Are Jammie Dodgers Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)

Are Jammie Dodgers Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)

Hailed as one of UK’s all-time classic treats, the Jammie Dodgers are delicious raspberry-flavored biscuits. 

Over the years, Jammie Dodgers experienced several recipe reformulations, and at one point, Burton’s Biscuits (the company that owns the Jammie Dodgers brand) included milk protein, even though the recipe had until that point always been free from dairy, or any other animal ingredient. 

However, after recently reading up on the Jammie Dodgers, this is what I found out:

The Jammie Dodgers are again suitable for vegans. Burton’s Biscuits removed the milk protein from their recipe – which was added to improve flavor and texture – but that led consumers (vegans and lactose intolerant alike) to express their disappointment through a petition, which compelled the company to re-tweak their recipe once more. 

In this article, I explain exactly what goes into the Jammie Dodgers, and whether that might be controversial from a vegan’s perspective. Let’s get into it.  

What Goes Into Jammie Dodgers?

jammie dodgers

Jammy Dodgers are biscuits made of two layers containing jam sandwiched in between, with the top layer having a heart-shaped hole that makes the jam visible. 

Even though the label suggests the biscuits are raspberry-flavored, it’s actually apple jam flavored with raspberry.

Apples are rich in a starch called pectin, which occurs naturally in the cell walls of fruits and vegetables, providing them with structure. Similarly, it’s what holds the jam together without it falling apart. Raspberries have little pectin, so a jam made from raspberry would be less effective at holding both biscuit layers together.

Jammie Dodgers used to contain plum jam for the same reason, but they’re slightly more expensive than apples, which might have motivated the change.

The raspberry-flavored apple jam makes up 27% of the product, so what else goes into the Jammie Dodgers? Here are the ingredients:

Jammie Dodgers:
Wheat Flour (with Calcium Carbonate, Iron, Niacin and Thiamin), Raspberry Flavoured Apple Jam (Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Apples (Apple, Preservative (Sodium Metabisulphite)), Sugar, Humectant (Glycerol), Acid (Citric Acid), Acidity Regulator (Sodium Citrates), Flavourings, Colours (Anthocyanins, Annatto), Gelling Agent (Pectin)), Vegetable Oils (Sustainable Palm Fruit, Rapeseed), Sugar, Partially Inverted Sugar Syrup, Raising Agents (Ammonium Bicarbonate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Salt, Flavourings.

As you can see, there are no animal-based ingredients, although vegans often question certain ingredients like glycerol and palm oil, for different reasons which we’ll discuss below. 

Jammie Dodgers Contain Glycerol

The reason vegans question glycerol/glycerin is because it can be either animal or plant derived, although it’s also possible to produce glycerol from petrochemicals. 

If plant derived, glycerol probably comes from soybeans, while animal tallow is the common animal source.

Typically, in food production, glycerol is produced from plant materials, but it’s difficult to be sure, especially when talking about cosmetics, and personal care products.

If you’re a more stringent vegan, you should probably contact the manufacturer. 

Jammie Dodgers Contain Palm Oil

Jammie Dodgers have palm oil, a plant ingredient that is cultivated in rainforests, but its mass production is detrimental to both the environment and biodiversity. 

Palm oil production is responsible for the death of 100,000 Bornean orangutangs between 1999 and 2015, according to a study done by Cell. It is also associated with climate change (and global warming) because its production releases methane, a greenhouse gas known to be 23 times more potent than carbon dioxide.

The good news is that Jammie Dodgers contain palm oil that is produced sustainable, which is acceptable for most vegans. Palm oil that is certified as sustainable by the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) is more likely to spare the environment and animal species like the Bornean orangutang.

Are Mini Jammie Dodgers Vegan?

jammie dodgers mini

The Mini Jammie Dodgers aren’t just a smaller version of the Jammie Dodgers – they actually have a slightly different recipe in that they contain plum jam, opposed to apple jam.

They are also suitable for vegans, although they are part of the same production line as other products that contain milk and eggs, which might pose a problem for more stringent vegans and those with allergies. 

Are Jammie Dodgers Jam & Yoghurt Snacks Vegan?

Unfortunately, these Jammie Dodgers snacks contain real yoghurt, which is made from milk, so it can’t be suitable for vegans. Plus, they also contain egg powder and palm oil that isn’t certified sustainable. 

Are Other “Jammie Dodgers” Brands Vegan?

Generally, you’re able to find biscuits that copy Jammie Dodgers – they’re usually more affordable and are made in an attempt to mimic popular products. 

For instance, many supermarkets have their own “Jammie Dodgers”, which is why we’ll find out whether those are also suitable for vegans. Let’s see on the following table:

Supermarket:  Name: Status
Asda Jam & Creams Contains Animal Ingredients
Aldi Jammy Wheels Contains Animal Ingredients
Sainsbury’s Jam Sandwich Creams Contains Animal Ingredients
Lidl Jammy Rings Contains Animal Ingredients
Fox’s Jam ‘n’ Cream Contains Animal Ingredients
Organix Jammie Monsters Vegan
Tesco Jam Sandwich Creams Contains Animal Ingredients

Out of all these supermarkets, only Organix has a Jammie Dodgers copycat that is suitable for vegans. However, they’re not like the real Jammie Dodgers, so if you have tried the real thing and fallen in love with it, then you should stick to it – it’s just the best. 

Summary

Fortunately, Burton’s Biscuits removed the milk protein from the Jammie Dodgers recipe, so the product is once again – suitable for vegans. We really hope it stays that way, however, it’s important to keep in mind that recipes might change in the future, so it’s important that you always check the label!

Furthermore, even though the most recent recipe is vegan, make sure that you’re picking the new batch of products, not the old ones that contain milk. Often, when manufacturers tweak their recipes, it’s common to see old versions of the product still in shelves. 

Hopefully, this blog post managed to answer your question, but if you still have something else you need to know, please do not hesitate to get in contact with us. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Herbalife Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)
Previous Post Is Herbalife Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)
Are Jaffa Cakes Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)
Next Post Are Jaffa Cakes Vegan? (We Did Some Research To Find Out)