Are Jujyfruits Vegan? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)

Want to eat Jujyfruits but don’t know if they’re vegan?

After carefully analyzing the ingredients on the label, I did not find a single non-vegan ingredient in Jujifruits, therefore they’re technically suitable for vegans. However, it does contain some controversial ingredients such as refined sugar, as well as artificial colors and flavors. 

In this article, I’ll tell you everything you need to know about Jujyfruits. 

What Are Jujyfruits?

Jujyfruits are chewy, gumdrop-like starch-based candy, manufactured by the Ferrara Candy Company. 

They come in different shapes that reflect different fruits and vegetables, including bananas, grapes, pea pods, asparagus, pineapples, raspberries, and tomatoes. 

jujyfruits
Photo by Hamburger Helper, Jujyfruits, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 via Flickr.

However, the flavors correspond to the colors (not the actual shapes), therefore — raspberry (red), lemon (yellow), orange (orange), anise/licorice (black), lime (green), and so on. 

There is also a sour variety of Jujyfruits available.

Jujyfruits Ingredients

The ingredients present in Jujyfruits are the following:

  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Modified and unmodified cornstarch
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • White mineral oil
  • Carnauba wax
  • Caramel color
  • Artificial colors (Yellow 6, Blue 1, Yellow 5, and Red 40)

As you can see, there are no animal-based ingredients, which means that technically Jujyfruits are vegan. 

With that being said, some vegans will still look to avoid Jujyfruits because of ingredients such as refined sugar, as well as artificial flavors and colors. 

Unfortunately, those ingredients are/may be associated with animal cruelty. 

Allow me to elaborate below. 

Controversial Ingredients

The controversial ingredients in Jujyfruits are refined sugar, artificial colors, and artificial flavors— not because they’re derived from animals, but because they might be associated with animal cruelty. 

One thing that we have to keep in mind is that not all vegans agree on this subject— and this does not suggest that one isn’t vegan by consuming these ingredients.

Some vegans are more stringent than others, hence why the importance of covering this subject. 

Why is Refined Sugar Controversial?

Sugar is obtained from plants like sugarcane and sugar beets. 

They’re both similar in taste and texture, but their refining processes differ. Beet sugar is extracted using a diffuser and mixed with non-animal additives to crystallize— it’s always vegan. 

Cane sugar, on the other hand, is made by crushing sugarcane stalks to separate the pulp from the juice and then filtering the juice with a bleaching agent – which in some cases bone char is used. 

What Is Bone Char?

Unfortunately, as the name suggests, bone char is a powder made from animal bones.

According to websites like PETA, bone char is obtained from cattle in countries like Afghanistan, Argentina, India, and Pakistan. The bones are sold to traders in Scotland, Egypt, and Brazil who then re-sell them to sugar companies in the United States.

The sugar industry uses bone char as a decolorizing filter, which is what gives refined sugar its white, pristine color — removing many of its natural impurities. 

Unfortunately, this practice is common in countries like the United States and Brazil, hence why you have to be especially careful about Jujyfruits, as they’re only sold in the United States. 

Why Are Artificial Colors/Flavors Controversial?

Artificial colors are known for being tested on animals… thus not being cruelty-free. The same goes for artificial flavors, which are also lab-made, and might require testing.

Some people argue that animal testing is a necessary practice to protect us from potential diseases/collateral effects, which is exactly why they’re conducted. 

However, others argue that it’s no longer necessary given existing technology and different testing methods. 

I’m not an expert, so I’ve found a video that expands on that subject, but to give you the short answer— while animal testing might be a necessary practice today, it won’t be for much longer thanks to technological innovation. 

If you wish to avoid artificial flavors and colors, the best course of action is to opt for alternatives that rely on natural ingredients, or simply avoid products that might contain artificial ingredients. 

Are Jujyfruits Gluten-Free?

Jujyfruits do not contain any ingredients derived from cereals that might contain gluten, therefore, they’re considered gluten-free. 

Additionally, they’re not manufactured in facilities where gluten is also handled. 

Summary

Fortunately, Jujyfruits do not contain any animal ingredients and therefore are vegan. 

This is surprising considering that Ferrara Candy Company has a wide selection of candies with confectioner’s glaze, a non-vegan ingredient made from the secretions of the female lac bug. 

Products like Lemonheads and Red Hots have confectioners’ glaze, so it would only be obvious for the Jujyfruits to also have it, considering they’re a very similar product. 

Even though Jujyfruits do not contain any animal ingredients, they still have controversial ingredients such as refined sugar, and artificial flavors/colors. 

Some vegans will choose to avoid Jujyfruits, while others will disregard these controversial ingredients. In the end, it’s your decision as it’s hard to define, in this case, a clear line of what’s vegan. 

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for over five years! I've set up this blog because I'm passionate about veganism and living a more spiritually fulfilling life where I'm more in tune with nature. Hopefully, I can use Vegan Foundry as a channel to help you out on your own journey!