Are Goodie Girl Cookies Vegan? Or Do They Contain Milk?

Goodie Girl Cookies is a relatively new player in the cookies market.

In fact, the Good Girl Cookies company was founded by Shira Berk, whose creativity once lied in the music industry before going into making great tasting treats for her kids and friends.

Goodie Girl was Shira’s nickname growing up due to her love for “treats”, and according to their website, it also fits their brand’s mission which is “to make wholesome, better-tasting iconic treats using better-for-you ingredients so everyone can enjoy them”.

But the real question is… are the Goodie Girl cookies vegan? Let’s find out.

Goodie Girl Cookies: Ingredients.

As always, the most important step towards figuring out whether or not a product is vegan is by checking the ingredient label. However, the Goodie Girl Cookies are not a singular variety.

These gluten-free cookies are actually available in at least 7 different flavors:

  • Mint
  • Fudge Stripped
  • Chocolate Creme
  • Cocoa Slims
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Birthday Cake
  • Vanilla Creme

Unfortunately, not a single flavor can be considered vegan because they all contain milk.

For example, let’s have a look at the ingredients in the mint-flavored cookies:

Chocolate Coating (Sugar, Palm Kernel, Palm Oil, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Nonfat Dry Milk, Soy Lecithin [an emulsifier], Vanilla), Sugar, Butter, Goodie Girl Flour Blend (White Rice Flour, Corn Starch, Tapioca Flour, Brown Rice Flour, Powdered Milk (Whole Milk, Soy Lecithin, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin D3), Potato Starch, Xanthan Gum), Cocoa [Processed with alkali], Whole Milk, Vanilla Extract, Pure Peppermint Flavor, Baking Soda, Salt.

As you can see, these cookies, in particular, contain milk and egg-based ingredients. And even though some of the other flavors have a shorter list of animal ingredients, it doesn’t change the fact that Goodie Girl Cookies are simply off-limits for vegans.

On top of that, there are questionable ingredients such as sugar, palm oil, and vitamin D3.

But, It wouldn’t be fair if I didn’t mention that Goodie Girl Cookies launched a small range of Breakfast Biscuits that are considered vegan, at least according to their FAQ page.

Note On Questionable Ingredients

Other than the most obvious non-vegan ingredients, there are still some eyebrow-raising ingredients that are used time and time again without being truly explicit about their origin, or what actually happens before they’re used in a product.

Sugar

Sugar can originate from two distinct sources: sugar cane and sugar beets.

Both share the same taste, and both are used in similar amounts in the United States.

However, they are both processed differently. For instance, beet sugar goes through a diffuser to be filtered and is then mixed with additives in order to crystallize.

On the other hand, cane sugar is filtered and bleached using a property called bone char.

Bone char is a charcoal-like powder that is obtained by heating the bones of cattle at high temperatures until they’re carbonized.

Fortunately, not every company has the same modus operandi.

In fact, some companies use activated charcoal to achieve the same result as bone char. While other companies simply source sugar derived from beets.

But in some (if not most) cases, business to consumer companies source sugar from different suppliers, so you get a mesh of different “sugars” in their products.

This being said, the only way of truly knowing what’s up is by contacting the company. And in Goodie Girl Cookies’ case is pointless since they’re not vegan.

Vitamin D3

Most people don’t know this, but vitamin D3 is often regarded as “not suitable for vegans”.

The reason is that most vitamin D3 is derived from an animal source (such as sheep’s wool), which makes Vitamin D3 quite questionable among vegans. You have lichen (a plant-based source), but that’s mostly used in vegan supplements.

In this case, vitamin D3 is part of the subset of ingredients coming from Powdered Milk.

Palm Oil

I’m usually very vocal about palm oil consumption because let’s face it, it is the leading driver of deforestation of some of the world’s most biodiverse forests.

Consequently, it is responsible for destroying the habitat of already endangered species such as the orangutan, pygmy elephant, and Sumatran rhino. More, the forest loss combined with the conversion of carbon-rich peat soils is throwing out millions of tonnes of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, which is another leading factor for climate change.

One of the solutions is sustainably sourced palm oil, and Goodie Girls Cookies does use sustainable palm oil in their cookies.

In fact, they are certified by the RSPO (Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil), an organization formed in response to the concerns of the increasing palm oil demand. They basically follow a production standard that sets best practices for producing and sourcing sustainable palm oil.

If you’re buying products containing palm oil, feel free to make sure that the company you’re buying from is certified by the RSPO.

Conclusion: Goodie Girl Cookies Are Not Vegan

Unfortunately, Goodie Girl Cookies contain animal-based ingredients like milk and eggs.

This being said, it’s worth mentioning that they have launched a range of vegan biscuits, but they’re not as popular as the cookies, unfortunately.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Atomic Fireballs Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know
Previous Post Are Atomic Fireballs Vegan? Here Is What You Should Know
The 12 Best Calcium Food Sources For Vegans
Next Post The 12 Best Calcium Food Sources For Vegans