Is Wheat Flour Actually Vegan?

is wheat flour vegan?

I frequently use wheat flour to make pancakes.

But I’ve never once questioned if wheat flour was vegan or not.

The same can be said for sugar and millions of other ingredients that turned out to have a sob story behind them. So, what’s the verdict in this case? Well, It may not be intentional, but most wheat flour is vegan.

However, it makes me wonder, what made people question flour’s integrity? 🙂

Before we dive into that, perhaps we should accept that the perfect product doesn’t exist inside a supermarket. In order to sustain 7 billion people, you’re bound to find loose ends in a supply chain. Whether it’s the deforestation that strips animals of their natural habitat, or companies that pay workers miserable wages… it’s hard to find an entity that scratches all the good boxes.

For example, why would one consider using bone char to refine sugar?

Maybe because it allows to cut back on costs. And believe it or not, people also question wheat flour for that same reason.

Does Wheat Flour Use Bone Char?

I think it’s rather unlikely that companies use bone char unless they are heavily associated with the animal industry.

This being said, If you live in an area where it’s mandatory for trace chemicals to be described on a label, you can look for inorganic oxidants to validate the product.

Inorganic oxidants are things like chlorine, nitrogen dioxide (NO2), peroxides (magnesium, calcium, etc), azodicarbonamide, bromates or iodates.

It’s also worth mentioning that oxygen (or air) is an inorganic oxidant but does not come listed on a label (usually).

Anyway, the reason why wheat flour is most likely to be vegan by containing those ingredients is that they react strongly to organic matter. Adding animal products to the mix would make them less effective, and thus increase production costs.

So if none of those ingredients are found on a label (even though it’s mandatory in your area), it is likely that the company uses bone char or a different chemical like L-cysteine (made from animal feathers or hair).

Though if you really want to be on the safe side, I would suggest you use alternative flours like whole wheat flour, chickpea flour, or even oat flour. You can also consider making your own homemade flour.

Does Wheat Flour Contain Animal-Based Additives?

Different brands use different vitamins and minerals, and it’s very difficult to pinpoint the nature of those additives unless you directly contact the company.

Here are some of the common additives you can see in most flour brands:

  • Niacin (vegan)
  • Iron or Reduced Iron (Depends)
  • Thiamine Mononitrate (vegan)
  • Riboflavin (vegan)
  • Folic Acid (vegan)

Most additives present in flour are 100% vegan, with the exception of iron that exists in two different forms. There’s non-heme iron that comes from a plant-based source and is less absorbable. And then you have heme-iron that comes from meat. This type of iron is usually more stable and can be absorbed whole.

This being said, I have no reason to believe the iron additive is animal-based. Though if you want to clear all doubts, the best way to confirm is by contacting the company itself.

Should You Stop Consuming Wheat Flour?

If you love making pancakes (or bread), I don’t think you should drop it, unless you’re allergic to gluten. At the same time, I would urge you to replace regular flour with whole wheat flour or perhaps a less refined alternative.

Whole wheat flour is more nutritious because it contains the best parts of the grain. In fact, genuine whole wheat flour is a wonderful source of dietary fiber, manganese, and magnesium.

Fiber Content In Whole Wheat Flour.

You can’t find fiber content in refined flour, but you can find a significant amount of fiber in whole wheat flour. Consuming foods rich in fiber grants you several benefits, such as:

  • Lowering blood cholesterol
  • Preventing constipation
  • And it may even help you with weight loss.

The bran within the whole wheat grains may also help you with digestion and improve your gut health.

Contains Significant Vitamins.

Whole wheat flour also contains vitamins you can’t find in regular flour.

That’s because the refining process in white flour destroys the grains’ vitamin content. To combat that manufacturers add additives to regular flour in order to replace the lost vitamins.

This is especially useful for vegans because we want to maximize our vitamin intake as much as possible so that every mechanism in our body functions to its full potential.

Effects On Blood Sugar.

Whole Wheat Flour may also be more beneficial for diabetics since it has a lower GI (glycemic index) than refined flour. If you don’t know what GI (glycemic index) means, it’s essentially how scientists measure the impact of foods on blood sugar.

Refined flour has a GI that leads to rapid increases in blood sugar, which is something you want to avoid if you have diabetes. Plus, having blood sugar spikes may lead you to feel fatigued, headaches, increased thirst and more.

While it’s rare to see a vegan with diabetes, you may want to consider whole wheat flour for its purity and nutritious content.

The Bottom Line Is…

Regular wheat flour is typically vegan.

There’s no need to avoid it unless you are allergic to gluten or want to replace it with a better alternative.

Our goal, as vegans, is to avoid products that affect animals directly, or indirectly. But it’s not reasonable to constantly seek the ugliest side of products, otherwise, you might be left with little choice.

I’ve found out that Oreos may not be vegan due to the refining process of sugar, which may be done with bone char. It’s not applicable to all sugar suppliers, but Oreo themselves can’t pinpoint which cookie tube is using sugar refined with bone char.

Does that mean I should stop eating Oreos? Not necessarily.

What you can do, possibly, is figure out a way to partake in political conversations to change current label legislation so that labels become even more specific than they are now.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Alexandre Valente

Hey there! My name is Alex and I've been vegan for more than three years! I've set up this blog because I'm really passionate about veganism and living a more eco-conscious life. Hopefully, I can use this website as a channel to help you out on your own journey!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *