Are Quest Bars Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know

Would you love to try out the popular Quest bars but don’t know if they’re vegan-friendly? 

Well, Quest Nutrition is not a vegan-friendly brand, particularly because it uses dairy in all its products, including its Quest bars. None of the bars sold by Quest Nutrition are vegan, as they all contain dairy ingredients, namely milk protein. 

There are three different categories of Quest bars: snack bars, protein bars, and hero bars. 

In this article, we will look at each category, and see what animal ingredients go into each one. Plus, we will also look at some vegan alternatives. 

Are Quest Snack Bars Vegan?

Quest’s snack bars are sweet & salty travel-size snacks that contain very low sugar and 10g of protein, making them ideal for any outdoor activity, be it hiking or climbing. 

There are three flavors of snack bars:

Flavors: Non-Vegan Ingredients:
Chocolate Mixed Nuts Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein
Peanut Chocolate Crunch Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein
Sea Salt Caramel Almond Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein

Unfortunately, the snack bars are not vegan as they all contain dairy ingredients. 

Are Quest Protein Bars Vegan?

Quest’s protein bars are a snack that you can indulge in before or after a workout to replenish your energy levels and fuel your muscles. 

Each bar comes with 21g of protein, which is ideal for anyone who wants to build muscle. Additionally, it only comes with 2g of sugar, so it’s not that unhealthy. 

There are fifteen flavors of protein bars:

Flavors: Non-Vegan Ingredients:
Birthday Cake Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Blueberry Muffin Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Caramel Chocolate Chunk Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Chocolate Brownie Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Chocolate Peanut Butter Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Chocolate Sprinkled Doughnut Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Cookies & Cream Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Dipped Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Double Chocolate Chunk Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Lemon Cake Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Mint Chocolate Chunk Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Peanut Butter Brownie Smash Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
S’mores Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate

None of the protein bars are vegan as they all contain dairy as the main ingredient. 

Are Quest Hero Bars Vegan?

There are five flavors of hero bars:

Flavors: Non-Vegan Ingredients:
Blueberry Cobbler Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate, Butter
Chocolate Caramel Pecan Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate, Butter
Chocolate Coconut Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate
Chocolate Peanut Butter Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate, Butter
Cookies & Cream Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate, Butter

The hero bars are also not vegan because they also contain dairy ingredients. 

Vegan Alternatives to Quest Bars

Vega Protein Bars

vega protein bars

Vega is a completely plant-based brand, which means all its products are vegan-friendly, including its protein bars that come in two different flavors, namely salted caramel and chocolate peanut butter.

The bars themselves are delicious and come with 20g of protein, a similar amount to Quest protein bars.

While the ingredients may slightly vary based on the flavor at hand, the main ingredients do not change. These bars are made with a multisource plant-based protein blend of pea and brown rice protein and nuts.

Lenny & Larry’s Complete Bars

lenny and larrys

Like Vega, Lenny & Larry’s also sell a variety of products, including cookies and protein bars.

The protein bars are made with a protein blend of brown rice protein, pea protein, and come in three different flavors, including chocolate almond sea salt, peanut butter chocolate chip, and cookies & cream. 

They’re also a viable option if you want a delicious and protein-rich snack after a workout. 

No Cow Protein Bars

no cow protein bars

No Cow’s protein bars are ideal if you want a ton of protein and a wide variety of flavors. 

There are 18 different flavors, including birthday cake, blueberry cobbler, carrot cake, chocolate chip cookie dough, chocolate coconut, chocolate fudge brownie, chocolate peanut butter cup, chocolate sprinkled doughnut, chunky peanut butter, cookies & cream, lemon meringue pie, maple, mint cacao chip, peanut butter chocolate chip, raspberry truffle, S’mores, sticky cinnamon roll, and vanilla caramel. 

I’ve looked at a bunch of different brands, and this is the one with the widest variety of flavors and can be even comparable to Quest Nutrition. 

Aloha Organic Protein Bars

aloha bars

Aloha’s organic plant-based protein bars come in 6 different flavors, including chocolate chip cookie dough, chocolate fudge brownie, chocolate mint, peanut butter chocolate chip, caramel sea salt, and vanilla almond crunch.

The protein bars are entirely made with whole-food ingredients, which means there are no artificial ingredients, so all bars are organic, Non-GMO, stevia-free, soy-free, gluten-free, and vegan. 

If you’re looking for cleaner alternatives, these are a good option, but that also means they’re a bit more pricey.

Summary

Unfortunately, Quest Nutrition doesn’t have vegan snack bars. All of their bars contain dairy, which means you won’t be able to consume them as someone who follows a vegan lifestyle.

However, there are many alternatives available, and many of them are high quality.

Brands like Vega, Lenny & Larry’s, No Cow, and Aloha are some of the best brands around, and they offer a wide variety of products, including snack/protein bars. 

FAQs

Are Quest Bars Gluten-Free?

Yes, according to Quest Nutrition, all of their bars are certified gluten-free, which means they don’t contain any gluten-based ingredients, and they’re also manufactured in facilities where gluten is not handled, so they’re safe even for someone with celiac disease. 

Are Quest Bars Vegetarian?

Yes, Quest bars are indeed vegetarian as they contain milk, but not meat. Typically, vegetarians consume animal derivatives such as milk and eggs, but they don’t eat meat. Quest bars do not contain meat, so they should be suitable for vegetarians. 

Are Quest Bars Dairy-Free?

No, Quest bars are not dairy-free, as their main ingredient is milk. In fact, the first two ingredients in a Quest bar are milk protein isolate and whey protein isolate, which are both derived from milk. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Kind Bars Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Previous Post Are Kind Bars Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Are Luna Bars Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Next Post Are Luna Bars Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know