the varieties listed above.

TUC Crackers: Ingredients

tuc cracker

Let’s take a glance at the ingredients in the Original Tuc:

  • Wheat Flour
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Barley Malt Extract
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Raising Agents (Ammonium Carbonates, Sodium Carbonates)
  • Salt
  • Eggs
  • Flavoring
  • Flour Treatment Agent (Sodium Sulphite)
  • Emulsifier (Sunflower Lecithin)

The Original Tuc Crackers have eggs, but there are also varieties such as the TUC Cheese Sandwich and the TUC Paprika Crackers where ingredients like Dried Whey or Milk Protein are also included.

There’s no way around it with TUC, animal ingredients are a core part of the recipe, which is probably why the crackers are so popular in the first place.

Vegan Alternatives

As I’ve mentioned earlier in this blog post, Ritz Crackers have a similar taste and texture to TUCs and most of the flavors are vegan, except the Honey Wheat Ritz.

Even the bacon-flavored Ritz is free from animal ingredients, which is highly surprising when we consider the name. Other feasible vegan alternatives include:

There are several alternatives, but the one that most resembles the TUCs are the Ritz Crackers.

Just keep in mind that you’re bound to find some “controversial ingredients” such as palm oil, refined sugar, and natural flavors.

These are basically ingredients that may or not be vegan based on factors like origin, refining process, animal testing, habitat destruction, and so on.

If those are ingredients you want to steer clear of, then you can always try making a batch of vegan crackers at home.

Make Amazing Vegan Crackers At Home

There are a few amazing vegan cracker recipes online, and the one I’m about to share is essentially one 4-minute video with four different recipes.

You can choose to read the recipe here, or you can just watch the video:

To accompany the delicious crackers, you can also create amazing vegan dips that take 15 minutes to make. Plus, if you’re receiving guests, dips & chips are lifesavers.

Here’s a video by Pick Up Lime where she shares 5 awesome vegan dips:

Hopefully, these videos have been helpful in your search for delicious crackers! Even though the TUC Crackers are not vegan, you can easily find alternatives to replace them. Don’t let that keep you from sticking to a plant-based diet all the way through. 😉

Summary: TUC Crackers Are NOT Vegan.

TUC Crackers are not vegan because they contain animal-based ingredients such as eggs and milk. That includes all flavors and variations, not just the Original TUC.

If you feel like you’ll miss their crispy and salty taste, feel free to consider some of the alternatives I’ve suggested above. Personally, I’d recommend the Ritz Crackers because they closely remember the TUC Crackers in terms of taste and texture, but you can always try some of the other options and give yourself a chance to be surprised.

If those options are off-limits, consider using your cuisine skills to make amazing vegan crackers!


Are Tuc Crackers Gluten-Free?

No, Tuc crackers are not gluten-free as they contain wheat flour and barley, which are both ingredients that contain gluten. 

Are Tuc Crackers Vegetarian?

Yes, Tuc crackers are suitable for vegetarians because most vegetarians are okay with consuming milk and eggs – which is what most Tuc crackers contain.

Are Tuc Bacon Crackers Vegetarian?

Yes, Tuc bacon crackers are suitable for vegetarians because the bacon flavor does not derive from actual bacon, but a mixture of soy and celery. Other ingredients in the Tuc bacon crackers include milk and eggs, which most vegetarians are fine with eating. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Nutter Butters Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!
Previous Post Are Nutter Butters Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!
Are Nilla Wafers Suitable For Vegans?
Next Post Are Nilla Wafers Suitable For Vegans?