Are Mentos Vegan? (Beware Of These Ingredients)

On a train ride to Poland, the brothers Michael and Pierre van Melle had the idea for Mentos, a peppermint-flavored caramel candy later produced in the Netherlands in 1948.

Mintos began as a licorice-flavored candy, which is still available in the Netherlands as “Drop Mentos,” a gray-colored Mentos wrapped in black plastic wrap. Mentos are now available in a variety of flavors, including mint, mixed fruit, cola, bubble gum, orange, strawberry, lemon, and more.

Since some Mentos contain ingredients such as beeswax, carmine, and shellac, you have to be careful and read the ingredients list to distinguish between vegan and non-vegan varieties.

In this article, we will cover everything you need to know about Mentos and show you which options are vegan and explain why some of the aforementioned ingredients are not vegan. 

What You Should Know Before Buying Mentos

The ingredients in Mentos vary depending on the country of manufacture, so you’re able to find two identical products with different ingredients depending on where you purchase them.

Mentos made in the United States frequently have a different formulation than Mentos made in the United Kingdom.

For example, the Mentos mint roll in the US contains the following ingredients:

– sugar
– glucose syrup
– coconut oil
– starch
– natural mint flavorings
– maltodextrin
– cocoa butter
– thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic)
– emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids)
– and glazing agent (carnauba wax).

The Mentos UK website also labels their mint roll as suitable for both vegans and vegetarians, as such, you can most certainly consume this product without question. 

However, the Mentos mint roll produced in the United States contains the following ingredients:

– sugar
– wheat glucose syrup
– hydrogenated coconut oil
– rice starch
– natural flavors
– gum arabic
– sucrose esters of fatty acids
– gellan gum
– carnauba wax
beeswax.

Although not vastly different, this formulation contains an animal ingredient called beeswax, whereas the same product produced in the United Kingdom doesn’t contain beeswax.

Breaking Down Each Mentos

In this section, we’ll go over each Mentos and tell you which ones are vegan and which ones you should avoid. We’ll also be looking through the lenses of two of its most important markets, the United States and the United Kingdom.

Keep in mind that different countries produce different products, so it’s possible to find a country where Mentos has made more flavors available. This is exactly what happens in the United States, which has a wider variety of flavors than the UK. 

Mentos In The United States

Mentos in the United States are divided into three categories: gums, chewy mints, and mints. 

Mentos Gum

mentos gum

Mentos gums come in a variety of flavors and packaging styles, including paperboard bottles, curvy bottles, and pocket bottles.

There are several Mentos gum flavors, including:

  • Pure Fresh Mint (available in paperboard, curvy, and pocket bottles)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, mannitol, glycerin, maltitol syrup, artificial flavors, maltodextrin, rice starch, aspartame, soy lecithin, coconut oil, acesulfame k, sucrose fatty acid esters, green tea extract, xantham gum, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, sucralose, corn starch, BHT, carnauba wax, blue 1.

Status: vegan

  • Pure Fresh Spearmint (available in paperboard, curvy, and pocket bottles)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, mannitol, glycerin, maltitol syrup, maltodextrin, natural and artificial flavors, rice starch, sucralose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, coconut oil, acesulfame k, aspartame, sucrose fatty acid esters, soy lecithin, green tea extract, carnauba wax, xanthan gum, BHT, blue 1 lake. 

Status: vegan

  • Pure White Sweet Mint (available in curvy, and pocket bottles)

Ingredients: xylitol, chewing gum base, sorbitol, mannitol, glycerin, maltitol syrup, maltodextrin, sodium tripolyphosphate, natural and artificial flavors, rice starch, aspartame, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, coconut oil, sucrose fatty acid esters, soy lecithin, acesulfame k, carnauba wax, xanthan gum, sucralose, BHT, blue 1 lake.

Status: vegan

  • Red Fruit Lime and Tropical (available in curvy bottle)

Ingredients: isomalt, sorbitol, chewing gum base, maltitol syrup, artificial flavors, malic acid, glycerin, maltitol, tartaric acid, gum arabic, aspartame, maltodextrin, fruit juice powders (orange, kiwi, mango, lemon, strawberry, blackberry, raspberry), citric acid, soy lecithin, acesulfame k, coconut oil, carnauba wax, paprika oleoresin, vegetable juice, carmine, turmeric oleoresin, BHT, sucralose, blue 1 lake.

