Are Trix Vegan? We Did Some Research To Find Out

Are Trix Vegan? We Did Some Research To Find Out

Trix is an American brand of breakfast cereal made by General Mills for the North American market, and by Nestlé for the rest of the world. It was introduced more than 60 years ago, and while it was wildly popular back in the days, it’s not among the most popular cereals today. 

Trix is not suitable for vegans. On top of containing controversial ingredients like sugar, natural flavors, and artificial colors, it also contains vitamin D3, which is typically derived from lanolin, a wax secreted from the sebaceous glands of wool-bearing animals. Therefore, it’s not vegan. 

In this article, I’m going to share alternatives to Trix, and explain why the aforementioned ingredients are controversial, and what compels some vegans to avoid them. 

Why Aren’t Trix Suitable For Vegans?

are trix vegan

Trix contains the following ingredients:

  • Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Rice Flour, Corn Syrup, Canola Oil, Salt, Trisodium Phosphate, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1 And Other Added Colors, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Calcium Carbonate, Tricalcium Phosphate, Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), Iron And Zinc (Mineral Nutrients), B3 Vitamin (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), B9 Vitamin (Folic Acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

There are four problematic ingredients in the list above: sugar, natural flavors, artificial colors, and vitamin D3, and below we’re going to see.

  • Sugar

The reason sugar is a controversial ingredient among vegans is because non-organic cane sugar is often filtered with bone char, a charcoal-like powder that cleanses sugar from its natural inorganic impurities. The problem is that you can’t tell from a product label whether they’ve used bone char. For that reason, many vegans choose to avoid products with sugar, particularly those from multinational companies like Mondelez.

  • Artificial Colors

Artificial colors are made synthetically from petroleum or crude oil, not animals. However, they are periodically tested on animals for safety concerns, hence why many vegans avoid them. 

  • Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is an umbrella term used to describe both plant and animal-based ingredients, but we don’t know which ingredients are actually being used unless we contact the company. So, it’s hard to pinpoint whether this ingredient is vegan, unless the product is fruit-flavored. 

  • Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3 in cereals is typically obtained from lanolin, which is the grease present sheep’s wool. Therefore, it is an animal ingredient. However, some vegans claim that because it’s only present in minimal amounts, that it’s okay to consume it. Still, it doesn’t change the fact that it’s animal-derived, and that’s the point I’m trying to make. 

Whether you see these ingredients as vegan or not, it will probably come down to how strict you are. While some vegans are okay with consuming Vitamin D3, others don’t feel like that’s compatible with veganism at all. Frankly, I don’t have an issue with either viewpoint, I just feel like animal ingredients should be avoided whenever possible.

However, from my viewpoint, Trix isn’t vegan because it contains Vitamin D3.

Recommended Read: 10 Vegan Cereals That Make Up For A Filling & Nutritious Breakfast!

Vegan Alternatives to Trix

Whether you feel like Trix is vegan or not – I still wish to provide you with some alternatives that are unmistakably vegan. Here are some vegan cereals you should try out:

Keep in mind that some of these options still contain sugar, natural flavors, and artificial colors, but they’re don’t have vitamin D3, which is the most problematic ingredient from my point of view. 

Recommended Read: Is Captain Crunch Vegan? Here’s All You Need To know

Bottom Line

Trix contain several controversial ingredients, but the ingredient that sticks out the most is vitamin D3, which is basically taken from lanolin, the grease from sheep’s wool. 

Some vegans claim that vitamin D3 is only present in minimal amounts, and therefore can be considered vegan, but it’s still an animal ingredient at the end of the day. 

With controversial ingredients like sugar and natural flavors, there’s an uncertainty, because it’s extremely difficult to pinpoint whether or not an animal ingredient was used, but with vitamin D3, we know, for a fact, that it is derived from lanolin. Therefore, from my perspective, Trix cannot be deemed as a vegan product. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Funyuns Vegan? Here’s All You Need To Know
Previous Post Are Funyuns Vegan? Here’s All You Need To Know
Is Margarine Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Next Post Is Margarine Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know