Are Tostitos Vegan? Here’s What I Found Out!

are tostitos vegan

Tostitos is a brand that belongs to Frito-Lay, an American subsidiary of PepsiCo.

According to what I’ve seen on the Tostitos website, there are no mentions of the word “vegan” anywhere but based on the nature of their products, you’re bound to find something.

They are known for producing tortilla chips and a wide range of accompanying dips.

Amidst 17 variations of chips and 14 variations of dips— there is a mix of vegan and non-vegan choices, which we’ll examine closely in this blog post.

So, without further ado, let’s start by looking at which tortilla chips are vegan.

Which Tostitos Chips Are Vegan?

tostitos scoops

The core ingredients in Tostitos’ tortilla chips are corn, vegetable oil, and salt.

However, there are some variations of chips that contain animal ingredients, among them ingredients such as sour cream, buttermilk, whey protein concentrate, and other derivatives.

Here is a table with the vegan status on Tostitos’ tortilla chips:

Flavor:Status:Non-vegan ingredients:
ScoopsVeganN/A
Multigrain ScoopsVeganN/A
Baked ScoopsVeganN/A
Original Restaurant StyleVeganN/A
Lightly SaltedVeganN/A
Hint of LimeNot VeganSour Cream, Whey
Hint of JalapeñoNot VeganSour Cream, Whey
Roasted Red PepperNot VeganSour Cream, Skim Milk, Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein Concentrate, Lactose, And Buttermilk
Black Bean & GarlicVeganN/A
Organic Blue CornVeganN/A
Cantina Thin & CrispyVeganN/A
Cantina TraditionalVeganN/A
StripsVeganN/A
Bite SizeVeganN/A
Crispy RoundsVeganN/A
Sabritas Salsa VerdeNot VeganWhey
Sabritas Salsa RancheraNot VeganNatural Flavors contain milk

Most of the tortilla chips contain ingredients that most strict vegans consider to be questionable.

These may or may not be vegan based on different factors, but the usual suspects remain the same: refined sugar, natural flavors, artificial flavors, and artificial colors.

Which Tostitos Dips Are Vegan?

tostitos dip

Akin to the tortilla chips, you can also find vegan and non-vegan variations among the dips.

Here is a table with both, as well as associated non-vegan ingredients:

Flavor:Status:Non-vegan ingredients:
Chunky Salsa (Medium)VeganN/A
Chunky Salsa (Mild)VeganN/A
Restaurant Style Salsa (Medium)VeganN/A
Splash of Lime Flavored Chunky SalsaVeganN/A
Roasted Garlic Chunky Salsa (Medium)VeganN/A
Chunky Habanero Salsa (Hot)VeganN/A
Organic Chunky Medium SalsaVeganN/A
Avocado SalsaNot VeganWhey Protein Concentrate
Salsa Con Queso (Medium)Not VeganNonfat Milk, Monterey Jack Cheese
Smooth and Cheesy DipNot VeganMonterey Jack Cheese, Buttermilk, Cheddar Cheese, Whey Protein
Queso Blanco Dip (Medium)Not VeganMonterey Jack Cheese, Cheddar Cheese, Whey, Buttermilk, Milk Protein Concentrate
Southwest Cheese & Corn DipNot VeganMonterey Jack Cheese, Butter, Milk Protein Concentrate
Fiesta Bean & Cheese DipNot VeganNonfat Milk, Monterey Jack Cheese, Cheddar Cheese
Cream Spinach DipNot VeganWhey Protein Concentrate

Among the vegan options, you’re also able to find “questionable” ingredients that may not be in alignment with the preferences of stricter vegans.

Some questionable ingredients present in dips are refined sugar and natural flavors.

What do you mean by Questionable Ingredients?

Questionable ingredients are basically any and every ingredient that may be associated with animal suffering, and which stricter vegans stand heavily against.

These ingredients are usually:

Refined sugar: There is no mistake that sugar is a plant-based ingredient. However, certain sugar companies in the United States use a decolorizing and deashing agent called bone char, which is essentially obtained by carbonizing the bone of cattle. Feel free to learn more about it here.

Natural flavors: The term “natural flavors” is used to describe any plant or animal-based ingredient that can be used in foods. In other words, “natural flavors” can be a non-vegan ingredient, but companies are not required to reveal its source.

For example, if you check the Salsa Ranchera variety, the “natural flavor” actually contains milk. That information is available on that specific product’s page. Learn more about it here.

Artificial Ingredients: Before artificial ingredients are deemed safe to be used in products, they first need to be tested. Unfortunately, those tests are typically conducted on animals, which is obviously something most people in the vegan community are against.

Take artificial colors, for instance. Artificial colors are periodically tested because of their seemingly unending ‘potential’ health problems. Here are two tests conducted in 2017 and 2018.

These aren’t the only “shady” ingredients that pop up on labels from time to time, but these happen to be the most common in products that don’t promote themselves as being vegan.

Summary: Not All Tostitos Chips & Dips Are Vegan.

Not all Tostitos products are vegan, but there are plenty of Tostitos’ chips and dips that are suitable for vegans, especially the unflavored chips and the salsa dips.

To summarize everything, here’s a list of the vegan tortilla chips:

  • Scoops
  • Multigrain Scoops
  • Baked Scoops
  • Original Restaurant Style
  • Lightly Salted
  • Black Bean & Garlic
  • Organic Blue Corn
  • Cantina Thin & Crispy
  • Cantina Traditional
  • Strips
  • Bite-Size
  • Crispy Rounds

And here is a list with every vegan dip:

  • Chunky Salsa (Medium)
  • Chunky Salsa (Mild)
  • Restaurant Style Salsa (Medium)
  • Splash of Lime Flavored Chunky Salsa
  • Roasted Garlic Chunky Salsa (Medium)
  • Chunky Habanero Salsa (Hot)
  • Organic Chunky Medium Salsa

Keep in mind that some of these vegan products contain some of the “questionable” ingredients we’ve covered earlier. So, if you’re a stricter vegan, some of these options may be off-limits.

About the Author: Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!