Status: not vegan

  • Bubble Fresh Cotton Candy (available in curvy bottle)

Ingredients: chewing gum base, xylitol, sorbitol, isomalt, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavors, glycerol, malic acid, aspartame, maltodextrin, soy lecithin, acesulfame k, sucrose fatty acid esters, carnauba wax, sucralose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, BHT, blue 1 lake, carmine

Status: not vegan

  • Pure Fresh Watermelon (available in curvy bottle)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, maltitol syrup, mannitol, maltodextrin, natural and artificial flavors, malic acid, glycerin, rice starch, tartaric acid, aspartame, watermelon juice powder, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, sucralose, coconut oil, sucrose fatty acid esters, acesulfame K, soy lecithin, green tea extract, citric acid, carnauba wax, BHT, turmeric oleoresin, carmine, blue 1.

Status: not vegan

  • Pure Fresh Grape Medley (available in curvy bottle)

Ingredients: xylitol, chewing gum base, sorbitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol, maltodextrin, artificial flavors, malic acid, glycerin, rice starch, tartaric acid, citric acid, aspartame, soy lecithin, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, coconut oil, sucrose fatty acid esters, green tea extract, grape juice powder, carnauba wax, acesulfame k, sucralose, BHT, corn starch, turmeric oleoresin, paprika oleoresin, carmine, caramel, gum arabic, blue 1 lake, blue 1.

Status: not vegan

  • Pure Fresh Cinnamon (available in curvy bottle)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, maltitol syrup, mannitol, natural and artificial flavors, rice starch, glycerin, maltodextrin, aspartame, coconut oil, soy lecithin, green tea extract, sucrose fatty acid esters, acesulfame k, sucralose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, corn starch, BHT, carnauba wax, carmine.

Status: not vegan

  • Pure Fresh Wintergreen (available in curvy and pocket bottles)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, mannitol, maltitol syrup, glycerin, maltodextrin, natural and artificial flavors, aspartame, rice starch, acesulfame k, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, sucrose fatty acid esters, soy lecithin, green tea extract, sucralose, carnauba wax, coconut oil, xanthan gum, BHT, turmeric oleoresin, blue 1 lake, blue 1.

Status: vegan

  • Red Fruit Lime (available in pocket bottle)

Ingredients: isomalt, sorbitol, chewing gum base, maltitol syrup, natural and artificial flavors, malic acid, maltitol, glycerin, tartaric acid, aspartame, maltodextrin, fruit powder (lemon, strawberry, blackberry, raspberry), soy lecithin, coconut oil, acesulfame k, citric acid, gum arabic, carnauba wax, BHT, carmine, turmeric extract, blue 1 lake, sucralose. 

Status: not vegan

  • Always White Peppermint (available in classic bottle)

Ingredients: xylitol, chewing gum base, sorbitol, mannitol, artificial flavors, maltodextrin, sodium tripolyphosphate, rice starch, maltitol syrup, glycerin, aspartame lecithin, acesulfame k, coconut oil, sucrose fatty acid esters, sucralose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, carnauba wax, corn starch, BHT.

Status: vegan

  • Always White Bubble Fresh (available in classic bottle)

Ingredients: xylitol, chewing gum base, sorbitol, mannitol, natural and artificial flavors, rice starch, maltodextrin, sodium tripolyphosphate, maltitol syrup, glycerin, aspartame, soy lecithin, acesulfame k, coconut oil, sucralose, sucrose fatty acid esters, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, corn starch, BHT.

Status: vegan

  • Citrus Gum With Vitamins (available in curvy bottle)

Ingredients:  xylitol, sorbitol, chewing gum base, maltitol syrup, mannitol, natural and artificial flavors, sodium ascorbate (vitamin C), maltodextrin, rice starch, malic acid, glycerin, citric acid, fruit powder (orange, maltodextrin), aspartame, soy lecithin, sucralose, sucrose fatty acid esters, acesulfame k, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), sodium carboxymethylcellulose, corn starch, BHT, carnauba wax, paprika extract, fruit juice, vegetable juice, vitamin B12.

Status: vegan

Not all Mentos gums are vegan as some happen to contain carmine, an insect-derived ingredient. 

