Are Barnana Chips Suitable For Vegans?

Are Barnana Chips Suitable For Vegans?

Three friends launched Barnana to create irresistible banana-based snacks by upcycling food waste on organic banana farms in Latin America. 

Unlike recycling, upcycling takes a product that would be considered waste, and rather than breaking it down to extract the raw ingredients, it keeps the product in its natural form or turns into something better. 

While Barnana has a decent variety of snacks, they are better known for their tortilla and plantain chips, and that is what we will cover in this article. 

Are Barnana’s Tortilla and Plantain Chips Vegan?

Barnana currently has 2 tortilla chips flavors and 4 plantain chips flavors.

The two tortilla chips flavors are:

  • Himalayan pink salt
  • Lime and sea salt

The 4 plantain chips flavors are:

  • Himalayan pink salt
  • Acapulco lime
  • Sea salt and vinegar
  • Spicy mango salsa

Even though their core ingredient is plant-based, none of their products are certified vegan, which I believe is because they process their products (as per the label) in a facility that also handles milk. 

However, for most vegans, that isn’t sufficient to disregard a product, hence why it’s important to analyze product labels and determine whether each ingredient is vegan.

Barnana Tortilla Chips

The Himalayan pink salt tortilla chips contain:

  • Plantain flour
  • Avocado oil
  • Tapioca starch
  • Psyllium fiber
  • Himalayan pink salt

And the lime and sea salt tortilla chips have:

  • Plantain flour
  • Avocado oil
  • Tapioca starch
  • Lime juice powder (made with maltodextrin, lime juice, and lime oil)
  • Sea salt
  • Psyllium fiber
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Parseley

None of the flavors contain animal ingredients, so they’re both suitable for vegans. 

Barnana Plantain Chips 

The Himalayan pink salt plantain chips have:

  • Plantains
  • Coconut oil
  • Himalayan pink salt

The Acapulco lime plantain chips have:

  • Plantains
  • Coconut oil
  • Sea salt
  • Tapioca maltodextrin
  • Lime juice concentrate
  • Lime oil
  • Parseley

The sea salt and vinegar plantain chips have:

  • Plantains
  • Coconut oil
  • Sea salt
  • Tapioca maltodextrin
  • White distilled vinegar
  • Apple cider vinegar

And finally, the spicy mango salsa plantain chips have:

  • Plantains
  • Coconut oil
  • Sea salt
  • Cane syrup
  • Dried rocoto pepper
  • Tomato pepper
  • Onion powder
  • Paprika
  • Spices
  • Garlic powder
  • Rice concentrate
  • Maltodextrin
  • Citric acid
  • Natural smoke flavor
  • Sunflower oil
  • Lime juice concentrate
  • Lime oil
  • Mango flakes

These plantain chips don’t contain any animal ingredients, so they’re suitable for vegans. 

There are also no controversial ingredients (i.e. sugar, artificial colors, natural flavors) in any of the chips which further solidifies Barnana’s chips as being legitimately vegan. 

Summary

Typically, we’re able to spot a few controversial ingredients within chips that make it difficult to determine whether they are 100% vegan, but with Barnana’s tortilla and plantain chips there is no mistaking. 

Barnana points out that they process their products in a facility where dairy is processed, but that isn’t enough to disqualify a product from being vegan, even though many companies do so. 

Their tortilla and plantain chips do not have a single animal ingredient (nor controversial ingredient), which makes their products vegan. 

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Physician’s Choice Ashwagandha Review – Is It REALLY Worth It?
Previous Post Physician’s Choice Ashwagandha Review – Is It REALLY Worth It?
Is Valentina Hot Sauce Vegan? (Here’s all you need to know)
Next Post Is Valentina Hot Sauce Vegan? (Here’s all you need to know)