Are Baguettes Vegan? (Here’s Everything You Need To Know)

Oh, Baguettes. I remember visiting my French uncle in France and going out in the morning to buy legitimately French baguettes.

The smell of freshly baked baguettes is tantalizing, especially when spreading some vegan butter on it. 

Are baguettes vegan? Fortunately, like regular bread, most baguettes are also vegan. They’re made with plant-based ingredients such as flour, water, yeast, and salt. As long as you choose regular baguettes, you’re fine.

However, keep in mind that you can have bread that is shaped like a baguette, but it goes by a different name and might not always be suitable for vegans. 

What Is A Baguette?

The baguette (or the “French Stick”) is a long thin crusty loaf that is considered one of the most iconic symbols of France.

Notably, it’s also the most popular type of bread in France, to the point where it expanded worldwide. In fact, people even make jokes about it, particularly because French people carry baguettes under their armpits.

french bakery
Robin Zebrowski, CC BY-NC 2.0, via Flickr

You generally have two choices.

You either buy baguettes from a local bakery, or you get it at the supermarket, but it’s not as healthy as the ones you’ll find in local bakeries. Industrial-made baguettes contain additives for the bread to last longer, but that’s not always good for our bodies. 

However, If you get your baguette from a local bakery, you can expect it to last 4-5 hours at most. Beyond that point, you might damage your teeth or gums chewing on them. 

Most baguettes are made with the same ingredients used for regular bread; the only difference thing is the technique that defines its shape and texture.

Why Are Most Baguettes Vegan?

We can safely say that most baguettes are vegan-friendly because most bakeries use originally vegan ingredients — flour, water, yeast, and salt.

What probably changes from bakery to bakery is the application of those ingredients, so if you’re vegan, you don’t have to worry about baguettes containing milk or eggs. 

Yet, even though most forms of bread are vegan; always do your due diligence and check labels, or if you’re buying bread in a local bakery, ask which ingredients were used to make the bread. 

While most bread is vegan, you may also encounter bread (especially in supermarkets), that contains eggs, milk, butter, buttermilk, casein, whey, among other derivatives. Some might also be shaped like a regular baguette, but it goes by a different name. 

Ingredients like mono and diglycerides, and lecithin, which may also pop up in bread are usually derived from soybeans, but there’s a small chance they may be of animal origin, but that’s rarely the case.

READ NEXT: Is Naan Bread Suitable For Vegans? (Here’s All You Need To Know)

What Other French Delicacies Are Vegan?

Baguettes are not the only popular thing in France. There are many others. 

However, most of the pastry items you will find in local bakeries or pastry shops are not vegan. Delicacies like the croissant are made with butter, and the same goes for many others. 

Besides baguettes, France has a wide variety of bread.

Couronne (crown in french) is a ring-shaped bread, and it’s equally delicious. 

couronne
Le living and co, CC BY 2.0, via Flickr

There’s also a longer baguette called a flute, which is twice the size of a baguette.

In addition, there’s another variation of the baguette called the batard. This bread has a thick, crunchy crust and is half the size of the baguette, but it’s much wider.

batard bread
Melinda Young Stuart, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0, via Flickr

If you prefer softer bread, the batard is usually a more tender option.

Regular baguettes tend to be on the hard side, so it really depends on what you like the most. I find that the batard is better toasted, and works better if you want to spread it with some vegan butter. 

READ NEXT: Is Gnocchi Actually Vegan? (It Depends)

What About French Pastries?

This is where I get depressed, since most pastries, including the French, are not vegan.

  • Croissant
  • Mille-Feuille
  • Éclair
  • Opera Cake
  • Paris-Brest

None of these options are originally vegan, but I’ve come across vegan versions that tasted identical to the original version. Yes, I’ve once eaten vegan croissants. Not in France, but Venice, Italy, but I’m sure you can find a niche spot somewhere in Paris with vegan croissants. 

If you can’t find vegan croissants near you, consider making homemade vegan croissants.

And my second finding was the Mille-Feuille or a Thousand Leaves (in English). Instead of filling the Mille-Feuille with creme fraiche, they created a pumpkin cream to replace it.

Vegan mille-feuille. (Sorry for the low res photo)

It was absolutely delicious and quite cheap. If you ever visit Aveiro in Portugal, there’s a small place called “a Mulata” which will probably have a couple of these available. It will also have other vegan options as well. 

READ NEXT: Are Donuts Vegan? Everything You Need To Know

Conclusion

Although baguettes are vegan, you should always ask about their ingredients, especially if you’re visiting local bakeries. If you’re in the supermarket, you can always check the ingredients. 

It’s when we take something for granted that we find ourselves committing a lot of mistakes. It’s really important to always check the labels unless you’re 100% familiar with the product you’re buying. 


Baguettes FAQs

Are Tesco Baguettes Vegan? 

Yes, Tesco Baguettes are suitable for vegans. It’s just a mixture of flour, water, yeast, and a few other ingredients used to preserve the bread. 

Is Panera Baguette Vegan?

Panera’s french baguette is suitable for vegans, alongside other types of bread like country, whole grain, rye, sourdough, sea salt focaccia, sprouted grain roll, and ciabatta options. Avoid the white and honey wheat bread, as it contains honey, an ingredient many vegans avoid. 

Are Lidl Baguettes Vegan

lidle french baguettes

According to Lidl’s official UK website, their french baguette is only suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans.

Its ingredients are not listed on the website, so we don’t know if they really contain animal ingredients, but what usually happens with these items is that there’s a risk for cross-contamination with ingredients of animal origin. 

Are Costco Baguettes Vegan?

Costco’s french baguettes are suitable for vegans, and they’re probably the best baguette you can have outside France, according to this review on The Kitchn, 

Are Waitrose Baguettes Vegan?

Waitrose lists their baguettes as being suitable for vegetarians, but based on its ingredients, there isn’t a single one of animal origin, therefore, they should also be safe for vegans to eat. 

Are Sainsbury’s Baguettes Vegan?

sainsbury's baguettes

Sainsbury’s sells a crusty white baguette, which according to their response in the tweet above, is not suitable for vegans. However, their response is based on the potential for cross-contamination with other ingredients in the bakery, because the actual ingredients that go into making the baguette are 100% vegan. 

Are Morrissons Baguettes Vegan? 

Morrison’s baguettes are also listed as being vegetarian (and not vegan), but that’s also because of the risk of cross-contamination with animal ingredients. If you don’t have an issue with foods that may have come into contact with (usually) trace amounts of animal ingredients, then you’re probably fine with eating their baguettes. 

Our Recommendation For Vegans

Future Kind’s Essential Vitamins: This is our favorite multivitamin. It’s not the typical multivitamin because it was formulated to specifically address potential shortcomings in the vegan diet. It contains the essential vitamin B12, vitamin D, and Omega-3 fatty acids (DHA & EPA) delivered in necessary doses so you don’t have to worry about potential deficiencies. Want to learn more about it? Check out the review we did on it.

Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Are Pop Tarts Vegan? (Check Out These Vegan Flavors)
Previous Post Are Pop Tarts Vegan? (Check Out These Vegan Flavors)
Is Chex Mix Vegan? (Here’s Why It Depends)
Next Post Is Chex Mix Vegan? (Here’s Why It Depends)