Mentos Chewy Mints

mentos chewy mints

Like Mentos gums, the chewy mints also come in different packaging styles, including rolls, bottles, and bags.

Let’s look at the varieties of Mintos chewy mints:

  • Mentos Mint Roll

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, natural flavors, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, beeswax.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Mixed Fruit Roll (also available as a bag)

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, citric acid, fruit juices (strawberry, orange, lemon), rice starch, gum arabic, natural flavors, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, beta-carotene, beetroot, beeswax.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Strawberry Roll

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, citric acid, strawberry juice, rice starch, gum arabic, natural flavor, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, beeswax, beetroot.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Rainbow Roll

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, citric acid, manioc starch, natural and artificial flavors, gum arabic, carnauba wax, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carmine, turmeric oleoresin, beta-carotene, vegetable juice, annatto extract, beetroot. 

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Cinnamon Roll

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, natural flavors, gum arabic, cinnamon, salt, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carmine, turmeric oleoresin, beeswax.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Spearmint Roll

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, rice starch, natural flavor, gum arabic, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, yellow 5, beeswax, blue 1.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Green Apple Roll

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, citric acid, malic acid, manioc starch, gum arabic, artificial flavor, sucrose esters of fatty acids, tartrazine, yellow 5, yellow 5 lake, blue 1, blue 1 lake.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Chewy & Fresh Mint (available in bottle and bag)

Ingredients: sugar, wheat syrup, corn starch, coconut oil, maltodextrin, natural and artificial flavors, glycerin, spirulina extract, cocoa butter, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, dextrin, carnauba wax, beeswax, shellac, gum arabic.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Chewy & Fresh Fruit (available in bottle)

Ingredients: sugar, wheat syrup, fruit juice (orange, strawberry, grape, lemon, watermelon, corn starch, maltodextrin, coconut oil, citric acid, malic acid, glycerin, natural and artificial flavor, cocoa butter, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, dextrin, carnauba wax, beeswax, shellac, gum arabic, beta-carotene, fruit juice, vegetable juice, turmeric, spirulina extract.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Mini Fruit Mix (available in box)

Ingredients: sugar, wheat glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, citric acid, fruit juices (strawberry, orange, lemon), rice starch, gum arabic, natural flavors, sucrose esters of fatty acids, gellan gum, carnauba wax, beta-carotene, beetroot, beeswax.

Status: not vegan

Except for the Mento Green Apple Roll, none of the chewy mints sold in the United States are vegan. All other flavors appear to contain non-vegan ingredients such as carmine, beeswax, and shellac.

Mentos Mints

mentos mints

The Mentos mints either come in a pack or a bottle.

According to the Mintos US website, there are only two flavors:

  • Cleanbreath Mints Intense Peppermint (available in a pack and bottle)

Ingredients: sorbitol, artificial flavors, aspartame, magnesium stearate, acesulfame K, sucralose, green tea extract, neotame, blue 1.

Status: vegan

  • Cleanbreath Mints Intense Wintergreen (available in a pack and bottle)

Ingredients: sorbitol, artificial flavors, magnesium stearate, aspartame, sucralose, green tea extract, riboflavin, blue 1.

Status: vegan

Fortunately, all Mentos mints sold in the United States are vegan.

Mentos In The United Kingdom

The Mentos UK website divides its products into two categories: candy and gum.

You will find products that are literally the same as the ones sold in the United States, but the ingredients will actually be different.

In fact, what you will find is that Mentos products in the UK do not have as many animal ingredients.

Mentos Candy

mentos spearmint uk

Like in the United States, you’re able to find Mentos rolls but not with as many flavors available. 

  • Mentos Mint Roll (also available in packs and bags)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, coconut oil, starch, natural mint flavorings, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Spearmint Roll (also available in packs and bags)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, coconut oil, starch, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, natural mint flavoring, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), colors (anthocyanins, beta-carotene).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Fruit Roll (also available in packs and bags)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, fruit juices from concentrate (strawberry, orange, lemon) (2%), coconut oil, acid (citric acid), starch, flavorings, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), colors (beta-carotene, beetroot red).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Rainbow Roll (also available in a pack)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, fruit juices from concentrate (watermelon, strawberry, apple, orange, grapefruit, raspberry, blueberry), coconut oil, acid (citric acid), starch, cocoa butter, flavorings, maltodextrin, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), colors (anthocyanins, curcumin, carmine, beta-carotene, beetroot red).

