Are Churros Vegan? Here’s All You Need To Know

Want to eat some churros but not sure whether they’re vegan? 

The original churros— those typically made in Spain (and Portugal)— are suitable for vegans. They’re made with simple ingredients like wheat flour, water, salt, and a sprinkle of sugar on the surface, or sometimes cinnamon. 

However, depending on where you live, the churros recipe may vary, and it may include ingredients like eggs or dairy, so be wary when going out for churros. 

In this article, we’ll cover everything you need to know about churros, including how they’re made.

What Are Churros?

churros

Churro is a food of Iberian origin that is also very popular in Latin American countries.

The dough is prepared using wheat flour and water before being shaped into a fine cylinder that is fried in vegetable oil, generally sunflower oil. 

Once it’s fried, the churro can be sprinkled with a layer of sugar on the outside (some people will also opt to add cinnamon). 

Because it originated in Portugal and Spain, the churro is widely consumed in Spanish-American countries, from Mexico to Argentina. However, in these countries, the churro usually has no filling, unlike in Portugal and Brazil, where the churros have a pocket containing milk cream or chocolate.

In countries like Brazil and Portugal, it is common for street vendors to sell the product in squares and open-air events, such as fairs and municipal festivals.

How Are Churros Made?

Preparing churros involves using a tool in which the dough is stored and, through a pressure device, such as a crank, the dough is transferred into a form, giving it a cylindrical shape.

Soon after, the dough is fried and left to rest before the filling is inserted with a tube.

If you want to make churros, the video above will give you an understanding of how. 

What’s The Story Behind Churros?

One theory says that the Portuguese, when they left for the East, would have brought with them new cooking techniques such as being able to modify the Youtiao dough, also known as Youzagwei, in southern China.

However, at the time, the emperor of China made it a crime to share knowledge with foreigners, so the Portuguese slightly changed the appearance of the dough to a star to avoid trouble. 

A different theory suggests the churros were created by Spanish pastors, mainly because churros can be produced and fried outdoors in the mountains with fire— which is where these pastors lived most of the time. 

Are Churros Vegan?

Authentic churros like the ones from the Iberian Peninsula (countries like Portugal and Spain) are made with dough that requires flour, water, and salt. This dough is then sprinkled with sugar ( and sometimes cinnamon), which makes the final product entirely vegan. 

However, you might find non-vegan churros in other countries, as people might use a different recipe (and ingredients) to make their churros. 

Nevertheless, the dough used to make the churros is typically vegan, and where there is usually an issue is with the filling, as some may call for milk or eggs.  

To be on the safe end, be sure to ask the individual selling you the churros how he/she makes the churros and what ingredients go into the recipe. I’m pretty sure a lot of times they’re vegan-friendly.

After searching around the internet, I found some vegan recipes calling for ingredients such as coconut oil, vanilla extract, or vegan butter, but you don’t need those ingredients to make churros since the original churros call for much simpler ingredients. 

Are Costco Churros Vegan?

Unfortunately, the churros sold at Costco are not vegan-friendly because they contain eggs. They’re suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans. 

Are Churros At Disneyland Vegan?

Unfortunately, the churros at Disneyland are not vegan-friendly because the dough contains eggs. They’re suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans. 

Are Churros From Jack In The Box Vegan?

No, the churros at Jack in the Box are vegan-friendly because they contain both milk and eggs. They’re suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans. 

Are Churros From Dominos Vegan?

Unfortunately, the Churros from Dominos are not vegan because they contain eggs and milk. They’re suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans. 

Are Churros From Taco Bell Vegan?

Taco Bell doesn’t sell traditional churros, instead, they have churro-like cinnamon twists that are vegan-friendly. A lot of people think they’re churros, but they’re cinnamon twists. 

Are Churros From Del Taco Vegan?

No, the churros from Del Taco are not vegan because they contain eggs and milk. They are, however, suitable for vegetarians. 

Are Churros Gluten-Free?

No, unfortunately, churros are not gluten-free because the dough used to make the churros contains wheat flour, which is not suitable for people with a gluten allergy or intolerance. 

Typically, if you wish to have gluten-free churros, the best way to get them is by replicating a gluten-free churro recipe at home.  

Online you’ll be able to find dozens of recipes, but you’re unlikely to find a gluten-free churro outside. 

Let’s Recap: Traditional Churros Are Vegan, But Their Variations Are Not. 

Yes, traditional churros are a mixture of flour, water, and salt, which means the dough is vegan. Also, most of the time, the churros are sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon, which are both vegan ingredients. 

However, keep in mind that recipes are bound to change depending on the country you live in, and some recipes include eggs and milk, which are non-vegan ingredients. This is the case with the churros sold in fast-food chains like Jack in the Box, Taco Bell, and Del Taco.

With that being said, if you want to be 100% certain, you should ask the vendors selling you the churros whether or not they’re vegan as they should be able to tell you. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than five years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Is Molasses Vegan? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)
Previous Post Is Molasses Vegan? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)
Is Polenta Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know
Next Post Is Polenta Vegan? Here’s Everything You Need To Know