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Choco & Mint Roll

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, chocolate (sugar, cocoa mass, butter oil, low-fat cocoa powder, emulsifier (soya lecithin), sweetened condensed milk, dextrose, whey powder, salt, thickener (gum arabic), flavorings, vegetable oil (coconut), dextrin, glazing agent (carnauba wax).

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Xtra Strong Roll

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, coconut oil, natural flavoring, starch, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), color (anthocyanins).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Tropical (available in a bag)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, fruit juices from concentrate (watermelon, pineapple, mango, passionfruit), coconut oil, acid (citric acid), starch, flavorings, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), colors (plain caramel, curcumin, anthocyanins, beetroot red, beta-carotene).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Mint Chews (available in a bag)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, coconut oil, cocoa butter, starch, natural mint flavorings, maltodextrin, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Mint Crumbles (available in a bag)

Ingredients: sugar, acidity regulator (potassium tartrate), natural mint flavorings.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Berry Mix

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, fruit juices from concentrate (raspberry, blackcurrant, cherry), coconut oil, acid (citric acid), starch, flavorings, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), colors (anthocyanins, plain caramel, beetroot red, beta-carotene, curcumin).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Hawaiian (available in a bag)

Ingredients: sugar, glucose syrup, fruit juices from concentrate (watermelon, pineapple, passionfruit, lychee, banana), coconut oil, acid (citric acid), starch, flavorings, maltodextrin, cocoa butter, thickeners (gellan gum, cellulose gum, gum arabic), emulsifier (sucrose esters of fatty acids), glazing agent (carnauba wax), colors (plain caramel, curcumin, anthocyanins, beetroot red, beta-carotene)

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Sugar-Free Chews Peppermint

Ingredients: sweeteners (erythritol, maltitol, steviol glycosides), bulking agent (polydextrose), coconut oil, humectants (sorbitol, glycerol), maltodextrin, starch, emulsifier (citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides), flavoring, cocoa butter, thickeners (cellulose gum, gellan gum, gum arabic), glazing agents (carnauba wax, beeswax, shellac).

Status: not vegan

Apart from Mentos Rainbow Roll, Mentos Choco & Mint Roll, and Mentos Sugar-Free Chews Peppermint, most Mentos candies in the United Kingdom are vegan.

Mentos Gum

mentos gum uk

Mentos Gum is a product line of fresh mints that essentially provide you with a refreshing breath. 

There are several products in this line, including:

  • Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Tropical (available in a bottle and as a roll)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, sucralose, acesulfame K, gum base, glycerol, malic acid, tartaric acid, citric acid, starch, maltodextrin, flavorings, coconut fat, fruit juice powders (pineapple, orange, mango), soy lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, green tea extract, xanthan gum, cellulose gum, carnauba wax, E321, paprika extract, concentrates (blackcurrant, apple, radish).

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Freshmint (available in a bottle and as a roll)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, gum base, glycerol, flavorings, maltodextrin, starch, soy lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, green tea extract, xanthan gum, cellulose gum, coconut fat, E321, carnauba wax, brilliant blue FCF.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Cherry (available in a bottle and as a roll)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol, aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose, gum base, maltodextrin, starch, malic acid, citric acid, tartaric acid, flavorings, glycerol, coconut fat, cherry juice powder, soy lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, green tea extract, cellulose gum, carnauba wax, E321, carmine, brilliant blue FCF.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Spearmint (available in a bottle and as a roll)

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, acesulfame K, sucralose, aspartame, gum base, glycerol, flavorings, maltodextrin, starch, soya lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, green tea extract, xanthan gum, cellulose gum, coconut fat, E321, carnauba wax, brilliant blue FCF, curcumin.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum White Peppermint

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, gum base, rice starch, maltodextrin, gum arabic, glycerol, sucrose, esters of fatty acids, soy lecithin, sodium bicarbonate, carnauba wax, E321.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum White Spearmint

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, gum base, rice starch, maltodextrin, coconut oil, gum arabic, glycerol, sucrose, esters of fatty acids, soy lecithin, sodium bicarbonate, carnauba wax, E321.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum White Bubble Fresh

Ingredients: maltitol, sorbitol, xylitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose, gum base, flavorings, glycerol, maltodextrin, gum arabic, cellulose gum, sucrose esters of fatty acids, sodium hydrogen carbonate, carnauba wax, E321, coconut fat.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum Peppermint

Ingredients: maltitol, sorbitol, xylitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, gum base, maltodextrin, glycerol, coconut fat, soy lecithin, cellulose gum, carnauba wax, E321.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum Spearmint

Ingredients: maltitol, sorbitol, xylitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, gum base, maltodextrin, glycerol, soy lecithin, cellulose gum, carnauba wax, E321.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum Bubble Fresh

Ingredients: maltitol, sorbitol, xylitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, sucralose, gum base, flavorings, maltodextrin, glycerol, soy lecithin, cellulose gum, starch, carnauba wax, E321.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Gum Air Action

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, acesulfame K, gum base, flavorings, starch, maltodextrin, glycerol, soy lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, coconut fat, cellulose gum, carnauba wax, E321, brilliant blue FCF, curcumin.

Status: vegan

  • Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Bubble

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, sucralose, acesulfame K, gum base, glycerol, maltodextrin, flavorings, starch, malic acid, soy lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, green tea extract, xanthan gum, cellulose gum, coconut fat, E321, carnauba wax, carmine.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Cherry

Ingredients: xylitol, sorbitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol, aspartame, acesulfame K, sucralose, gum base, maltodextrin, starch, malic acid, citric acid, tartaric acid, flavorings, glycerol, coconut fat, cherry juice powder, soy lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, green tea extract, cellulose gum, carnauba wax, E321, carmine, brilliant blue FCF.

Status: not vegan

  • Mentos Gum Tropical

Ingredients: sorbitol, xylitol, mannitol, maltitol syrup, aspartame, sucralose, gum base, starch, maltodextrin, malic acid, tartaric acid, citric acid, flavorings, glycerol, fruit juice powders (pineapple, orange, mango), coconut fat, soya lecithin, sucrose esters of fatty acids, carnauba wax, cellulose gum, E321.

Status: vegan

Except for Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Cherry, Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Bubble, and Mentos Pure Fresh Gum Cherry, most Mentos gums in the United Kingdom are vegan.

So, Are Mentos Vegan?

Most mentos in the United States are not vegan because they often contain ingredients such as beeswax, carmine, or shellac. However, Mentos produced in the United Kingdom rarely contain beeswax or shellac, so they are most likely to be vegan.  

In the end, whether or not a Mentos product is vegan will depend on the product itself and where it’s produced, and from the information we’ve managed to obtain, it’s more likely for Mentos to not be vegan in the United States as they tend to use more animal derivatives. 

Beeswax

beeswax

Beeswax is a natural substance produced by honey bees that is used to construct hives, store honey, and house their young. It is harvested alongside honey, which is also a super divisive ingredient in the vegan community but nevertheless considered an animal ingredient.

Carmine

carmine bug

Carmine, unfortunately, is an ingredient obtained from the cochineal bug. It is frequently used as a color additive, and red Mentos will usually contain this ingredient, especially in the United States. In the United Kingdom, beetroot is used for this purpose. 

Shellac

shellac

Shellac is made from the secretions of the lac beetle and therefore is not vegan. In Southeast Asia, beetles secrete resin on tree branches as a protective shell for their larvae. The males flee, but the females remain. Many of the females who survive are killed or injured when the flakes of resin are scraped off the branches. Some branches are left standing so that enough females can reproduce.

Conclusion

Mentos are not fully vegan because some of them contain ingredients such as beeswax, carmine, and shellac, which are all essentially derived from insects. However, you’re still able to find some varieties that are, even in the United States where they tend to use these ingredients. 

If I had to leave you with one last piece of advice, it would be to always check the labels of Mentos and look for potential animal ingredients. Formulations change based on the country, so while a specific product may be vegan in the United Kingdom, it may not be vegan in the United States.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

What Is Vegan At Hibachi Restaurants? (Updated Guide)
Previous Post What Is Vegan At Hibachi Restaurants? (Updated Guide)
Is Cellulose Gum Vegan? Here’s Where It Comes From
Next Post Is Cellulose Gum Vegan? Here’s Where It Comes From